We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historic inn surrounded by nature's bveauty!”
Review of The Fish Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buttermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fish Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A historic inn surrounded by nature's bveauty!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

A pleasant stop for a traditional chicken pot pie lunch in a quaint 1790's pub and hotel. The Fish Hotel is located in a valley at the foot of Honister Pass and definitely worth a stop. It has all the peace and quiet of a bygone era. Be sure to take a walk on the walkpath to view the scenic gounds including mountains, a lake, and a waterfall.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    66
    20
    13
    19
See reviews for
44
114
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Great location, terific value, good food, lovely beer, says it all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wantoogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Right from the moment we made the booking over the phone we were made to feel most welcome. We talked to the owner about travelling up, the best route there if the weather was icy - each enquiry was met with lots of friendly advice. My wife mentioned that i was coming up to walk my last wainwright (Haystacks) and that our group likes real ale. Low & behold on the evening after my walk, on the bar on tap were 3 local real ales (on top of the regular Jennings) - including Hesket Newmarkets Haystacks !!! Surely not a coincidence & typical of the owners to go that extra mile to make your stay special. All the staff were so welcoming & friendly throughout - nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is small, quiet, clean & serves good quality bar meals. The rooms were small but lovely & comfortable - & nice & warm after a long walk up on the tops. A perfect setting if you want to explore this most beautiful area of the lakes, lovely & quiet at this time of the year. The hotel has ample parking, a lovely quiet reading room just off the foyer & a nice bar area just to sit peacefully and read, chat, eat or drink without anyone bothering you. Would we stop again?, yes - we can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluejayrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed here with a group of friends and we were made to feel very welcome by all of the staff, who were cheery, friendly and contrasted markedly with The Bridge (see my review of that lounge/bar on TripAdvsior for more detail). We have stayed at many hotels/B&B's and this is one of the best for welcoming guests and providing what every fell-walker needs: a good hearty meal, a pint of real ale, friendly locals and a clean and comfortable base from which to explore the hills.
The only slight downgrade I have given for sleep quality was because we found the pillows to be a little too firm on our first night after travelling over (this is, of course, a personal preference) but didn't notice after a good long day on the fells.
Stay here if you want to feel welcomed to Buttermere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I think that this is the most beautiful location in the Lake District. Wasdale Head may well have Scafell Pike and Great Gable but Buttermere has the ingredients of mountains, lakes and loneliness in exactly the right proportions. The Fish Hotel is an oasis of comfort, hospitality, good service, excellent food and a wonderful range of real ales, set within inspiring scenery. After a long journey you know that you have made the right choice when you immediately feel at home. We were delighted with our room and our 9 year old son said it's the 'best room ever'. What made the holiday was knowing that after a walk you knew what you were coming back to and it certainly enhanced the pleasure. We all enjoyed the food and personally I was very happy to quality control the real ales! A wonderful 3 days.

Room Tip: Room number two is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
0.0 km away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
429 reviews
0.0 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
0.0 km away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
777 reviews
0.0 km away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
385 reviews
0.0 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fish Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fish Inn

Property: The Fish Inn
Address: Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,529
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fish Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fish is a small family run inn offering a comfortable and informal base from which to explore The Lake District. Nestled between two lakes Buttermere and Crummock with views towards Haystacks, Fleetwith Pike and Red Pike all are just a short stroll from the inn. Our rooms offer a cosy and comfortable stay and we serve lunch and evening meals in our bar along side real ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fish Hotel Cockermouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing