We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,032)
Filter reviews
2,032 results
Traveller rating
1,036
670
214
72
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,036
670
214
72
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne bar hotel shuttle outdoor infinity pool star hotel sea view private beach le meridien lav beautiful hotel shuttle service tennis courts spalatum restaurant palms restaurant pool staff large hotel breakfast buffet deluxe room steam room
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,032 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

For a 5 star hotel the overall experience is way less than you'd ask for.

Pros:
Nice breakfast buffet
Great bathrooms, both in rooms and reception
Friendly reception

Cons:
Bad tasting and badly cooked lunch and dinner buffet
The hotel service except reception is less than optimal
The cleaners did a good job 1 of out 2 times. Last night there was what seemed to be resedue from the detergent in the bed.

Nice view though, no doubt.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Henrik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaP1023, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Henrik F,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.
I am pleased to read that our breakfast, bathroom facilities and front office associates have met your expectations. As you have mentioned, the view from our hotel is breathtaking and is something our guests really appreciate.
We very much appreciate your comments. Heads of involved departments are already informed, and they will make sure these shortcomings do not happen again.
I really hope your future endeavours will take you back to Croatia and Le Meridien Lav, Split.

Kind regards,
Tanja Penovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Considering the number of reviews regarding the Hotel standard, we actually found the Hotel, amenities & location perfect for our stay.
The check in was swift with Martina and the room allocation for the Marina view was perfect, although preferable to have a level 2, 3 or 4 elevation, as we were at eye level with the adjacent boat, but we had no need to request an upgrade as the room and service from Silvana was excellent.
All day to day pool, spa & bar area were very convenient with beach option in front of Hotel or Gooshter beach & bar our favourite location.
As reported before the sudden influx of overnight guests, does feel a little overwhelming, especially at Breakfast time on two occasions of our seven day visit.
We were always warmly greeted by the staff and Ivan was always making sure the Spatulum restaurant area ran as smoothly as possible.
Also the bar staff at the “champagne bar” were always on hand to serve our drinks & cocktails with the occasional almond nut nibbles, including the panoramic balcony area.
As we were late in the season the shuttle bus service finished on the last day of September (35 Kuna one way). The taxi service is prompt, although rates vary from 160 Kuna to 220 Kuna following one evening return from Split Central, which was disappointing due to the general estimate via the Hotel of 100 Kuna one way.
In summary Split & Le Meridien were a good combination for a “split” town & beach holiday provided via Secret Escapes.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul_R_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

I don't understand how people can honestly say this is a 5 star hotel. I can only assume they have never stayed in a 5 star hotel (as opposed to one that just claims to be!!)

We stayed here with our 6 year old son for 2 weeks (yes, far too long!) in August. We used it as a base to explore the whole area, heading over to Mostar, up to Zadar and down to Makarska. It was ideal for that as certainly Split didn't have a huge amount to offer other than crowds and lots of traffic!

So, on the positive side I would say the following:

- The view from the hotel is stunning and you get to enjoy some excellent sunsets from your balcony
- The communal areas (reception/bar) is all very nice and gives a good initial impression of the hotel - it was also very clean around these areas
- The beach area is nice - even though it is packed with sunbeds, it doesn't feel too crowded once you are on them and it was worth it as the sea was beautiful (despite the small rocks on the way in!)
- The breakfast is decent enough (although if you are staying more than a few nights it gets extremely repetitive)
- The kids club staff are excellent and made our son extremely welcome and we were more than happy to leave him there (i.e. felt he was safe)
- The spa looked lovely - however, the treatments were very expensive (£60-70 for a massage) so I would expect it to be good!!

Now, the negative, which is a significantly longer list:

- The price of everything!!! I wouldn't mind paying 5* prices so much if it was a 5* hotel, but it clearly isn't! However, it just felt like we were being ripped off at every twist and turn. The on site shop was shockingly expensive (water double the price of the shop across the road, pool inflatables starting at £10, going up to £40 when you could buy them for a fraction of that in the large supermarket not far away). Not only that charging £10-11 for terrible cocktails (very badly made old fashioned, and a weak mojito - you have to pay extra for a double shot in the cocktail!?!?) and generally, although the food was ok, was very overpriced for what it was.

- The air con - this is only a small thing but it really got on my nerves all holiday. You can only add/minus by 3 degrees each time you have the air con on. Given it was almost 40C when we were staying, it really wasn't enough and took ages to kick in. You then couldn't go and sit on the balcony whilst the room got to the right temperature as when you opened the patio door it automatically switched it off. An utterly bizarre system which I have never seen before in any hotel, and really hope never to encounter again!

- Breakfast - as indicated above, it was fine for a few days but it really was the same stuff over and over. No variety (maybe fractional but not enough to notice!) and a lot of it, the fruit in particular, was very disappointing. It hardly tasted of anything!! Not what you would expect from a country that can clearly produce some decent fruit due to its climate.

- The rooms - as has been said numerous times before the rooms are tired and dated. We asked for a mattress topper after the 2nd night and were given one straight away, which definitely helped us get a better nights sleep. The maid service was a bit hit and miss - there was no tidying up, only making of beds and a quick wipe around the bathroom. If it was genuinely a 5* hotel they would tidy a little bit, fold nightwear, take away used glasses (in fact I think most decent hotels do this - but they didn't here!) We even raised this with housekeeping and they came and sorted an issue with the sheets but nothing changed for the rest of our stay. This was very disappointing.

- The pool is ridiculously small for the size of the hotel. It was hard to see from the photos when looking online but there really only is a very small pool and tiny kids pool outside. Yes, there is an inside pool but who goes on holiday to swim in an indoor pool?!? Whilst the pool area was clean the lads who did the parasols/took drinks orders were very unreliable (I asked on at least 3 separate days for a parasol and never got one, as they just wandered off never to return!)

- The cost of the parking is insulting and should of course be free for anyone staying at the hotel. Given the distance outside of Split there is no reason why this private and purpose built car park should be charged at £10 per day.

All in all (and despite the above gripes!) we had a good holiday and enjoyed out trip. However, that is mainly because we made the most of the local area and what it had to offer and didn't spend the majority of our time at the hotel.

Room Tip: Probably best to pay extra for sea view as some rooms have terrible view
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaP1023, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Mark S,

thank you for your comprehensive feedback.
We are very sorry to hear that we did not manage to completely meet your expectations.
Thank you for pointing out the positive sides of your stay with us - from beach and spa areas to our amazing Kids Club staff. Our location is indeed a great starting point for exploring the surrounding and I am glad to know that you had a good time discovering Dalmatia.
We will closely consider all your suggestions on what to change or improve and accordingly act upon them, so we can provide better experience for you and your family if you decide to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Tanja Penovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Great place to stay and visit we were lucky enough to spend our day around the pool with the cast from "Game of Thrones". They were getting ready to shoot there 2016 season in Dalmatia. This trip was actually 2015 it was our second visit but certainly not our last! In 2019 we will go back and visit along with a trip to Montenegro.

Room Tip: All the rooms have Adriatic or city views.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hairmasterbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This hotel does no justice to the Le Meridien brand (which is generally very good but not at this hotel). Some of the staff were quite helpful and some were either rude or did not want to help. And the experience was the same in each department so reception could be very helpful one day and pretty hopeless the next. All the small things that you just expect to happen either didn't or the staff took ages to do them.

For example, when we checked-in they forgot to turn on internet access, when we wanted to check our bill before check-out they had already checked us out and checked someone else into the room (fortunately the other guests did not come to our room). It took several members of staff to discover a bag of converter plugs was available for guests to use. A request for hot water to warm baby food in our room was simply ignored (they claimed there was a kettle and teapot in the room when there was not).

The staff in the breakfast room left you to seat yourself and then other staff told you that you couldn't sit in certain areas. We were told there were no baby chairs at breakfast as they were all taken. I had to walk around the restaurant and they had just four baby chairs for a restaurant that could clearly take hundreds of guests. When a chair did arrive it was filthy.

There was no way of knowing how to order certain things at breakfast and then we were shouted at by the staff when we tried to order boiled eggs at the egg station.

The BBQ buffet at dinner had no sign of a BBQ and was all quite dreary and uninspiring in terms of the selection and quality of the food.

Bizarrely parking was not included in the room rate and was very expensive, when it came to check-out the various offers that were included in our rate were missed off by the staff and we had to check and then ask them to apply them to our bill.

To cap it all, the bill was very expensive (even for a Le Meridien) and we left unimpressed and underwhelmed.

Avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TerryMinuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanjaP1023, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear TerryMinuit,

thank you for your valuable feedback.
It is disappointing to know about nuances you have encountered in our service level. Consistency in providing superb service and support to our guests is our never ending goal and we apologize for failing to demonstrate this to you and your family. I can assure you that we will discuss mentioned points with our team and use them to move forward with a more proactive customer service approach.
I do wish for you to give us another chance to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Tanja Penovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews