We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
himmelhunden
Soenderborg, Denmark

Run down - roofs need fixing

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Dec 2016
The resort looks like something that used to be great. It seems like the management is either too greedy to make the slightest means of mendings or that they are building a resort someplace else and thus just waiting for this place to close. Years of neglect has pulled its toll. E.g. roofs are no longer maintained, just mended with simple plastic sheets. Before arrival, do take some time to consider whether an all-inclusive package would be suitable for you. Anything not included is hysterically expensive (they charge 4,50 USD for bottle of tab water in a reusable bottle). The staff on the ground goes out of its way in order to apply the best service. This seems not to apply to the management and owners. At the present state, we cannot recommend people to come here (and we are extremely easy going and used to outskirt-destinations of the world).
Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹15,153
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Filitheyo Island Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹5,300
  • Booking.com
16.8 km from Filitheyo Island Resort
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official website
    ₹92,575
  • Expedia.com
    ₹1,78,933
  • eDreams
32.4 km from Filitheyo Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
₹2,637
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₹1,924
  • Trip.com
34.9 km from Filitheyo Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹1,11,306
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₹1,08,746
  • StayForLong
    ₹27,327
  • Hotels.com
    ₹1,09,895
35.4 km from Filitheyo Island Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,708
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹14,712
35.7 km from Filitheyo Island Resort
Restaurant
₹7,448
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹7,045
  • Hotels.com
    ₹6,392
  • Priceline
36.6 km from Filitheyo Island Resort
Beachfront
₹5,805
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹16,219
  • Agoda.com
    ₹5,177
  • Hotels.com
    ₹15,085
36.6 km from Filitheyo Island Resort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Filitheyo Island
Reviews (1,955)
Filter reviews
1,955 results
Traveller rating
1,161
557
152
46
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,161
557
152
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish our honeymoon all inclusive package every meal two weeks sunset bar coral reef heaven on earth white sand water villa a wonderful holiday half board main restaurant sea plane curries our waiter room boy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 1,955 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We were there for a week in Mid November 2016 for a vacation. We couldn't have asked for a better place to visit. It is an amazing resort which can be reached from Male international Airport by Sea plane in 35 mins. There was a ferry to receive us at the sea plane along with a Guest Relations Executive who escorted us to the Island. We got a complementary shoulder massage and a welcome drink and then got a briefing about the Resort.
We stayed in a Water Villa which was in experience by itself, sitting right on the reef with waves lapping below us. Sea life was in plenty right below our Villa and we could sit on the rear deck of our Villa and watch the fish. Sting rays, small sharks and all the other colorful fish right below us. Very neat an clean Villas where the room boy took very good care of us.
The resort has two bars-one on the sea side called the sunset Bar and the other called the Main Bar which is in the centre of the Island. Food was available at the Main Restaurant serving a variety of Asian and Continental Menu s. Fast food is also served at Sunset Bar and Restaurant.
We were on an All Inclusive(AI) meal plan which provided us all meals, unlimited alcohol and soft drinks, Mocktails, Cocktails, juices etc. It was worth it. This package gives us 8 bottles of soft drinks in the room's Mini Bar, which can be converted into 4 * 1 litre bottles of water apart from 1 bottle per person per day which is complementary.
Two excursions are included. Morning or night fishing and the other one is a Island Hopping trip to local Islands. This was also very interesting.
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and Service provided was superb.We loved our experience and would love to go back there again.

Room tip: We would recommend the Water Villa. Its the best amongst all types on the Island.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

I think the high point of this resort is the number and variety of colourful fishes and other animals you see right at the beach , from your rooms. So even when you are not snorkelling, you can still continue to see fishes.

Transfer from the international airport to the resort was a breeze. We were welcomed at the resort with drink and a shoulder massage. We stayed in a water villa cottage. The cottage is gorgeous. The high point is the balcony with a deck extending beyond. We spent endless hours on the deck , delighting in seeing different fishes . We also saw an eel, a baby reef shark , lots of sting rays and manta ray right below the deck in addition to the multi coloured fishes . One early morning we were lucky to spot a group of dolphins making their way in the deep sea around the island. A staircase goes down from the balcony and so you can go snorkelling right from the deck itself . The resort has made different channels for snorkelling . Channel 3 is near these villas . While channels 5 and 6 are more popular , my husband saw more fishes in the shelf of channel 3 where the shallow waters meet the deep waters . He even swam with a large turtle one day there. For those who are not good swimmers , the beaches are shallow for you to snorkel and enjoy the fishes. Even if you stand in the water, fishes swim around you . For those who don't swim but want to snorkel, they may wear a safety jacket ( along with the snorkelling gear) and snorkel in the area right below the villa stilts . The water is not deep and so u can place your legs on the sand ( choose a sandy area) and double down to see the fishes . They are very unafraid and swirl around you . The beams on which the cottage stands, has a concrete base . One may also walk to the base and stand on it , and then double down to see the fishes . Fishes come there a lot , I think to nibble at the growth on the beam and the rope around the beam . Seeing the fishes underwater is a very different experience from seeing them from above the water .

We went with the advice on trip advisor of going half board. It turned out to be good advice as the buffet spread serves fish but not prawns ( but for in mee goreng ) . Having lunch ala carte enabled us enjoy prawns for lunch at the Sunset bar . The resort also offers special four/ five course dinners of lobsters and other sea food for couples .

The staff at the resort is very friendly and courteous , each and every person greeting you . We requested a few of them randomly to click our photographs and each complied graciously . Two of them , Mr Faruk and Mr Nazmi , even proactively suggested a few locations so that we had great backgrounds and photographs. The service is excellent at both the bars. We liked the food better at the Sunset bar over the Main restaurant . The manager of the Main Restaurant Mr Jude is very hands on and helpful. We found the attitude of the waiter Mr Riza initially assigned to us insolent /disrespectful. Later Mr Rubel was assigned who was courteous .

The room is cleaned and made twice a day. Do note only one bottle of complimentary water is served in the room. You have to pay for water thereafter even with the meals . We did feel one bottle of water should be complimentary with each meal. They have a good library and it was a pleasant surprise to find books in so many languages - English , French, German, Korean , Japanese, to name a few. They have a gym , a doctor is available till night. Wifi is expensive but you may buy a local sim card at the airport which makes net surfing inexpensive.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank abhishil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Site: well maintained. Paths and beach swept every day. Gardeners do a good job and keep the place looking good. Buildings well maintained. Thatch does need replacing on some buildings but saw work progressing with this and it did not affect the integrity of the buildings.

Rooms: very good, cleaned very well twice a day and sheets changed regularly. Beds comfortable and large. Third bed, more of a day bed, suitable for a child only and does not have a mosquito net. We had an interconnecting room which was great. Safe in room very easy to use. Bathroom large, open air and really great. Showering in the rain was an experience never to forget, it was great. Lots of hot water and very clean. Bottled water provided in room daily and is free. Fridge in room, great for keeping water cool. One note; the doors to room auto lock, so keep the key on you at all times. We locked ourselves out once, staff happy to come and unlock the door though. Air con in room very effective. 3 pin english plugs in rooms.

Staff: very friendly, everyone says hello or good morning. Service excellent. Welcome drink and a shoulder massage when you arrive wonderful. Staff in restaurant and main bar excellent. You will have the same waiter in the restaurant for your whole stay.

Island: Can walk around 80% of the island on the beach, at one corner you have to come inland a little. It takes about 20 mins to walk around. There are good paths through the island which are lit but a torch would be useful for anyone who doesn't really like the dark. There were a couple of power cuts during our two weeks. They were short and resolved quickly, but again a torch is a good idea.

House Reef: good, with a great variety of fish, all accessible even snorkelling. Currents are noticeable at times.

Food: Excellent. Never been anywhere with such a wide range and choice (it is not all curries). All meals in restaurant buffet self service and you can eat as much as you want.
Sunset bar: serves food during the day (we used it as we were on half board). Sandwich and fries $18. Ceaser salad $15. Fries $8.50. Service is slower than in the main bar or restaurant.

Other: You will need insect repellent day and night. Tip - keep hold of your plastic water bottles from your journey as the island only serves water in glass bottles in a bid to reduce waste (this saves 110 thousand waste plastic bottles a year).

Drinks: Cocktails $15 but happy hour 3-7 across the two bars and 50% off cocktails, beers and spirits. Draft beer $9 a pint / $7 half pint. Spirits $6. Soft drinks $5. Water $4.50 bottle.

Spa: beautiful space and staff attentive. Back, neck, shoulder massage for 30 mins $50.

Activities: Diving introduction $45, certification course $760 but also need to pay $30 for mask and flipper hire and $15 to print the card at the end. Single dive $130. Single dive lesson $111. Snorkel, mask, flipper hire for 6 days $56.

Snorkel safari - half day, visit three reefs, $41 each including drinks and snacks. need to be a strong swimmer if the sea is not flat calm - you are swimming in open sea.

Windsurfing introduction £35 and $30 per hour. Canoe double $30 per hour, single $20 per hour. Catamaran $60 per hour. Jet ski $87 for 20 mins.

Gym very well equipped and free to use. Library is a nice space with a good selection of books in many languages.

There is a doctor on the island with clinic hours twice a day.

There is table tennis, darts, pool and beach volley ball available.

Tips: Staff do expect tips but are not pushy. We tipped bar, restaurant and cleaning staff weekly. For specific things; hand delivered coconut drink / to eat, carrying bags etc tipped at the time.

Would really recommend Filitheyo, its a paradise made special by the staff. It will be a long time before I can save to go back, but one day I will get back there. In the meantime we have the memories and the photos from our special celebratory family holiday to remember (party size: 3 adults).

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
18  Thank TheConways65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I understand what others are saying about the rooms being a little tired, it could do with a re vamp. That said, it was clean and tidy and irrelevant if you consider how good the snorkelling and diving is here, we saw sharks, rays, eels, turtles and a whole host of small and large fish, all without having to go outside the lagoon.
The restaurant food was excellent and the range of fish dishes on offer was superb, and Rajesh, our waiter was a great ambassador for the hotel and he made our meals times special.
A walk around the island would take 40 mins and take you through the dense tropical parts of the Island and onto the beach. Other wildlife included hermit crabs, fruit bats and a few birds.
On the downside. No data on your mobile available. Internet hugely expensive $6.61USD / hr, cocktails $15USD, water $4.91USD, SPA treatments overly expensive toe nail polish $53USD (£41). Cannot help thinking that reducing the price may see them do more business.
On the whole I would recommend the island,the snorkelling and diving is superb and the hotel staff excellent, all with a great relaxed atmosphere.

Room tip: Budget semi detached rooms are set back for beach, if you can afford the extra go for a water villa or detached bungalow.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a great 2nd visit to this lovely island . We were treated to a 'repeaters' candle lit dinner on the beach, which was out of this world. The snorkelling, weather and the food were fantastic . Special mention should go to Farouk - Pool attendant - who went out of his way to make our time perfect & Abdullah in restaurant who made every meal special. Very much lookng forward to returning next year.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank WokingJezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews