We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Happiness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med La Plantation d'Albion
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Albion
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Holiday Happiness”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful stay with our daughters aged 11 and 14. On the plus side:
* lovely location - great beach spots and a protected bay for sailing and watersports
* superb accommodation - Our interleading suites were beautiful and spacious
* service - never lacking, anywhere on the resort. not a hitch all the way from our welcome at the airport to the drinks service at the beaches to room cleaning and beyond
* food - great variety, something for everyone, and lots of it
* GO's - So friendly and welcoming
* sport and activity - lots of opportunities to 'play' for kids and adults. Particular thanks to the awesome sports team.
* zen/quiet pool area - nice to have this as a relaxing alternative
* treated so well for our special occasions being celebrated
* evening entertainment - nice variety

The only real room for improvement needed is the coffee. The quality and heat were are not consistent from one bar/restaurant area to the next. lukewarm and/or weak coffee can make a person sad on holiday. The Zen bar is in the lead at the moment.
The children elected not to do too much with the teen club as there wasn't much English being spoken at the time (Most teen clubbers were French) but they had more than enough to entertain them nonetheless and were always included if they wanted to be.
This was a truly relaxing holiday and a resort experience we would truly recommend. Well done Aziz and team

(Flies did make their appearance as mentioned in other reviews - The only time its a problem is when they get close to the food - Hence the one less star for cleanliness - Maybe fans would help?)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jozijax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,458
    390
    137
    49
    29
See reviews for
803
806
91
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Other than price for value as well as a possibility to scuba dive, I want only a few things when on vacations: good food, good service and a good room. This club fullfills all of these wishes and lots more, such as a quiet pool and a lively pool, different beaches (although relatively small), good bars (yes two, one lively and one quiet) with all inclusive drinks (Champagne in the evenings after 6 PM) and sports activities for every taste.

The buffet restaurant is six islands for Asian, Mauritius, Italian and grill food as well as starters and desserts. It has everything from Pizza, to grilled fish and even Hamburgers as well as occasionally small wild oysters. There is also a service restaurant which is so good that it is generally fully booked so get reservations.

The rooms are excellent, from an excellent standard good valued room to the most expensive suites with there own pools. The bath rooms are absolutely great. The rooms are made twice a day, are spacious (even the standard rooms) and, a surprise for me, even enough clothes hangers for my wife.

The best though is the service. I have travelled a lot but the friendly natural smiles, the thoughtful service that remembers what you said the previous day about how you want your drink, are some of the things you will remember from Mauritius and especially from this place.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the sound of waves but have something against loud children try to get rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyPn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

During my last stay with my kids 7 and 8 for a week at the end of February 2012, we took 2 kayaks with the kids and were told by the GO not to far due to shore wind. Shortly after we left, the kayak with my 8 year old kid capsized and I jumped into the water to try to get him back on the boat. I realized that there was a strong current that was pushing us with the wind towards the reef barrier. After several minutes of unsuccessful attemps to recover the situation, I looked at the GO on the beach but there was noboady watching at the sea. Although, 2 GO were sailing on catamaran passing very close to where we where, there were not paying attantion. While we were very close to the reef after a good 15 min in the water, a GO came to help us. I am surprised by the lack of watch in severe conditions. Club Med was poor not watching the area. I raised the issue but they refused to admit they were not watching.... Do not count on Club Med for your Safety!!!!!
Also, I was not pleased with the service at Club Med that was very poor (suggest you go to Lux BelMare in Mauritius). Definitely, Club Med is NOT GOOD VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank labobupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
club c, Manager at Club Med La Plantation d'Albion, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about the resort. We are sincerely sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with the G.O service and safety. About the G.O failing to give you help in time, we can assure that Club Med does not condone such things. Your comments have been taken most seriously and have been forwarded to the resort's managing team. We hope we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company by welcoming you in one of our resorts in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Beautiful resort on the west coast of Mauritius. Weather is just fantastic but unfortunately as the day heats up, so do the number of flies- this seems to be quite a problem on this side of the Island. We stayed in a suite that had access to the beach which I would highly recommend- spacious and well contained with inside and outside showers, deck with loungers and great views of the ocean. The suite has a mini bar (which is filled up each day at no extra cost), and a nespresso machine is provided for your convenience . There are two eating options- buffet or ala carte restaurant( need to book for this option). The food is of average standard- quantity as apposed to quality. I would recommend this resort for couples with babies and small children as there are plenty facilities to cater for their needs. The staff are very pleasant and are eager to please.

Room Tip: Suite 124 has an extra deck with loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just come back from a family holiday at Club Med La Plantation d"Albion. What an amazing holiday. The resort is wonderful as is the setting. The rooms large and clean. The food was fantastic, the entertainment plentiful... Well done to Aziz and his team. Niravana and Morgan and all the Go's in the miniclub and petit club were so wonderful to my children my children did not want to leave. Anshley at Archery and Saya and the team at the Trapeze provided hours of entertainment to us and our kids. It was truely a wonderful enviroment and the GO's went out of their way to assist and make our experience a truely memorable one. We highly recommended this resort

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 312578Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
28.3 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
4,380 reviews
19.1 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,396 reviews
37.0 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,275 reviews
11.5 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,080 reviews
40.1 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med La Plantation d'Albion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med La Plantation d'Albion

Property: Club Med La Plantation d'Albion
Address: Avenue du Club Med, Albion, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Albion
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Albion
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,777 - ₹ 44,704
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med La Plantation d'Albion 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The west coast of Mauritius is a unique setting, between majestic mountains and a shore that's washed by crystal waters and protected by a coral reef. These natural surroundings are home to Albion, our new Club Med Village devoted to Epicurean delights. The 21-hectare park is planted with rare trees, and opens onto a bay lined by a white sand beach. Lovers will adore the generous spaces and the sunsets, as well as the chance to try all the sports and keep fit to their heart's content. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Med La Plantation d`Albion Hotel Albion
Club Med Albion
Albion Club Med
Club Med La Plantation D'Albion Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing