We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
91
115
61
24
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
115
61
24
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star hotel picos de europa walking distance beds were very comfortable lovely hotel religious sites grand old hotel cathedral cave lakes reception setting catholic hill
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Location & setting are great. Restaurant serves decent, hearty food. Recommend the 25 Euro set menu if you have a huge appetite and like wine! Lady on reception was very helpful. Despite what other reviews have said, we liked our attic room - quite cosy but very comfortable. (Note that the lift stop at the floor below, and the staircase up to attic is quite narrow and steep.)

Pot luck whether you get a parking spot at the hotel (but plenty more available a bit further up the hill.)

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank pete_walker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

This is an excellent hotel. We were unavoidably detained and were arriving very late at night in foul weather. When I phoned in to tell them they offered to keep the kitchen open for us to have a meal which we declined. When we eventually got there the gentleman at reception went off himself and made us sandwiches and hot drinks. Nice rooms. Good breakfast. Good parking and walking distance to the sights. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Ornate Spanish style with historical features throughout. Rooms were beautiful and comfortable as well. The cafe was limited on types of food and selections, however staff was friendly and polite! The best part was the convince to the cathedral and caves.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Roxanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We had not planned to stay in Covadonga, but it got late after spending time watching the fantastic religious sites and we went down to ask the hotel if they by any chance had a room available. We were welcomed by a very friendly and service minded receptionist, and they offered a room for our family of three for a very reasonable price. The room was fantastic with views of the "ermita" and the mountains around. The room was spacious, quiet, very well cleaned and beds were very comfortable as you expect in a 4 star hotel. The whole hotels has a lot of atmosphere and elegance to to it, and we really wished we had time to stay more nights and explore the area around even more. In the evening, Covadonga turns into a very quiet place, and it was great to experience the place more to ourselves as it during daytime is packed with tourists. Service was excellent during the whole stay, and the bar and lounges were fantastic for reading a good book and drinking a nice scotch. I will definately return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the "ermita" and valley are spectacular
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richie911cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Covadonga is an ancient religious site and the hotel has pride of place in it, occupying a dominant position. Classy marble floors throughout. Staff generally helpful and the restaurant is good value considering the temptation to make the most of its monopoly, it doesn't. Good food/value at reasonable prices. For me the hotel was badly let down by one thing. When a hotel advertises free wifi throughout I expect it to be of at least passable standard. It wasn't. In the room it was unusable. I asked if there was another room on the first floor with better coverage and was told 'sorry.' The only decent access was in the bar so I would say if you want to keep in touch with the outside world you need to spend a lot of time in the bar! Otherwise if you're planning a religious retreat 'away from it all' and out of touch with the rest of the world then is is possibly the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews