We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Cabin in the Kawarthas”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gores Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plank Road Cottages & Marina
Reviewed 17 July 2017

A nice getaway without the bells and whistles. Cabin 5 slept 6 people comfortably but it is very rustic - complete with slanting floors and drapes in place of doors (a real lack of privacy!). It came with all the amenities we needed and was great for the short time we were there. Sadly, the music from the other cabins/outside fires went far too late into the night. New owners are lovely and very accomodating

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Plank Road Cottages & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017

We stayed in Cabin 5, which is the top of an old boat house built in the 20 's.
Slanted walls made us feel a bit seasick at first but we got used to it. Well appointed with all the basics and was clean. This is rustic/basic cottage with a festive atmosphere- lots of night time noises could be herd on Fri and Sat pm- campfire singers vs other people radios & late night fishing/boat repairs and seadoos. Looks to be a great spot to fish. The new owners were hospitable and friendly & we wish them well in their new adventure.

Room Tip: not sure which woudl be the best-possibly teh ones closest to the water
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Owners are great , place is a bit aged but we expected that as we did our research i knew what we're paying for. Prices are decent and got a deal for boat rental. Got stuck once on the lake late evening and Steve the owner came to rescue us. No big fish that weekend and that was the case for everyone on the lake that I asked. Perhaps was too hot for fish to bite. 35c.
Anyway would recommend this place just do your research before booking.

Cheers

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank eddie_salkic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This is our first summer docking our boat at Plant Road and we love it! Great sturdy dock with hydro and water and a great view of Rice Lake. Very nice, friendly owners, clean bathrooms & showers and a great little beach.
Highly recommend Plank Road Cottages!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 850cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I love to read reviews after my stay but I only read the bad ones to see people make idiots of them selves.like I told the owners of this resort in my email after I got home.
The cabins are cute and the boats float but what makes a good resort are the nice people.
So for those that write the horrible review. So these nice people can try and redeem themselves for the next people that want to stay but don't because of spoiled little city people. My review for you is stay home don't go any where cause no one can please you.
For those of you looking at this resort its relaxing old rustic pictures are there on the website if youdont like what you see go anyway learn to open your mind and enjoy what you got.
Lydia And Etienne are great people thank you both. Great place to stay, will do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ReviewThis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gores Landing
16.9 km away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
19.6 km away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
530 reviews
5.2 km away
Sandy Shore Cottages
Sandy Shore Cottages
#1 of 1 in Harwood
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Wildwood Cottages
Wildwood Cottages
#1 of 3 in Bailieboro
13 reviews
5.5 km away
Hillview Haven Estate
Hillview Haven Estate
#1 of 2 in Baltimore
198 reviews
6.9 km away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#6 of 8 in Roseneath
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plank Road Cottages & Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plank Road Cottages & Marina

Address: 5303 Plank Road | Box 69, Gores Landing, Ontario K0K 2E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gores Landing
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Gores Landing
Price Range: ₹ 7,388 - ₹ 20,879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Resort for Family Fun and Fishing - We take pride in our resort... after all, it's not just our business, it's our home! We offer an affordable destination for a family vacation or fisherman’s getaway. We have 1, 2, 3 & 5 bedroom self-catering cottages in an idyllic setting overlooking the islands on beautiful Rice Lake. We also offer Fishing and Pontoon boat rentals! Rice Lake is one of Ontario's most productive fisheries. We are in a prime fishing location just off the islands and immediately opposite the mouth of the Otonabee River. We offer Boat & motor rental, private docking, licenses, bait, fish cleaning and freezing facilities.Come join us as guests and leave us as friends! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plank Road Cottages & Marina Gores Landing, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing