We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free ”

Shepherd's Rest Country Inn
Ranked #10 of 64 Restaurants in Todmorden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A traditional country inn, with real fires, dog friendly area, beautiful scenic views, traditional home cooked fresh food, lots of parking and real ales.
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Had a nice meal at the Shepherds’s Rest on Friday. Quite a bit of gluten free choice, and we can have the chips!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank lancymanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

18 of us descended on the shepherds rest and it was a great afternoon!

Really friendly welcome and we were all seated in an annexe off the main bar.

Service was friendly and attentive. Our group ordered pate, spring rolls, haloumi fries and black pudding and bacon salad to start - all well presented and tasty.

For main we had steak and ale pie, steak salad, sweet and sour chicken and salmon. Massive portions all hot and all really good. I know as I tasted them all!

Good pub food really well done and fantastic service - thanks guys we will be back again soon!

Thank 241MikeS241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We as a family visited shepereds inn and was happy what they had to offer lovely views little chicken pen and a small kids area all fenced off 1 way in and out so not far to run after them.
My father in law loved his steak my rag pudding was perfect and an option to double up on the rag.
Home made cheese pie was perfect.
Would highly recommend

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Couttsie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Took 50 minutes to bring 2 adult meals and 1 child's meal and the restaurant was not busy at all. My 2 year old daughter had sausage and mashed potatoes with gravy. The gravy was very salty, she drank so much water once home it was unbelievable. The waitress taking the order was clearly not interested at all. Came to the table and said "what do you want" made me laugh a little. Was a shame really

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pernod01, Owner at Shepherd's Rest Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

hi thank you for your review of the shepherds rest, firstly I would like to sincerely apologise for the wait on food and also the arrogance of the waitress, our girls are not taught to treat customers this way, and we shouldn't be having a wait on food, if you could get back to me with the date and roughly the time so that I can look into this matter, both with the waitresses and the chefs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Another lovely meal at the Shepherds Rest. Booked half an hour before we intended to visit and although the pub was very busy they managed to fit us in. Meal was very nice as usual and staff were very pleasent and helpful.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shepherd's Rest Country Inn also viewed

Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Shepherd's Rest Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing