We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making memories!”

Bruce Anchor Cruises
Ranked #2 of 9 Tours in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We went with friends on the Evolution to Flower Pot Island. What a great experience. This was on my bucket list and it didn't disappoint. Everything was so organized and the customer service was top notch. Jada in the ticket booth and Darcy on the boat made out trip perfect. This was definitely the highlight of our holiday. My recommendation is to book in advance and take a couple of hours to explore the amazing island. Thank you Bruce Anchor for such a great day!

Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent R, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

It was our pleasure! Thank you for choosing Bruce Anchor Cruises!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Bruce Anchor Cruises
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We took the "glass bottom" boat cruise to Flowerpot Island. It was very misleading as the glass bottom part of the boat was one square around the middle so only the seats around it (maybe 12 seats of maybe 60 or more on the refurbished boat we were on) could clearly see the glass bottom. We were told we could see the ship wrecks from standing on the side of the boat since we were seated amongst a bunch of people with next to no view; the problem is since the boat was full, everyone was scrambling to the side to see the view so you had to bully your way in to see anything and when you did it was very squishy. The kids we brought (9 and 10) were bored most of the time. We paid $166 for 5 people. I felt we could have spent that money much better on other activities.

Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent R, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. Unfortunately there is only so much room for viewing around the glass bottoms. I believe that the vessel that you were on has a 6 ft by 6 ft glass bottom that you can actually stand on to look at the attractions below. Transport Canada regulates the size and locations of the glass bottoms on our vessels. We do our best to circulate and shuffle the passengers throughout the vessel, however sometimes it cannot be achieved. Viewing the shipwrecks through the glass bottom has it's own special dynamics, however viewing them over the side or off of the stern as the boat makes it's rotations also provides an excellent viewing experience.

Bruce Anchor Cruises not only have the newest fleet of vessels operating in the great lakes, but are also the founders of large glass bottoms that can actually be stood on, in comparison to all other glass bottom vessels in Tobermory's shipwreck viewing history. Our new 150 passenger vessel, The Tobermory Evolution has two large glass bottoms for viewing and has only been operating for less than 6 months.

We appreciate and value your feedback, and because of this we will seek to improve our circulation process on each of our vessels so that all of our customers can continue to enjoy the experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Thank you to Bruce Anchor for an amazing vacation. I had my whole family (15 people) in Tobermory from Montreal and everyone enjoyed a perfect day. Every detail was taken care of. Libby booked our tickets and provided the best advise to book ahead and what boat to take. Paul picked us up on the shuttle bus from the free parking and got us to the boat. Travis from the boat crew was very informative. The boats are clean and very new. Loved the entire day! Thank you Bruce Anchor for making our family vacation such a great memory for our family.

Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent R, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

How nice that you became acquainted with our staff! It's an amazing experience and we are happy that we were part of yours!
Thank you for including Bruce Anchor Cruises in your family vacation :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Staff... was kind and considerate .... I enjoyed all the facts of this lovely area.... would recommend.... tour
Well done !

Thank ratzoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent R, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for this review!
We take great pride in our service and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Took a cruise to Flowerpot Island during Canada Day weekend - probably was our first mistake. The boat seemed a bit older, didn't feel very clean, and was absolutely packed. I know these cruises need to pack on a lot of people to make money, but it felt very crowded. Because of the loud crowds, the people providing information about the shipwrecks and the marine area were drowned out, and eventually gave up. Getting back was very unorganized, and the boat left late.

2  Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent R, Project Coordinator at Bruce Anchor Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

It is unfortunate that the large demand on a long weekend in Tobermory caused you to feel this way about your cruise.
However, there is only one dock at Beachy Cove, our drop off location on Flowerpot. This dock can only accommodate one boat at a time. There are approximately 10 boats running in and out of Flowerpot Island daily at peak times. Similar to busy airports, this requires us to wait for clearance before we are allowed to use the docking facility. We can reassure you that this is not a deficiency with our company's operation. Flowerpot Island is one of the most popular icon that is owned and equally shared by all Canadians. As this year is Canada's 150th anniversary, and free admission is being given to all who visit Flowerpot Island, this results in a high demand and forces all of us to use extra patience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bruce Anchor Cruises also viewed

Tobermory, Bruce County
Tobermory, Bruce County
 

Been to Bruce Anchor Cruises? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing