We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
72
17
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
17
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestscanal duevening mealnothing is too much troublewine merchantits charmbeautiful roomexceptional foodrooms are largestayed for one nightgreat companya great staynickhostshousefranceconversation
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Friendly & helpful hosts add to the charm of this house. We felt very spoilt to be able to share a meal here, especially on the day of our arrival, as it was so interesting to see how the hosts easily make all the guests feel welcome & all shared part of the meal with us. They serve a 5 course dinner & it was all delicious, including the wine. Our rooms were spacious with large bathrooms. We had a room on the 1st floor towards the back & had a lovely view over the town & towards the distant hills. Across the road from the front door was the canal with a lock not far away. It was very peaceful walking along the canal towards the river & into the vineyards on the way back. The ducks & ducklings wandering along the canal were an added treat. We had a car & needed that to be able to explore the area. The town had a bar & a couple of restaurants but the restaurants were not opened much. If you want a peaceful little retreat this is ideal but if you wanted more action it would be better to stay at a nearby larger town. However I loved it & all the food in this part of France was superb. Thanks to Nick, Izzy & Greg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lovely old typically French house in a wonderful location on the banks of the Canal du Midi. I gather that each of the rooms is slightly different, but the room that we had overlooking the canal was perfect with a spacious bathroom.

We used this as a base to explore the area and so we stayed for 12 nights. On several nights we dined with Nick, Izzie and Greg and a selection of other guests from all over Europe and beyond who passed through, mainly staying for briefer periods. Our hosts were wonderful, conducting conversations over dinner in French and English as required. The wine and the company were superb. The food was wonderful and Izzie was so kind in preparing special meals for my wife, even going to the trouble of researching her condition in the internet to ensure that the food prepared was suitable for her.

Nick, Izzie and Greg were wonderful hosts. Their knowledge and enthusiasm helped us to enjoy the sights and facilities that the area offers and their easy going, relaxed way of making us feel at home made our stay in France so much more enjoyable.

Stay here if you can.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A business, of any kind, takes its lead from the people that own it. So it is with Les Volets Blues. Lovingly restored, the building owes its charm to the attention to detail of its owners, and their sensibilities. We paid 80 Euros for their best room and it was worth every cent, very comfortable and a gorgeous view of the canal. The ensuite bathroom was as big as the bedroom. Bliss.

More importantly, they generously stayed up late to serve us dinner (very good, too) when we endured a horrendous train journey from Brittany and turned up hours later than planned. (French rail unions .... grrrr.) Izzy and Nick were the very soul of calm encouragement as we inched nearer Salleles-d'Aude, including being, at one point, sent a hundred miles in the wrong direction by a typically Gallic comptrolleur, and they also proved the perfect link to and from our boat hire at Somail, including taking us shopping for groceries on the way, and then dropping us over to Narbonne after we had disembarked even though we weren't staying at their property then. So much easier than getting a taxi, and so appreciated.

Quiet drinks with other guests in the gracious sitting room were a real pleasure. Such a nice way to unwind and settle in. Nick has a great knowledge of local wines too ... or is that Izzy? lol Either way, delightful.

Book it, if you can get in. You won't be disappointed.

Steve & Jenie

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for one night very warm welcome & food was ok.
Just all felt a bit staged like a play, the evening meal we was with French guests & got a feeling that's now the guests these people want & not bikers.
Also a little pricey compared to the other b&b we had stopped in.
If your struggling to find anywhere else then you will be ok here but your wallet will be a little bit lighter than other establishments ..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flash231169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here both ends of a week on a canal boat as we did 5 years ago and it can only be described as excellent again. From the moment we arrived at Montpelier airport we were looked after. We were collected, taken back to the house , cooled down with a beer and glass of wine on the beautiful terrace overlooking the canal and made to feel welcome. What do we love about his place? The fabulous house, the lovely rooms, the warm welcome, the general atmosphere, all 3 hosts. We were collected at the supermarket with our provisions for the boat and taken to our boat - nothing is too much trouble! If you are lucky enough to stay here, have an evening meal if it is available. Food and wine are fabulous, as is the company of other guests and our hosts. What a lovely evening. Thank you again Izzy, Nick and Greg for your hospitality and your thoughtfulness. We hope to return before another 5 years.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Trisha49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews