We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
19
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
7
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The staff at this hotel are very helpful and kind. I liked how the breakfast server and receptionist wore traditional dresses. It added a special touch to our quick stay in Germany. Our room was very clean. The bed was a little hard, but I still slept well. We had a beautiful view from our room. Our "double bed" was actually two small twins put together, each with its own single-sized blanket. The breakfast was good. They offered cheeses, breads, honeycomb (very fun to see and eat!), scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, fruit and pastries (and more). We ate the restaurant for dinner and had a nice dinner. We later found out that the city is sort of a wellness place, where many Germans go for healing. That explained why there were many elderly people there :) All were very kind though. It was about 35 minutes from Neuschwanstein Castle and was a good place to stop after seeing the castle from our drive to Zurich to Prague.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasmr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Das Johannesbad is the one of a few places that I did not want to leave: pleasant, cozy and clean rooms, wonderful inner garden and swimming pool, but all above are the incredibly helpful staff that makes it such a good place to stay. When we originally plan our visit, we looked around for restaurant to go out. Big mistake. The hotel chef is incredible and thanks to him their restaurant is on famous Michelin list. On a breakfast they served delicious pastries, cheese from Ethal Monastery, sausages, pretzels and lots of other local products. Gabriele, Stephan and Frank, thank you very much.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yuliya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

Classic Bavarian hotel with relaxed atmosphere, lovely conservatory/library and good size rooms for German hotels. We stayed room 40 with balcony and gorgeous views over the Alps.
Only had Breakfast as a meal, but was fresh, plentiful and varied.
As well as a great hotel, good location - Bad Kohlbad is a small village but decent pizzeria and superb location for checking out spectacular views and locations
and very much catering for tourists, English was spoken to a very high standard by all
Definltey recommend and will return
Not criticism but be aware not really a family hotel and it is a more mature clientèle ;-)

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shaunm1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

As soon as I turned the nine-person rental car around the picturesque hedges, and saw the hotel, we knew we picked the best place to stay in the Ammergau Alps.

Soon after arriving, the friendly owner gave us a warm welcome and and his team took our luggage into an adorable room, complete with chocolates on the pillows and a balcony. (When we had made reservations, the truly genuine staff gave us a free upgrade!) My parents and their dear friends adored the entire experience.

About one hour after checking in, we were given a tour around the property. The hotel has four complimentary saunas, a lovely spa, a library complete with a fireplace, rooms with wooden floors, and fresh, delicious food for reasonable prices.

The next morning, we booked a massage for my father and a spa treatment for my daughter. Both were treated with genuine Bavarian kindness. Later, we relaxed in the sauna that had something for everyone. That night, after complimentary champagne, we had a fabulous meal on the trip that everyone from a 13 year old to an 80 year old enjoyed! The fresh pea soup with oranges and the tagliatelle with shrimp were amazing . I would give the Das Johannesbad five stars.

Bad Kohlgrub is a wonderful and charming town. My mother described it as a "fairytale land!" Next year, we will definitely return.

Sincerely, Sir Michael and Lady Wendy Massa

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My wife and I were booked at the Johannesbad Hotel for the Passion Play at Oberammergua. We were in Room 21 with beautiful views of the German Alps. Bad Kohlbad is a beautiful small German town that is very walkable.

The breakfast buffet at the Johannesbad Hotel was delicious with a variety of foods. The dinner (finer German fare) was scrumptious.

When we arrived by train, the owner of a nearby restaurant called the hotel, and the owner of the hotel personally came to pick us up--now that is service!

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mramos8556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews