We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at The Bridge at Buttermere on the eve of the 22nd June after being washed out of the first night of our camping trip to Woolfest 2012.
While at Woolfest we found The Bridge online via my mobile phone and rang straight away. The very helpful man at the other end of the phone booked us in straight away and said that we could come over there and then to dry out:-) After returning to our campsite and bundling our soggy tent etc into our car we set off through very interesting weather to The Bridge. On arrival (dripping wet and leaving puddles on the floor) the helpful staff got us swiftly booked in and to our room. The room was lovely and clean and the shower was great. The biscuits, tea and hot chocolate supplied were very welcome.
After settling in we went down to the bar and had a lovely dinner in the bar. We were meant to go back to Woolfest for a sausage supper meal but the weather was so atrocious with roads flooding, the beck outside really high and the wind getting up that we decided to stay put. I had Cumberland Sausage and mash and my friend had chicken and veg pie both of which were great; the real ale was lovely too. The next morning after a good nights sleep we had a yummy full cooked breakfast served by a very attentive waiter. We had fruit juice, grapefruit, cooked breakfast, toast and marmalade a pot of tea and a pot of coffee. Extra toast was no problem and the bread it was made from was really nice and they know how to do a proper poached egg; the black pudding was a treat:-) The room where breakfast is served is lovely and this together with the very good service made breakfast a relaxed and elegant affair and I spotted a Red Squirrel outside, how cool.
When we were checking out the chap at the desk helpfully advised us of the best route to get to Keswick by as the weather, although improved, was still playing up.
Recommended and I hope to stay again.

Room Tip: Their website has pictures of all their rooms so you could check out which one to book before hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear EmmaG,

My sincere apologies it has taken me a while to get back to you, we have been waiting for new Log in details for reviews.

What a joy to read that we were able to offer a harbour of comfort during your washout visit to The Lakes. I can think nothing better of being able to enjoy a warm and welcoming shower when wet to the bone and YES, the food is certainly homely and heart warming.

Next time stick to "Glamping" and return to us!

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 394 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Bridge is a lovely hotel. Rooms and food are excellent. Some people may say that the hotel has let it standards slip with food and service (I have to agree with this to a certain extent as we had more choice for dinner when we went years ago and you got canapes whilst having a drink before your meal, I have a feeling they are trying to keep costs down but I suppose lots of hotels are in the same boat!) but don't let this put you off as it is still an excellent hotel and I am sure whoever visits this area will have a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank human71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear human71,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted that all being said you had an enjoyable time with us.

True as said, it is with regret that we have had to take decisions to reduce offerings so that we were able to maintain our Tariff (which has not been increased for some time now.)

These decisions in line with the current economic climate will ensure we are still able to offer a good value for money product without reducing quality.

Cheaper is not always better and so less can be more!

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

returned again to stay at the bridge,wonderful location,fab views, friendly helpful staff.this hotel has no TV or radios which we find absolutely fantastic as it adds to the getting away from it all experience.The service & and atmosphere created makes this a place we love to return to.the rooms are clean & comfortable individually decorated.thanks again to the bridge for another memorable stay.

Room Tip: we loved all the rooms we have stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3CP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear 3CP,

What a delight it was to recieve your review, we always like to read that what we are doing is right.

We hope to welcome you again soon in the very near future.

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed over the May 2012 holiday weekend when the weather in the Lakes was glorious. We stopped in the Carlyle room which is a four poster bed room at the front of the house. There is also the famous Wainwright room where the man himself stayed whilst researching his renowned books. There's also the AJP Taylor room, for history fans. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are all really welcoming and friendly. Our room was nicely dominated by the huge bed - the bath and shower were both great and the bathroom was nice and spacious.
We walked during the day - the hotel does excellent packed lunches - and we had a drink in the bar before dinner time. You can walk through the reception area into the public bar attached if you want (by the way, the beer is superb!). Each night we ate in the dining room and it delivers a modern twist on European and English dishes but definitely something to please everyone whether adventurous or set in their ways.
At first the complete lack of TV is surprising but then you realise you don't go to one of the most beautiful locations ever just to stare at a screen.
If you're into walking this is one of the best places for starting and finishing some of the most interesting walks in the Lakes

Room Tip: Four posters are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArkLark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Arklark,

We are thoroughly delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please forgive me in that it has taken a short while to reply, we have been awaiting new Log in details for the site to be verified.

Yes, we pride ourselves in not only our featured rooms but also in the fact that our service standards are those one would expect with true Lakeland hospitality.

Keep in touch with us through our social media and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The hotel was absolutely charming. We had three wonderful days of walking and soaking up the spectacular views to arrive back to the hotel where nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable. The food and service was very good, also had the option of taking a packed lunch which was great. No televisions which was complete bliss and Internet access only in the lounge (this is due to surrounding hills and poor reception) so this is a 'getaway from it' destination.

Can't wait to return!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Lerros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
7.6 km away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
498 reviews
8.4 km away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
9.1 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
778 reviews
14.1 km away
Ravenstone Manor Hotel
Ravenstone Manor Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,097 reviews
13.5 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Address: Buttermere CA13 9UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range: ₹ 7,420 - ₹ 19,118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between two lakes and surrounded by Fells in an area of outstanding natural beauty, the Bridge Hotel is situated on a site which has been occupied for over a 1000 years. Licensed as a Coaching Inn in1735 it has evolved into a luxury traditional Lakeland hotel offering a warm welcome, comfort and attentive service. Innovative chefs provide excellent, freshly prepared, locally sourced, quality food both in the dining room and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Buttermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing