We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously crappy hotel”
Review of Huan Tai Hotel

Huan Tai Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shangri-La County
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huan Tai Hotel
Ranked #44 of 178 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Aussie gal 8's review from dec 2008 sums the experience up perfectly. Don't bother staying here. Especially in winter as location is crap and heating is only on between hours 5pm to midnight! Also everything in the room looks like it's falling apart ( this observation is from 3 seperate rooms). We decided the only positive is that if the dodgy wiring ended up causing a fire at least given the hotel only has two levels we could safely jump out the window!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pingsandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2008

Location is far from Old Town (at least 30-40min walk).
December is low season - few guests, and of all the rooms they could have possibly allocated, we had one with broken bathroom tiles and non-functional hairdryer. TV reception is hit-miss and channels are limited.
Temperatures reach -13 degrees celcius overnight. Heating is not turned on until 6.30pm-midnight (according to reception staff) and request for heating was refused ("heating will make you sick", male reception staff informed us) until we spoke to the manager. No individual room radiator was available (but multiple were noted in the business centre - unused). In addition, for reasons unknown, every morning all hotel doors are opened (still -10 degrees celcius) - clearly patrons' comfort is not a high priority for management.
Breakfast is served from 7.30am. As we needed to be at the airport at 8am, our tour guide organised for a 7am breakfast. No surprise when restaurant staff denied any knowledge of this arrangement the next day.
Final straw - as we were checking out, reception staff could not find our registration papers (male reception staff as above had not filled out the papers). More time wasted by the hotel when we had to assist them with the details.

Only positive - Bellboy/porter was most helpful and understanding.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank aussie_gal_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 14 December 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 21 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 7 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
8.6 km away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 178 in Shangri-La County
423 reviews
1.5 km away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#4 of 178 in Shangri-La County
85 reviews
4.2 km away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 178 in Shangri-La County
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.6 km away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#1 of 273 in Shangri-La County
75 reviews
0.6 km away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#5 of 178 in Shangri-La County
86 reviews
4.8 km away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 178 in Shangri-La County
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huan Tai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huan Tai Hotel

Address: Jiantang Road, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 178 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Hotel Class:3 star — Huan Tai Hotel 3*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing