We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel right on the beach”
Review of Hotel Sunce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sunce
Ranked #23 of 33 Podstrana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a great week at Hotel Sunce. The hotel is right on the beach and we loved the view of the sea from our room/balcony. We also loved the fact that the place was so quiet in the night that we could sleep with the door open just listening to the waves. .
The staff was very helpful, the owner too. We arrived at midnight but she was very nice to us. It is not true that she speaks English. She only speaks German and Croatian but she is trying her best to understand what people say in English. Neither is it true that the prices in the restaurant is higher than in other restaurants in the area. The prices were excactly the same as in a restaurant nearby and as in the restaurant in Split. It is also commen that the restaurant do not take visa cards. The food in the restaurant was good.

Altogether I do not understand the critics in some of the other reviews. We had a great holiday and Hotel Sunce is one of the best hotels we have stayed at.

If I should mention one negative side, it would be the music in the beach bar - more fitting a disco than a beach where people just want to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneJO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sunce
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

Adorable staff, great food, the hotel is situated ON the beach, good air-conditioning. It's the perfect hotel. One thing missing though, no pina coladas on the drink menu :)

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filipbiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

After reading the other reviews im shocked. i stayed at this hotel while visiting from Canada. Both the owner and receptionist went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable with no suprise costs and great customer service. they were extremely nice and very enjoyable to speak to even with the language barrier. The breakfast was very filling and more than you could ask for as far as selection goes. great view and very cozy rooms. i recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to avoid the hustle and bustle of big fancy hotels downtown with all the noise and people. It's very close to the city and a cab ride there is only minutes away after a simple call from reception. Only issue i had was WIFI was intermittant at times in the rooms but always worked well in the lobby or you could use the hardline in the room with a laptop. Loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadian_sailorguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel is located 9km or 20 Min by public bus from the city harbour of Split or 1h from the Airport Kastela-Split using the public buses. It is on the mainstreet in direction to Omis and directly on the beach.
Busstation is 5 Min away. There is every 20Min. one who brings you downtown or back. Parklanes avalaible at the hotel for your car. The rooms are on three floors. No elevators. A small swimming pool 9M ist available. Massage on demand. Sauna too. Great and affordable kitchen. Breakfast buffet has jam, some fruits, cereals, juice, coffee, tea and some warm meals like scrambled eggs.
The pictures of the rooms and the beach are up to date at this moment I write the review.

Only minor things:
- No beach-towels. Must have your own or can be rented on site.
- Keep in mind that the last public bus to Podstrana leaves at 23:30h from Split.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler200810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The cleaning ladies and the lady in the reception were really nice and service minded, but the owner was not service minded at all. Although she understands and speaks english, she only spoke german with the guests. She has the wrong occupation - she should not have anything to do with people and guests at all. She embarrased herself by her behaviour!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacation_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Podstrana hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
149 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
259 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel San Antonio
Hotel San Antonio
#8 of 8 in Podstrana
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pansion-Restaurant Amigos
Pansion-Restaurant Amigos
#3 of 33 in Podstrana
70 reviews
0.1 km away
Pansion Zanic
Pansion Zanic
#1 of 87 in Podstrana
71 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Neva
Hotel Neva
#6 of 33 in Podstrana
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunce? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunce

Address: Grljevachka 146 | Podstrana, Split, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Podstrana
Price Range: ₹ 5,461 - ₹ 14,198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunce 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing