We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
166
162
31
9
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
166
162
31
9
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews root bridge the double decker the owner new building small village deluxe rooms guwahati airport stayed for two nights sight seeing live music memorable stay home away from home beautiful location guide trek bangladesh cherrapunjee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2020

We visited this resort in the month of May. I'm an avid traveler and from South of India. Without a doubt the hospitality we enjoyed at the resort is the BEST we have ever hard. The staff is all women and very courteous despite many questions you have about the sight seeing options. The walk down the resort into the Lainkyntsew village is very charming.. interacting with the small children and family was very pleasing. The village also has a primary health care center which is well maintained with quality staff. The view in front of the resort and from the Rooms is awe-inspiring to see the valley. Please go for the deluxe rooms on the top floor for best view.
The kitchen in the resort serve very delicious vegetarian food including South Indian and any made to order. The owner of the resort stays in the same place and that shows their commitment to providing the best hospitality and service. They go to any extend 24-hour to make you feel better.
Please dont miss the walk around the property and in the village down the resort. They can also arrange for a pick up from Guwahati airport if needed.

Room tip: Deluxe rooms
Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BalaRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Dear Ms.Bala, Thank you very much for your Five Star Rating and detailed Review. We appreciate it much. You have indeed taken time off to share your experience at our place. We feel greatly rewarded when the guests are satisfied and happy with their stay at our place. Your Reviews help us to fine tune our services and take steps for improvement. We wish you both Good Health and Safety in this Pandemic times. When it is safe to travel again, you are welcome to come and rejuvenate yourself to beat the corona fatigue in the Lap of Nature. Thanks a Million.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020 via mobile

I and my friend visited this resort on 11&12 March. It was my second trip to cherrapunje and second visit to this resort. Though previously it was more beautiful according to my feeling but now it has developed more with new building and annexe building. But the rooms are decent,very clean, spacious, staff very cordial and owner also very friendly. The ambience is still the same, the buffet breakfast and dinner is really wholesome and I liked a lot. You get to taste local pineapple and mulberry juice . Overall it's a grand experience and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. I stayed in a standard double bed room. One should not leave the opportunity to stay here once you are in cherrapunje.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank SumanaM34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chresort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Dear Madam, We are so happy that you chose to stay with us for the second time. As the demand for stay with us has been growing, instead of declining guest requests for stay, we have been adding accommodation. The new rooms are furnished more and more better every time as we add buildings, more sit out area is created to enjoy the hill top view of the valley, the waterfalls, the river and the plains of Bangladesh and courtyard and garden is being developed for better enjoyment of the place. We added Buffet Breakfast and Buffet Dinner so that we can serve sumptuous and delicious meals to our guests. The new rooms that are getting ready will be having large valley view windows from where one can see the scenic beauty of the valley as the clouds float through the valley and waterfalls streak the hill sides. We are coming up with a 360 degree view point at the very top of the new building.

We enjoy serving our guests with the warmth of our guests, so that you always go with pleasant memories of your stay with us.

Thanks a Million for your review.

Denis P.Rayen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

The choice of staying here was made by a friend. IT certainly turned out to be a great choice, We were a group of old friends and we could not have asked for a better experience. We were greeted by the friendly staff on arrival and they were very attentive to all our need. In fact some electric points were not working in the room allotted to me and I was upgraded to an other room till the next day when the resort had things back in Order.
the rooms are quite basic but clean and neat. the food was very good, like home food and had a wide variety. The Evening bonfires were a great place to chat around. .All in all a great place and cheers to Mr. Dennis for his exceptional hospitality.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Ashok1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chresort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry for the inconvenience on the first day as the micro circuit breaker was tripping when you wanted to use the electric kettle and one of the power points was not working. We had started with Standard and Deluxe Rooms which are basic. Our Executive and Premium Rooms are better furnished. The new Valley View facing rooms will be still better appointed.

We are happy that you had enjoyed our food. They are prepared by home makers and does not upset one's stomach especially when guests stay with us for many days.

We shall look forward to be of service to you and to other members of your family and to your friends circle.

Thanks for your review. We appreciate it.

Denis P.Rayen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

Some of the must see sights in Meghalaya are about same distance from Shillong and Sohra. Our decision to base ourselves in Sohra was dictated by frightening traffic in Shillong. Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort turned out to be a great choice. This pocket friendly place offers basic comforts and really great service. The owner Mr. Denis Ryan is always around and ever ready to oblige and provide guidance. The place is located at the edge of a small village with friendly people.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chresort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Dear Sir, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our place. We are trying to provide a great ambiance for Family Holidays while bringing employment opportunities to the people of our surrounding villages in a scenic hill top location. We have developed many treks around the place and had named and promoted the Living Root Bridge including the Double Decker Root Bridge. One can take bath in waterfalls and fresh water springs during the monsoon season and can do many treks, River Canyoning and Adventure Caving in the winter season. We provide good amenities at a family friendly price so that many families can benefit from our service.
We appreciate your Five Star Rating. Thanks a Million.

Denis P.Rayen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

We had lunch at this place though we didn't stay here..

The food was awesome and delicious.. Especially, the rasam is amazing.. We ordered a thali/meals which costs around 250/- but worth it. The rice is unlimited. You don't get curd and that could be a drawback.. The place is centrally located and might be good for stay as well..

They also serve ice creams. Not a lot of flavours you get but the taste is good..

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank baadat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chresort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Thank you very much for your appreciating our food. We do serve Curd at an additional cost. We have a Restaurant by the name Orange Roots where we serve thalis, Dosas and Jain Food too.

Thanks for taking time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews