We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 92
US$ 74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Bradford Shipley(Shipley)(Great Value!)
US$ 48
US$ 46
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$ 62
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dubrovnik Hotel(Bradford)
US$ 98
US$ 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalesgate Hotel(Keighley)
US$ 98
US$ 95
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 125
US$ 118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
70
42
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
42
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowners were friendlyhotel is perfectly situatedexcellent hostsquiet locationfamily run hotelfour posterstayed recentlywelcomes petsbar areahospitality trayrooms are cleangreat place to stayfriendly hotelbreakfast was excellentbronte countrygood sizefamily wedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2011

My partner and I stayed here for one night to attend a masquerade at St. Ives Golf Club just 5 minutes away. The hotel is a great place and provides good service. They happily reserved a taxi for us on check in. The hotel has a relaxed and smart atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent and very quickly served. The room was quite big and clean, but was looking a little dated and would benefit from renovation. The room looked out onto pleasant gardens and all in all was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonytonychoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Upon pulling in to the car park I was not impressed, the photos on the website are very deceptive. Entering the hotel the first thing to greet me was a damp, musty smell. The way to the reception desk was unclear and check in was far from slick, having to ring a bell and wait to get attention, which is not wanted after an 8 hour drive. At first it was unclear if the woman who came to the desk actually worked at the hotel as she wasnt wearing a uniform, at no point in my stay did i see any uniforms. On the way to the room was when we first noticed the heat! The hotel was constantly too hot, uncomfortably so, especially when trying to sleep.
The room I was in was small even for a single, the bathroom tiny making showering difficult, the cover on the bed was stained, the whole room was in need of a good deep clean and was finished to the same low standard as the rest of the hotel, as if it was a DIY job. On the website it mentions free wifi, there was no mention of this anywhere and I did not pick up any networks on my phone.
After a disturbed nights sleep due to the heat, and my mum and sister being awoken by the owns dogs barking we headed down to breakfast, served between 8.30 and 9.30 on the weekend, even Sundays. I found this too early and rather a short space of time seen as we were out quite late both nights. The cold buffet was poor, 4 types of cereal, some tinned grapefruit segments, unpitted prunes, grapefruit juice, orange juice that certainly wasnt fresh and on Sunday mornign they manage to stretch to some apple juice. The cooked breakfast was good with 2 exceptions, the sausage was of very poor quality and the plate looked greasy with big thumb prints round the edge, very off putting. The newspapers they provided were The News of The World or The Times, not a great selection.
Check out was again not great,again having to wait as we had to disturb the family breakfast in the public dining room (an uncomfortable feeling) unless the 2 basset hounds behind the desk were going to check us out.
Overall the hotel is far from its boutique claims on its website and more or less a family run bed and breakfast, scruffy with a poor finish through out and not as clean as we felt it should be.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 271zackb055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiverise5, Owner at Five Rise Locks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Dear Its me again,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us here at Five Rise Locks Hotel. We are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us here. Having read through your comments I find that some of the issues could have been resolved if you had mentioned them to a member of the family. We don’t wear uniforms at this hotel as we are a family run business and feel that the “corporate” feel of uniforms is not what we are trying to offer to our guests. The wifi is free and a code can be accessed from any member of staff for you to use. However, I have also found that some of the comments are actually incorrect. If you would like to discuss this further with a member of the family then we would love to talk to you about your experiences.

Many Thanks
Richard and Maragret Stoyle
Proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel 5th & 6th November 2010 as we were meeting family nearby in Skipton. The Satnav took us right to the door with the Post Code. No, it’s not in the country but you wouldn’t think that from the views.
The view was not unpleasant but we could not see the canal locks from the window but we weren’t there for the views. We had a little time for a walk on the Saturday and the locks were only 10 minutes away.
The 1st floor room was clean, four poster bed, flat screen TV, good sized ensuite, ample wardrobe room for a week’s stay, not often found these days. The mattress was a little firm for both of us but not uncomfortable, we suffer a little with our backs so don’t let that put you off.
We found the owner and daughters friendly, evening meal excellent and the wine to a good standard, also well priced.
The breakfast was very good, choice of juices, cereal and the ‘obligatory’ cooked selection, although no yoghurts on the menu.
We have already recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMacs46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding at the nearby (and full) Oakwood Hall Hotel and this was the nearest alternative. The room was lovely, four poster bed, flat screen tv etc. The couple that own and run the hotel are really friendly and helpfull. The best bit though has to be the food - it was fantastic - we ate in the hotel on the Friday night and I honestly can't fault the meal at all - apart from to say that I was too full to sample the desert! The breakfast was good too - all in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

A delightful small hotel with a superb level of cleanliness and helpful and friendly staff. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews