We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, well run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Three Ways House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mickleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly, well run hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel for the weekend to meet up with some old friends. We'd booked a DBB package and requested superior rooms. Although the rooms were in the new section of the hotel (I had requested main house rooms in my booking) they were perfectly pleasant, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The surrounding area is very nice, and not too "picture postcard perfect" which I prefer. Walks from the hotel are lovely and the village is small but perfectly formed. Dinner was good, freshly cooked and made use of local produce. Breakfast, even though it is buffet style, was extremely good and you can have your eggs cooked to order if you prefer. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly and overall a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: The rooms in the extension are perfectly good but if you are looking for more old world charm, I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuut50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We have a great team of staff , I will pass on your positive comments. I am pleased that you had time to enjoy the walks from the hotel, and appreciated our local food sourcing, we have some fantastic local producers.
I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Thank you Simon Coombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    203
    74
    22
    12
See reviews for
80
354
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed four nights from 12th March.
Checking in seamless as usual and not a chore as can be with major chain hotels. Management and staff couldnt do enough to ensure all guests were looked after at all times. Breakfast was extremely good with the emphasis on top quality locally sourced products and dinner each night was fantastic. Not just good food but attentative staff, a nice selection of wine, the legendary puddings and good coffee made each evening memorable.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thanks for the great comments, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to all of the team, in particular the kitchen and restaurant staff. i look forward to welcoming you back again.
Simon Coombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was our first trip to the Cotswolds and we stayed at the Three Ways House hotel so that we could join in with the Pudding Club. The hotel itself is charming and the staff are very welcoming. Our room was small but delightful; what more could one want for a one night stay.

The Pudding Club meets at 7:30pm and the host gave a talk on the history of how it all started before we were led into the dining area at 8:00pm. There was a choice of 3 main courses to choose from and the one we choose, fishcakes, was excellent. The main courses are small so as to leave enough room for the puddings to come!

There are seven puddings to choose from and they are each paraded into the dining room before being set up under hot lamps. There were some seventy people that night and divided between six or seven tables. To avoid a stampede each table is invited up to choose a portion of whichever pudding you wanted.

One a positive note the puddings were great. They were just how you would have expected them to be; Rhubarb Crumble, Very Chocolate, Ginger Syrup and Jam Roly Poly were some of the puddings we had. The Pear and Walnut Mess was a disappointment as there was very little meringue; it seemed to have been made with ten part cream to one part meringue.

On a downside we didn't have our first pudding until 9:20pm and we weren't the last table up. In all honesty since the Pudding Club met at 7:30pm we thought we would be nearing the finishing line by the time we had sampled our first pudding! Nevertheless we soldiered on, after all what else can you do as there were puddings to be had.

Unfortunately, with so many people in attendance it was very slow going. We didn't have our third pudding until 10:10pm and we still had four more to go if we were to have all seven! We were often delayed while our host went back to the kitchen to replenish any of the puddings or the custard. The custard was lukewarm as it was not under a hot lamp and this a big no no for us. You really must have hot custard.

It was getting on for nearly 11:00pm before we were able to have the last portion that completed the set of all seven puddings. Our table was in full agreement that this was very late, particularly for one couple who had an hours drive back home that evening.

Overall the puddings are good but the hot lamps were not strong enough to keep them hot. Coupled with the lukewarm custard this made them very much less satisfying that they should have been.

There seemed to be quite a number of groups of families and friends sharing the same table but all those on our table were strangers. But we enjoyed meeting and speaking with the other people and certainly added to our enjoyment.

We would certainly consider returning to stay at the hotel as the rooms and service were very good. We would have to think carefully about joining in with the Pudding Club as it gets very late to eat all the puddings and enjoy the night. It would have been better to have started the Pudding Club at 7:00pm; it would be a great option if they arranged this for Saturday evenings for those who like to eat earlier in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadAboutTravel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
I appreciate your feedback on your recent visit to the hotel and pudding club meeting, and in particular the constructive suggestion regarding the timing and lateness of eating at the Pudding Club. We will review this and establish if we can bring the start time forward by 15/30 minutes. I am glad you enjoyed the puddings. Please come and see us again, we do have a great buffet of puddings with our traditional sunday lunch every week.
Thank You Simon Coombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

As a person who regularly spends time away in hotels this is without doubt one of the best hotels in the UK. The service and attention detail is impeccable and discreet. The room I stayed in was a perfect temperature for a good nights sleep and the shower was excellent which lets a lot of hotels down

I ate within the brasserie which was amazing (so good I took photos of my food) I had the salmon and prawn pie which was packed. I have a big appetite but I couldn't manage any dessert

Breakfast in the morning was as good as it gets with bacon,sausage,hash browns,egg,tomato,black pudding,baked beans and toast (fresh bloomer)

If you are in the area it's worth going to the restaurant for a meal even if you are not staying at the hotel

Perfect location to explore the Cotswolds

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC6670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay. I am delighted that we were able to meet your expectation with the comfort of your room and quality of food and service. I think your visit coincided with national Pie Week, hence the feature on pies. We always have great puddings as well as lots of locally sourced food available. I will pass on your comments to the team of staff, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank You. Simon Coombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk, uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed two nights, including the pudding club night, upgrading to one of the themed rooms. If we were to visit again I wouldn't pay the extra for the novelty of the themed room - the money could be better spent on other parts of your visit to the Cotswold. The actual village is idyllic, as are many in this area. The staff in the hotel were by and large very good . On the evening of the pudding club, you are given a welcome glass of elderflower presse and then you are given a choice from three main courses. These are deliberately on the small side as you will be eating lots of puddings afterwards. The were really only average. I won't repeat what others have said about the structure of the evening, but you share long trestle tables with other people, and then by table you are invited to eat as much as you like of the seven puddings - mainly steamed puddings, crumbles etc with custard or cream. It's a fun evening, but at £35 quite expensive for what it is. Dinner the following evening was good, but not outstanding as we were expecting. On balance we enjoyed the weekend, but felt the room prices a little on the high side for what they were.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marnieSuffolk_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCoombe, Owner at Three Ways House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel after your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the weekend, and take on board your comments regarding pricing, value is very subjective , we try to offer great personal service and well sourced local produce which sometimes costs a little more.
I hope you will visit us again.
Thank you Simon Coombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mickleton
4.6 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
4.7 km away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,025 reviews
5.5 km away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
644 reviews
8.9 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
21.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Ways House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Ways House Hotel

Property: Three Ways House Hotel
Address: Chapel Ln, Mickleton GL55 6SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Mickleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mickleton
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,202 - ₹ 16,481
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Ways House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Three Ways House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Ways House Hotel
Three Ways Hotel
Three Ways Mickleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing