We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Hotel Shelter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Shelter
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Gwalior
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I did not plan to stay at this hotel, but was very happy I did. The story goes as follows - i was walking past this hotel and the manager asked me to come in and check out a room, I said yes, intersted in looking at the prices, but thinking I wouldn't stay as the hotel looked pretty run down and more like a building site from the outside. Anyhow, as I reached the 3rd floor the hotel still looked like a building site, we entered the room and I was pleasantly surprised. Modern furniture, 25 inch flat screen t.v, with English speaking channels, a large shower head, clean bathroom. Overall a very good room. I managed to bargain the manager down to half the price of what he wanted for the room. The customer service was excellent. Some times a bit too good, e.g. calling my room at 6am and asking if I wanted tea. The resturant was pretty good also. Over all a very good stay.

Room Tip: Ignore the outside go in and check out the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orwellwasright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
3
6
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

To be honest the hotel provides good value for money if u r travelling alone on work or just need to stay for a short trip. The internet is decent, cleanliness is above average, staff courtesy and behaviour is average (Hey But we r talking of GWALIOR here, so what did u expect), Restaurant offers decent food that i would rate above average again (Although the menu could have a wider choice but i hardly have any complaints), the restaurant staff make up in service for whatever is lacking in the food.. However i wouldnt rate it as an ideal family hotel... Not for any other reason but lack of cleanliness, lack of entertainment facilities (except the TV in the room).... Hope it helps u to make your decision..

Room Tip: Choice of Road View or No View... :) Doesn matter much actually..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sachin_103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The place was near the station and hence very convinient. The room was very cheap and for the price very comfortable with 24 hrs of hot water and a tv. Though the cable on the TV was not very clear. The staff was indifferent to my complaint of this and the food was also bad

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhtagwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I booked this hotel online. When I got there they showed me a room with no window, a filthy bathroom with broken fixtures, lousy beds with dirty sheets, and dingy walls. I told them I wouldn't sleep in the room if it was free, much less the Rs2300 I'd already paid on travelguru. They apologized said the problem was that the hotel was undergoing renovations, which it clearly was. To their credit they arranged a room for me at the same price in another, much nicer hotel with which they are affiliated. (Hence the two stars rather than one.)

Because my guidebook recommended their restaurant I went back in the evening to eat there, but it was entirely booked for a wedding party. That seems common.

Maybe it will be nicer when the renovations are completed. Who knows?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank irprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gwalior hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I stayed in Shelter hotel a couple of times before, but never wrote a review about it. This time I booked rooms by email and never got any reply. Knowing that Gwalior's hotels are never really full I did not bother. I confirmed my booking in the morning of arrival day and was granted a good discount and good rooms on the phone. When I actually turned up, the reception did not have an booking for me. Never mind as the rooms were anyway still available. I checked them before checking and they were ok. The surprise came when the reception informed me about the price...They quoted me exactly double from what they did on the phone that same morning !!! I recalled them our conversation but that man started shouting on me and beeing very rude, saying I had no proof of what I was saying. They dont take anybody without a proper voucher, they never got my email...blablabla....I gave up and went in another hotel. Shelter will never see me again !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senvatenguerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gwalior hotels
6.6 km away
Hotel Adityaz
Hotel Adityaz
#18 of 23 in Gwalior
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#3 of 23 in Gwalior
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.1 km away
The Central Park
The Central Park
#19 of 23 in Gwalior
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Vinayak
The Vinayak
#13 of 23 in Gwalior
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Surbhi
Hotel Surbhi
#11 of 23 in Gwalior
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.5 km away
Usha Kiran Palace
Usha Kiran Palace
#1 of 23 in Gwalior
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelter? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelter

Property: Hotel Shelter
Address: Tansen Road | Padav, Gwalior 474002, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Gwalior District > Gwalior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Gwalior
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,745 - ₹ 3,814
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Shelter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Yatra and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Shelter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing