We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills & hassle free stay”
Review of Tansen Residency

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gwalior
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tansen Residency
Ranked #1 of 36 Gwalior B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No frills & hassle free stay”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Tansen Residency is maintained and run by the State Govt. It is a hotel to be strictly used for a budget stay while doing business in the city or doing the historical tour of the city as there is not much to enjoy the property. 30-45 minutes drive from the airport and 10 minutes away from the railway station, the hotel is situated on Gandhi Road with big sprawling bungalows for neighbours. The rooms and bathrooms are large and spacious with natural light coming in and has a totally no nonsense air to it. Hot water, television, clean sheets, room heater, air conditioning (though not central) are available. F&B constitutes of a bar, a restaurant, conference room and a lawn for open air parties. Cuisines available are Indian, Chinese and very little continental. Suggest you stick to the tried and tested Indian fare and not be adventurous here. Breakfast buffets are generally included in the room charges. Staff is courteous but not in your face and will arrange for cars, tours and give general directions as reqd. The hotel also provides a city tour in an open bus at extra charges and has a state handicraft shop selling mainly fabric and sarees that the region is famous for.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms and not the ground floor and away from the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    31
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
23
13
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
398 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

26 - 27 Feb, 2010
This was an official trip to the Maharana Pratap College of
Technology, Gwalior. I was put up at the Hotel Tansen Regency,
Gwalior, which is a grand Government-owned hotel. I had arrived
at Gwalior very late in the night (my train the AP Express had
reached abotu 45 minutes late). The check-in staff were
soft-spoken, and pleasant. They appreciated my speaking in Hindi,
and spoke back in a manner which gladdened me. I was softly told
that if I freshened myself a bit quickly, I could make it in time
to catch some dinner. I was famished, and was badly in need of
some good food. When I went inside, I made a few choices on
eqnuiring with the waiter. He softly told me with a smile, that
after the first item I had ordered, if I wanted, he would get the
second one. I liked the soft advice on the relative portions of
the first dish, since I was quite full after the first dish. The
complimentary breakfast the next morning was very nice. It was a
bit limited (but not severely, though) in the number of items,
but certainly not on taste. The room itself was absolutely
fabulous - large, neat and clean. My rooms' windwos faced the
rear of the hotel, and did not offer much of an exotic view - I
did not mmind this in any way. The bathroom was was nice, clean
and adequately stocked. One of the messages that particularly
impressed me was a note to the effect that the Hotel Tansen was
committed towards the cause of our rivers and lakes. In case a
guest wished to use his/her towels for some time, they would
welcome it. If the guest desired to have them changed, he/she
could put it in the basin (or something similar to this effect).
This Hotel is a perfect example of how a Government-owned hotel
can be run to perfection. Fantastic!

Room Tip: I had a rear-facing room, but I was not worried too much about the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumantra_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The rooms at the hotel will remind you of any old days railway station side lodge. The rooms are spacious but lack cleanliness and hygiene. The toilets are old and have lost their aesthetic looks. Bed sheets were worn out and dirty. The room service is lousy. I would say this hotel of MP Tourism is not at all up to the mark. The only best part of this hotel is its location in the center of the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harshkrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We arrived from Delhi sometime in the afternoon and headed straight here as it made logical sense to be close, but not too close, to the station.

Upon arriving we were shown some rooms and we opted for the smallest one which after the additional of two extra beds, for my kids, was plenty big enough for us.

The room had clearly seen better days but in the class of hotels like this you often get places like this. Having said this, it wasn't bad at all I just don't think they'd had many visitors recently.

Room service was ordered and delivered whilst I went to see reception about the closure times for the Gwalior Fort. This was our only cock-up as they told me 9pm and they were right, but that's the closure for the Sound and Light show customers, not for normal daytime visitors. So at 6pm we set off for the fort and arrived shortly before it closed and so they wouldn't let us in. However, it meant that we enjoyed the hidden sunset, hearing the calls to prayer that hovered above city and generally chilled out; something we wouldn't have done if we were visiting the fort.

Back at the hotel we were the only people in the restaurant at 8pm. The food was great, the drinks good, the cocktails even better. Service was good and the price was very reasonable.

After dinner I wanted to update my blog and they let me use the machine in their office, unaccompanied, the same machine with their booking system on. I was somewhat surprised but very grateful. The next day they left me use the machine on reception, it made me laugh as I felt like an employee :-)

The thing that my kids will remember about this hotel happened when we went to bed and switched off the light: the ceiling was decorated with luminous stars and planets; we'd never spotted it in the daytime but it made my kid's day, or rather night.

Checking out was a breeze, the staff were very professional and I made up my mind that given the choice I'd stay at other MPTDC hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwinchco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
163 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Room was very comfortable with refrigerator, TV and AC. Clean and presentable, No views or balconies.
Just a reasonable room and complex at a mid range price. Nothing to rave about nor to complain about. Good breakfast, helpful staff. Free internet was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gwalior hotels
3.8 km away
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
#2 of 23 in Gwalior
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.3 km away
Usha Kiran Palace
Usha Kiran Palace
#1 of 23 in Gwalior
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#3 of 23 in Gwalior
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Gwalior Regency
Hotel Gwalior Regency
#5 of 23 in Gwalior
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Surbhi
Hotel Surbhi
#11 of 23 in Gwalior
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.6 km away
Ambience Gwalior
Ambience Gwalior
#8 of 23 in Gwalior
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tansen Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tansen Residency

Property: Tansen Residency
Address: Tansen Residency Gandhi Road, Gwalior 474002, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Gwalior District > Gwalior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Gwalior
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,843 - ₹ 3,231
Hotel Class:3 star — Tansen Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing