We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic cabanas with a wild twist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Lago del Toro
London/Milan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rustic cabanas with a wild twist”
Reviewed 5 December 2008

We like (note that we did not stay in the hotel but in a rustic cabana 20 meters from the main building):
Location, right in front of the Torres and Cuernos del Paine although not inside the national park
Size of the cabana, with decent living room and bedrooms (have you checked other options in the hotels nearby? Compared to them, you will think you have found a royal palace)
Fireplace
Be able to cook your own food when you cannot find respectable and affordable places in the surroundings
A overall feeling of natural wild environment, with horses galloping in the fields around the cabanas

We don't like:
Could be more clean (especially the kitchen tools)
Very basic furniture and décor on the poor/rustic side. But hey, they call it “cabanas” for a reason.
At the time of our visit, the surroundings were a building yard, so we expect that the sense of isolation will be soon ruined by the addition of new hotels (that anyway are already a few in the area)
Excessive cost, but all other options (in stamp-size hotel rooms nearby) seem the same, if not worst

Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    43
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
307 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

I agree with most of the previous review. We did find it hard to find as there were no signs. Little English is spoken, but I realized this after my first email, as the reply was totally in Spanish and so after that I corresponded with them in Spanish.
The room was a little old fashioned. It was large, but clean and we had no problem with warmth as it was lovely sunny weather for our visit. The bathroom was very basic with no bathtub, just a shower. The food was wholesome and the wine cheaper than anywhere else we stayed in Chile. The breakfast was OK. We enjoyed the views from the small conservatory where we drank an aperitif whilst enjoying the sunset and views of the Torres del Paine landscape. We were the only guests staying and so it was very peaceful. As previously mentioned we stayed there as it was considerably cheaper than hotels in the National Park and glad that we had chosen it over the adjacent Lago Tyndall Hostelry and Hotel Rio Serrano, where coach loads of tourists were being deposited.
Very friendly staff. Satisfactory for one night.

  • Liked — Views. Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The bathroom needed updating.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

This place is a little hard to find - when you arrive, look for the signs to Hotel Rio Serrano. The staff don't speak a lot of English but that didn't cause any problems. The room is nice and big with a comfortable bed, a table and some chairs. The room got quite cold late in the afternoon before the heating was turned on, and hot water didn't seem to be available all the time. Our room was upstairs on the end closest to the generator - the noise of the generator was noticeable some of the time.

The continental breakfast was reasonable, and the homestyle food that was served for dinner was tasty and well priced.

On the afternoon we arrived we went for a walk from the hosteria, which was very pleasant. However, there's not much nearby and for the national park you will definitely want a car to get around.

I imagine that most people stay here because it is significantly cheaper than any of the hosterias inside the national park. With that in mind, we were quite satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank StevePER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on the move
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

The hostería is the worst of those located at the entrance of Torres del Paine, in the Rio Serrano sector. The room was cold (had to sleep with woolen hat on), like the service of the personnel: incredibly slow and seemed to think the client was the one who had to wait for them... to get an answer to everything.... they were absolutely useless in providing information about the activities in the park (no prices available had to ask for everything through their radio and would hardly get any reply)
The breakfast was poor for 3 persons we were served 5 slices of toasted bread, the fruits available where only canned fruits and the portions incredibly small.
The fireplace of the reception dining area is perfectly placed for the personnel (behind the reception desk) rather than for the customers.
It might be the cheapest of Hostería but then I'd much rather recommend Posada Rio Serrano (a bed 18000 CLP/night room of max 4 people) even if you have to share the bathroom. There a friend stayed and the service was very friendly and breakfast better in a welcoming and heated dining room.
In conclusion: avoid at all costs the Hosteria Lago del Toro.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JackyOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2006

We stayed at the hosteria in November for 3 nights. Among all of the accomodation in Torres del Paine, this was the one with the most affordable rate (135 US/night for a double room). The bedroom was simple but clean. The breakfast/dinner room was bright and sunny with a fireplace and a woodstove that give a warm home feeling and, because you're in Torres del Paine, it has a stunning view! Breakfast is included in the rate and it's possible the have dinner for about 20$US/person. The staff at the hosteria is very helpful and friendly but even if the hosteria website is in english, nobody speak it. The only negative comment I have is on the indications how to get to the hosteria. It is located 7 miles outside the park and there's not much good road signs that indicate how to get there. The first night, we drove around 45 minutes on really bumpy roads before we finally found it . But for the rest of our stay, it was a really nice experience.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank courcellesqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
0.1 km away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
810 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
15.7 km away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#9 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
29.9 km away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,156 reviews
35.4 km away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Lago del Toro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Lago del Toro

Property: Hosteria Lago del Toro
Address: Bernardo O_Higgins National Park | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Torres del Paine National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Lago del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria Lago del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Lago Del Toro Torres Del Paine National Park, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing