We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sol Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

It is the smaller resort in the area but that brings with it many benefits less lines, able to meet new friends, always able to find a beach chair or pool chair etc. The food was good except for the Cuban restaurant. The pizza bar was awesome. My only complaints are the tennis courts are in very poor shape, only one net and I had to repair that, no volley ball net and lack of info on activities, Rooms were modest but clean if not outdated. Great beach! Priced right and keep your expectations low and you will have a good time.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TouristPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for.
We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest.
We hope you can come back to Sol Santa Maria again.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    928
    495
    290
    176
See reviews for
632
1,122
180
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This place is out on a limb - to get there you have to drive some 50km across a specially built causeway over an archipelago of islands, all flat and swampy. When you do arrive there is nothing else there but resort complexes like this one. As resort hotels go it leaves quite a lot to be desired. The rooms are a bit shabby and in need of some essential repairs - e.g. balustrade and stair rails broken, not much lighting at night to find your way to your room, broken light fittings, missing plugs, shabby bathrooms. Food is taken buffet style in a huge, noisy, echoing dining hall. There is one small a la carte restaurant which can be booked for a more peaceful meal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for.
We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest.
We hope you can come back to Sol Santa Maria again.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

my partner and i visited this hotel for the second time in august 2011 the first time was august 2007 and i was pleased to see that it had not changed that much, the staff were still very curtious though a bit thinner on the ground but they put that down to cost cutting ans it was nice to see that some of the old staff wre still there enjoying there jobs.

this time we did not have the luxury of checking in on the coach ride from the airport to the resort as before or the latino dancers greeting us off the coach so needless to say it was pandermonium checking in, there was only one golf buggy and two bellboy's to see all the guests to there chalet's the s.c.s.m is a large resort and hard to find your way around on your first visit so there were people wandering all over lost.

the rooms are very big and spacious nipping clean and the bed is big enough to get lost in
the bathroom was huge and well kitted out the air con and fan worked fine as did the tv plus we had a safe in our room wich is always a bonus, we had no problems with bugs or mozzies in the room if there was anything else you needed you just had to phone housekeeping and it was done within minutes the rooms are very light and airey

the food was loverly and to a very high standard plenty of selection the wine and larger were of good quality with your meals we tended to use the same table all the time so the waiters soon got to know us they were so efficent at there jobs nothing was to much for them weather you tipped or not the service never changed. all of the little bars were very good also and the snack bars especially the pizza bar the food was brill

then there is the beach; well what can i say you walk through the mangroves across the quaint walkways then wow it hits you the pure white sand leading down to the tuquoise water its just like a scene from the bounty advert its stunning ample sunbeds but beware were you lie on the beach because there are a lot of nudists wandering about if you have children we seen lots of arguments when they came to close to the families.
there is a very nice beach bar and resturaunt the food is very nice but not a lot of choice
if its a relaxing holiday you are after look no further quite simply brilliant

Room Tip: all rooms are loverly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for.
We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest.
We hope you can come back to Sol Santa Maria again.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was a lottery we won. Or we thought most of the time.

Check in: We usually sit back and allow most people to check in because, well frankly, we are tired and figure 'we are here, now we relax.'. We did see a few people having a time of it at the reception. " A room fit to stay in " was one of the phrases being thrown around. That was when I spotted the bar not far away. Our check in was fine, the drive in the golf cart was the fastest we ever experienced. Held on in the dark and tried to remember if we bought good health insurance.

Room: Was on the bottom floor and was great, nice and clean. The front drapes wouldn't open( we weren't there in the day anyways), The bedside table lamp didn't work(too tired from the sun to read), The staff used the room next door for watching sports and such.( not there in the day anyways) and the TV volume was defaulted on high (just didn't watch it). Overall it was great and our chambermaid was fantastic. We sat on the back balcony at times and remarked how we felt like we were in a remote cabin somewhere.

Beach: well..ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC Only encountered 2 sharks. swam and snorkelled. I did try to go out in the cataraman but everytime I asked, the guy told me I had to have at least 3-4 people with me and everytime I turned around I saw him taking a woman out alone. Everyday. Numerous times. He had his own little business going. So the free cats are not really free and accessible. You need to $$$ under the table.

We had one young fellow that worked the beach and he checked in every day to see if we wanted or needed anything. Great.

The pool: clean and refreshing.

Food: the lunch hour pizza is the best in the world. cheers to the staff.

The Buffet? the first 5 days were strange. You had to have a guy at your table to get any service. After asking around alot of women were relieved to find out it just wasn't them, I know it is a buffet but you need cutlery and drinks from the staff. I gave a $10 tip to the traveling minstrals at our table 0n the 6th day, they played their local music for me and the guitar palying was unreal. The word got out amongst the staff about the tip,,well, it was the tip I didn't give to the waiters in the last 5 days. oh well..I tip good service. The second week it improve. Don't know why, must have been all the complaints I guess. We avoided the buffet as much as possible. 1 meal a day there.

ALA Carte we didn't use.

The beach bar was a festive and fabulous place to have lunch and great drinks. Definetely go there.

The piano bar at night has the best bartender I have encountered in Cuba so far. She is purely professional and makes some mean drinks. The Piano players? Somewere good, some were not. It could have been the piano.

We met lots of great people and tanned slowly in the warm 50 C sunshine.
So you see we had a marvelous time and would recommend staying there. Hola!

Room Tip: We had the villas next to the neighbouring resorts and it was very quiet, it was a bit of a walk but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank SDNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for.
We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest.
We hope you can come back to Sol Santa Maria again.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Sol Cayo Santa Maria is a great place to visit and explore but is well off the beaten Cuban track and takes a really long drive (about 90 minutes) to get there from the nearest airport. We made this drive very late at night and it took me a while to figure out why our bus was often stopping or slowing down in the middle of no where. After I moved up front on the bus and watched out the front window I realized that a lot of cattle were wandering along in the middle of the road. Welcome to rural Cuba!

Sol Cayo Santa Maria isn't the prettiest Cuban hotel we've stayed at over the years but it rates as one of the most interesting after one has a chance to do some exploring in the area. The food is pretty standard for Cuban hotel food with some both good and not so good surprises. The staff here is very good and we met some really delightful and really helpful people. We enjoyed some awesome Spanish coffee and some great pina coladas - it pays to talk to bar tenders on a slow day sometimes.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cubatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for.
We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest.
We hope you can come back to Sol Santa Maria again.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
7.7 km away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,152 reviews
4.0 km away
Grand Memories Santa Maria
Grand Memories Santa Maria
#15 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
169 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,148 reviews
0.5 km away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#9 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,242 reviews
2.7 km away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Sol Cayo Santa Maria
Address: Cayo Santa Maria | Villa Clara, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,170 - ₹ 21,573
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Santa Maria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an island paradise off the northern coast of Cuba stands the All Inclusive 4-star Sol Cayo Santa Maria hotel (300 rooms). Ideal for simply relaxing or for exploring the clear ocean bottom and neighboring keys that surround this marvelous Cuban tourist destination. Enjoy an unforgettable holiday with your family, all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Santa Maria Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Sol Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Cayo Maria Santa Sol
Sol Cayo Santa Maria Cuba
Cayo Santa Maria Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing