We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in the lap of nature”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherrapunjee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
mumbai, india
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bliss in the lap of nature”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were a big group of 10 who checked in at the resort. We stayed for a night, but what fun it was!

Sunlight to rain to fog to sunlight again...all in 10 minutes time. and this happened throughout the day. the hotel arranged for a guide to take us to the nearby root bridge, which is an experience in itself. i had lived for 13 years in Shillong, but had never ventured this far. seems i had missed a lot! the next morning we took a short trek through the village...again got ample doses of rain, fog and sunshine all in an hour. great views all the way, including a viewing point at the end of the trek.

About the hotel - the owners are more like hosts, always willing to help and guide you. rooms are ok, the ones in the new wing are much better and obviously slightly pricier. food tastes good, but the service is really slow. however, it didn't bother us much, we weren't in a hurry anyways.

My tip to all those travelling to Cherrapunji is.......step beyond the usual circuit and come another 20 kms further to stay at this place. you'll be happy you did it, because no other place that i know of can give you this experience.

Room Tip: new rooms in annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sd1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    140
    23
    4
    14
See reviews for
148
80
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, Assam, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

there are some places we never forget and this was one of them. located on a beautiful hilltop among the clouds, this resort was actually one of the best accommodations available 5-6 years back, i don't know how its doing now but back when i had gone it was the trip of a lifetime. early in the morning you wake up among the clouds and catch the sunrise. then the long and tiring but beautiful trek across 2 mountains and then a chance to see the famous root bridges and waterfalls and the resort arranges all of this. then the evening is made more beautiful with live music and campfire, you can imagine the fun!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidharth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assam
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This resort is located 20 kms away from Cherrapunjee village.The drive is long but worth reaching here.
This is family run business and Mr Rayen and his wife take personal care to make you feel comfortable.
They have added a new Annexe to the existing resort building, which is much better.All the rooms in the old building,open in the dining hall.So,one has to pass through the dining area to reach their rooms and sometimes, you feel the lack of privacy.But,most of the travelers become like a family very soon.The place is such.
In the evening ,they organized a cultural program ,conducted by local youths, charging a token sum of Rs 100.00 per room.
Enjoy the evening with snacks,tea/coffee and the songs rendered by the young boys.
Do not miss to visit the natural root bridge , which is not found anywhere else in the world, to the best of my knowledge.
If you are fond of tracking, the opportunities are endless.
My suggestion is that give at least two nights stay, to enjoy the place properly.
They serve the food as per order and our choice,subject of course the availability of ingredients.The cooking is done by local Khasi girls and you get the taste of home cooking and purity.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mphansaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

It is a Resort located in a place where you can enjoy nature in every way. Untouched by the cruelty of modern civilization, surroundings are absolutely natural, tiny water falls, clouds in the Hills, fog, trekking, natural root bridges, water rafting and what not.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 3 are having good view and quite good in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

It was my trip with my family last month with the commence of monsoon this year.Awonderful location indeed and this makes it aright place to experience the feel of meghalaya.A sip of hot coffee,pakora &rains on window pane.But my rating overall says its indeed a place to stay as you have no options to stay back in any other property there,but its always suggested that dont go for aoption of aroom in exceutive block recently devoloped as it does not get you the value for the money you paid for,no view,no room service,less spacious rooms but only rooms with expensive branded furniture &toilet with branded sanitary fittings filled with variety of flying insects.You can only experience the service of the teamof Mr.Ryan the local encyclopedia if you stay back in their standard rooms in old block .Life after dusk is idle as either you stay back in rooms without a Television or pay @100 for being apart of evening activity arranged by collected money of guests.Anyhow to far extend they have contributed to the ecomonical structure devolopment of such aremote place apart from making their own in all aspects.

Room Tip: dont go for rooms in executive block as no intercom,no roomservice,no view,less spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAJAGHOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherrapunjee
7.4 km away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
182 reviews
9.4 km away
Kutmadan Resort
Kutmadan Resort
#1 of 9 in Cherrapunjee
65 reviews
35.2 km away
Silver Brook
Silver Brook
#15 of 37 in Shillong
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 79 in Shillong
11 reviews
0.0 km away
Four Season Eco Resort
Four Season Eco Resort
#5 of 7 in Cherrapunjee
1 reviews
0.0 km away
Apsara Guest House
Apsara Guest House
#43 of 79 in Shillong
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort

Property: Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Address: Village Laitkynsew | Village Laitkynsew, Cherrapunjee 793108, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Cherrapunjee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,700 - ₹ 3,000
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort is a family run 'Nature Resort', promoted as a Family Holiday Destination. The focus is on the abundant scenic beauty all around the Resort, the benevolence of the Asian Summer Monsoon on Cherrapunjee, the enchanting and challenging Nature Treks in this amazing terrain, the Living Root, Baths in waterfalls, mountain streams and cool springs during the rainy season, Swims in Natural Swimming, Campfires, Adventure Caving, River Canyoning and Camping Out in winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherrapunjee Holiday Hotel Cherrapunjee
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort Meghalaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing