We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic apartment, loved it.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
La fontana di Colle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Barbara P
Kiama, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment, loved it.”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this apartment in the medieval old town. 2 large bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, small sitting room with TV, a large kitchen table and a small table with 4 chairs on the little balcony. The apartment and kitchen is fully equipped and has a dishwasher and washing machine. There is good heating in all the rooms. There is even a clothes line out of the window but we didn't use it, clothes dried quickly on the clothes horse. Wi fi can be a bit unpredictable, you just need to switch the router off for a few minutes and all is okay again.
The thing that stands out is the immaculate presentation of the apartment, it is absolutely spotless, clean and shiny. I don't think I have ever been anywhere so clean!
Antonella and George, the owners, are so friendly, so helpful. Lovely welcome gifts given to us - tray of gorgeous pastries, wine, bubbly, so nice. Poor George carried all our luggage and shopping from our car to the apartment, thank you for that George. Antonella is an absolute delight, so happy to have met her.
There are a few shops close by, liquor, pasticceria (yummy cakes and pastries), fruit and veggies, mini mart, hairdresser and a few others. The newer town down the hill has the main shopping. There are several restaurants in town just close by including a 2 Michelin star restaurant however most were closed because the main tourist season was over.
There are 2 flights of stairs to the apartment, one fairly steep so this apartment wouldn't be suitable for anybody with limited mobility.
Car parking is available in a large car park at the bottom of the hill. Takes about 10 minutes to walk up via steps and a winding path. You can see the car park from the apartment. There is another car park at the entrance to the town. It's about a 10 minute walk through the town but it is on the same level so much easier.
Churches nearby, lovely to hear the hourly bells. Beautiful Tuscan view in the distance.
Grazie, grazie Antonella and Georgio. We had a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything in the apartment.
Liked least: The stairs.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaCT06...
Connecticut
1 review
“Wonderful apartment, gracious host.”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I traveled with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at this lovely apartment. It is newly restored, impeccably clean. The owner, Antonella, went above and beyond to make sure we had everythng we needed and were comfortable. She and her husband, George, live across the hall from the apartment and were available to help us when needed. We did not have a car and she arranged reliable drivers to take us to and from the Florence airport. (Taxi service is very limited in Colle di Val d'Elsa so if you need a driver for airport transportation, vineyard tour, etc. make sure to arrange well in advance.) Beds were comfortable, plenty of towels and hairdryer in each bathroom and we had everything needed to prepare a few meals. Had a little difficulty with Wifi but found if we reset the router, it worked fine. The apartment is a short walk to a few restaurants, pastecceria, small food shops and wine enoteca. We had no need to go beyond the town for supplies. The bus stop is a short walk from where you can catch the hourly bus to the main piazza for bus connections to many towns/sites. You can also walk the approx. 1 km to the main bus station. Antonella was kind enough to take us on a quick walking tour to show us where everythng was located as soon as we arrived. We would not hesitate to rent the apartment if we visit the area in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking distance to food shops, etc.
Liked least: Limited convenient outdoor space for 4 people - garden was at basement level.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTKearney
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional hospitality and a great apartment.”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Great apartment with spacious bedrooms, a nice little terrace and parking nearby. They were excellent hosts and went out of their way to make the stay comfortable for us and our baby daughter. The welcome gifts were a nice touch - the owner really takes care of the details. The upper town itself is a charming and appears largely unvisited by tourists. There's a lovely piazza just down the street from the apartment where we sat outside and had dinner. Overall, a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The street
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlfArf
Laramie, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT IT!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My sister and her husband and my husband and I rented this beautiful apartment for a week while touring the Tuscany area. While in Italy we rented 4 wonderful apartments, but this was by far our favorite!! Colle di Val d’Elsa is so charming with its medieval walls housing apartments, restaurants and shops. We loved the apartment and location. It was perfect for touring the area and parking was very close.
Antonella greeted us at the front door (she lives in the same building) and even though she did not speak English, she did not have any problems communicating with us. She provided us with a lovely box of pastries and dessert wine. The rooms had ceiling fans and were very comfortable but she came over with a couple of floor fans to make sure we were happy.
Everything about the apartment was well done, it has been recently remodeled and quality materials and craftsmanship were apparent. The apartment had absolutely everything you needed. The bedrooms were large, the beds extremely comfortable. In fact, we slept until 9:00 am several mornings. All of the windows have solid shutters and I think that is why we were able to sleep for so long. The bathrooms were also very large and nice. There was a very small deck but it had a lovely view.
Just 15 feet from the front door of the apartment there is an ATM machine, across the street is a bakery, a number of restaurants and shops were within 5 minutes or less. In fact, 3 our favorite dinners were in Colle di Val d-Elsa. Porta Nova is a new restaurant (had only been open two weeks when we ate there). It sits atop the walled fortress towers and has the most amazing view! The food was excellent. They have a sister location Ristorante Dietro le Quinte just down the street and the food was excellent as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry S
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We hated to leave this lovely apartment”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week here while touring Italy. It is a very well equipped, modern, roomy, clean apartment located in a charming town well located for visiting Tuscany. There are excellent restaurants and bars within easy walking distance so you can have a bottle of wine with dinner and avoid driving. We will certainly stay again at Dietro le Mura the next time we return to Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing