We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Tapas Bar

The Tapas Bar
Ranked #14 of 64 Restaurants in Todmorden
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We have travelled widely throughout Spain and the Balearics to bring you the very best of Spanish food and drink in authentic surroundings. The ambience, like the food, is a combination of traditional Spanish rustic and modern mediterranean. Redolent of flamenco and the corrida, the sights and sounds of Spain abound as do the flavours and aromas - olive oil, garlic, wood-smoked paprika... The ingredients are carefully sourced and the food prepared and cooked on the premises with a liberal helping of pasion. Whether dropping in for a relaxing drink, having a good night out or hosting a party, you are guaranteed the true taste of Spain. We have a large upstairs room which is perfect for larger parties and a terrace at the front where you can enjoy a cold Spanish beer in the sunshine.
Reviewed 23 January 2017

As always food is absolutely beautiful. Very reasonably priced and the draught lager Alhambra is a winner every time! Nice people, nice ambience and top quality food. Beats any tapas restaurant within 50miles hands down. Cant wait to return to myself and my wifes favourite restaurant !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTapasBarTodmorden, Owner at The Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review and comments. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This wasn't the worst meal I've ever had but it was pretty bland and tasteless and I feel I could've cooked better myself which is never good when you go out for a meal. We went for the set menu and the hot sharing platter consisted of various battered things like prawns, squid and aubergine but the batter was very tasteless and bland. It came with a supposed salsa dip which was just basically tinned tomatoes with no seasoning never mind spice. The tapas dishes weren't much better with the stuffed peppers being just peppers with boiled rice inside but no flavour again. Chicken and chorizo in salsa again was just in tinned tomatoes. The service was good and nice environment but that's no good if the food isn't up to scratch. I won't be going back.

2  Thank lcskipsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTapasBarTodmorden, Owner at The Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

I am genuinely sorry that you did not enjoy your meal, but I must take exception to your comments, which are mostly erroneous.

We do not have a "Set Menu"; what you chose was the Tapas for Two, which is clearly described as "An introduction to the world of tapas featuring some of the simpler traditonal dishes". Whilst there is nothing wrong with it (it's very popular), if you had wanted to try our more sophisticated and innovative dishes, you should have gone for the á la carte or specials.

To say that the salsa is just tinned tomatoes is, frankly, ridiculous. It is an authentic Spanish sauce made with onions, tomatoes, red pepper and garlic with pimentón and sherry, but it is not intended to be spicy. I think perhaps you subscribe to the popular misconception that Spanish food is hot and spicy, which generally speaking, it is not. The favoured spice is smoked paprika which has a distinctive flavour, but is not fiery. Having said that, all our food is cooked fresh, so it is easy to spice things up on request.

As you compliment our service, for which I thank you, if you had mentioned your dissatisfaction at the time, instead of telling the waiter everything was fine, we could have attempted to rectify things.

Another thing which puzzles me is why, after vowing never to return, did you enter the prize draw to win a meal voucher?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Been here many times & it was actually our 18 year olds choice to eat here for his birthday. As there were so many of us we had the entire downstairs and had pre-ordered from the Tapas buffet menu. We chose the £17.50pp menu and there was more than enough for us all. Food as always was superb as was the service from the staff. Thank you all

Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTapasBarTodmorden, Owner at The Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thanks very much - we're really pleased you enjoyed the party and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Three of us went here on Saturday night - have been many times before and always look forward to going. It can sometimes be difficult to get a table because it is always busy (but for good reason). When we went this time a large group of women were sat in the front of the restaurant - they were being quite loud and not particularly pleasant to the staff. The waiter that was serving us kept coming to apologise for the noise to us (we later learnt these women had damaged the floor where they were sitting - they were also arm wrestling and being very rude to the staff). This didn't prevent the staff from being very professional and courteous and also still being able to give us a lot of attention and chat to us. The food came out quickly and was all delicious and authentic. There is a really great variety and selection for such a little place - lots of things that I've not seen in other tapas bars. The dishes that had chicken in were all so moist (as sometimes at other places it can be quite dry - but not here). Altogether, the ambience, the food, the staff and the value for money is excellent and this place is a real credit to the town. Keep up the good work and I shall look forward to my next visit.

Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTapasBarTodmorden, Owner at The Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Many thanks for your kind comments about the food and customer service. We look forward to your next visit and don't worry about bumping into those women again - they won't be coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Me and the wife had a lovely meal here,we ordered 6 dishes 5 of them was fantastic 1 not so brilliant but live and learn. We opted for a £20 red which was exactly what it said on the menu, smooth and oaky and complemented our food very well. Only thing I would say is that we ordered fresh bread which we didn't really need as some of the dishes comes with fresh bread but not mentioned on the menu, oh the sliced fillet steak was cooked well but the sauce wasn't up to much, but the duck made up for that it was boodiful. Great service and a very nice cosy and warm delight in Tod, defo coming back. Cheers

Thank Tommyife1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTapasBarTodmorden, Owner at The Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thanks very much - look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tapas Bar also viewed

Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing