We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, nice views but big problem for the business traveller” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flemington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flemington Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Taiping
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good location, nice views but big problem for the business traveller”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Taiping is "famous" for its lake and the weeping trees - the branches of the trees extended downwards touching the water of the lake and are very beautiful. This hotel overlooks the lake and thats its best feature. The lake is an old tin mine working.
Its modern and affordable with rooms that are clean and adequate. Quite a few things are tacky and the room fitting cheap and poorly maintained. For example the electric socket in the bathroom was falling off and the one in the bedroom was temperamental, it worked when it wanted too. There is a kettle in the room, only tea no coffee but free mineral water.
The Chinese restaurant, not owned by the hotel, is good and popular.
The main restaurant is poor and the breakfast disappointing,
I didn't vist the sky bar because it sounded tacky.
Now the big problem - INTERNET - its doesn't work. Hotels should put on their website "we don't have internet" because to the business traveller this is as essential as water, food and electricity. There is internet but it comes on but mainly it goes off. The management don't seem to care about this issue.
For this reason i would forgo the views and stay at the other hotel in the town who's best feature is its internet`

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mybrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    132
    90
    17
    10
See reviews for
122
48
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

With Govt rate, standard room cost only RM128 nett!! Work trip :) I had a really high expectation with everyone telling me it is the Best hotel in Taiping (4 star). Don't worry it isn't that bad but really wished they could have maintain the room well. TV channels limited, toilet shower (leave on a while to get hot shower) room pretty small, looks bit worn out, parking space limited and narrow (basement), breakfast limited variety. However, i love the location of the hotel!! It is right opposite Taiping Lake Garden, beautiful lake :) great place for a jog!! Close to town, 10 mins drive to Taiping Sentral. The swimming pool looks nice too but sky bar was another let down :( oh ya, the "transvestite red light district" is just around the corner. Pretty cool!! N there's this hainanese chic chop place that I love adjacent to the taiping court house. Must try! Name of the restaurant is Wan Li, same row as Kok Beng chic rice(which is also nice) and right opposite Public bank.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weiwayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hotel has a good location in the famous Lake Gardens of Taiping and the natural scenery is beautiful . Taiping is a small city but the beauty of the city and Flemington Hotel is worthy to remember. Good and clean accommodation, and a good breakfast make me and my family ready for the adventures in Taiping zoo and Lake gardens, The staffs are friendly and helpful, and promptly supply towels to my rooms upon request. No luxury but I appreciate what they have done for me and my family.

Room Tip: The Premier Rooms have perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenetoh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We went there for a night's stay during 3rd day of CNY, super peak season!

Room was clean and staff are helpful. Only unfortunate thing is we were staying next to public toilet (room115), so we can hear clearly whenever people turn on & off the basin, but after the restaurant close , we were able to hv our peaceful night back. So avoid this room if possible.

Limited covered parking but plenty of open parking.

Very strategic location, right in front of the lake. Turn right can walk to the Zoo, turn left will be heading to town for plenty of yummy food :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasendraNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

This new, immaculate hotel is an inexpensive option for those visiting Taiping. We had a nice view to the park. The pool on the top was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OtsoKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taiping hotels
3.0 km away
Tune Hotel Taiping
Tune Hotel Taiping
#1 of 14 in Taiping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.9 km away
Beverly Hotel
Beverly Hotel
#5 of 14 in Taiping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Taiping Perdana
Hotel Taiping Perdana
#9 of 14 in Taiping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Legend Inn
Legend Inn
#7 of 14 in Taiping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.3 km away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#4 of 14 in Taiping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Panorama Taiping
Hotel Panorama Taiping
#8 of 14 in Taiping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flemington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flemington Hotel

Property: Flemington Hotel
Address: No. 1, Jalan Samanea Saman, Taiping 34000 , Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Larut, Matang dan Selama District > Taiping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Taiping
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,234 - ₹ 2,504
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flemington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Flemington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing