We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel
Ranked #45 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
dover
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still a good hotel”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Just returned from the same two weeks as the previous reviewer, and would agree the food could do with a tweak, choice not great and very poor sweets, though well cooked and always hot.We also were all inclusive, which we found ok though would not use this again. Must admit we found the whole wedding of the owners daughter a great night! , yes the music did go a bit to long, but by that stage we were pretty drunk and slept ok! Think the day we couldnt use the pool while the wedding was set up was handeled well and the use of the Golden Star hotel went well, as the use of the Yianni Marie Resturant for meals was fine. Yes it was a bit stange to have the pool area closed for the day but it was a one off and a great experience, all the hotel guests were invited and the bar was free, so a great night was had !
This was our 4th stay at this hotel and i think it is still pretty good, location superb, clean , and good staff. Reception staff great , Lucy is a great advert for this hotel, always a smile and happy to chat and made us feel welcome. Yes the food could do we some improvement but overall a good holiday.
Agree that the large number of Norwegians seemrd to take over during our second week, but they were not running around fighting and getting drunk, like i have seen large numbers of Brits do when they are in large numbers at other hotels i have been at.The entertainmenr guy did a good job, not pushey if you didnt want to join in.
Woukld have given 5 star s if the food was better, but 4 stars is about right

Room Tip: Pool side view gets morning sun but noisey at night with entertainment, front of hotel gets afternno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    106
    41
    17
    3
See reviews for
165
97
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Got back yesterday after one week at this hotel. Due to a few bad reviews we did look to change hotel but am so glad we didnt. This is an excellent 3 star hotel which was spotless, had a lovely pool/sea view and entertainer Stan was so good with our kids. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank humberstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen,Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Just back from the Rising Star after 2 weeks, party of 3 Adults and 2 children, All Inclusive.Really good location beside the beach and excellent pool area. Apartments dated but really clean with everything you require. Cleaning staff do an excellent job and are really helpful and polite as is the Manager, Bar and Restaurant staff. First week, excellent evening entertainment, good singers, a parrot show and a magic show which was brilliant! Unfortunately on the Saturday there was a wedding and we were moved to the Golden Star to use their facilities and to eat there....this was a joke.....hotel was so busy, hundreds of locals everywhere and the noise levels were unacceptable until 3am in the morning...no use for the kids. Impression owners treated the guests as second class citizens and did not care!!! Just when we thought it could not get any worse, over 100 Norwegian elderly guests arrived and took over the hotel. Entertainment at night the second week was changed to suit them and UK people were not looked after. Even the pool area was taken over by them doing exercises in the morning at the side of the pool. We went All Inclusive and I would not recommend...lack of choice and the food was awful....landed up eating out most nights. Was nervous re the entertainment guy as per previous reviews but he is no longer there, new guy Stan who is an absolute star and the kids loved him. Well done Stan...if it was not for you the kids would not have had a good holiday! Will not be returning to this group of hotels!

Room Tip: Stayed in 401- brilliant front sea view and 310- side sea view. Ask for even number for side sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babsmaclaughlinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location was ideal, in a quieter spot at one end of the beach, only a few minutes walk from all the restaurants and bars (just far enough away for some peace and quiet). We had a studio on the 1st floor, which was immaculate (particularly impressed by how clean the kitchen utensils were), and had great views across the bay. We didn't have any problems with the humming sounds other people have mentioned, but we were further along the corridor and could hear further down the corridor. There was loud music from downstairs on night (think it may have been a wedding), but other than that no problems with disturbed sleep. The third bed (sofa) would not have been great to sleep on. There was free air-conditioning, and a proper hairdrier provided. We were impressed that maintenance issues which arose during our stay were fixed straight away - even on a Sunday.

The pool area was lovely, and there were always plenty of sunbeds to go around - and thankfully a lot less crammed together than some of the other larger hotels along the seafront. There was music by the pool during the day, which I'm sure some people wouldn't like, but having initially not been too keen we actually missed it when it stopped one afternoon!

We stayed self-catering, and had a lot of nice, reasonably-priced meals out. The supermarkets were all fairly expensive as geared up to tourists - we eventually found Aldi but it was a bit of a trek in hot weather.

On our last day we were not being picked up till 9pm, so we made use of one of the courtesy rooms - there are 2 of them, and you can book a half hour slot the day before. We were given towels at reception, and the room had a toilet and two shower cubicles and was free of charge. It really enabled to enjoy our holiday till the last minute.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplecazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My Wife and I have had a particularly stressful 2011 and so needed/deserved an "escape" for a "week in the Sun"!
Last year we were in a similar situation and found a week in Gran Canaria....cheap but night clubs ran `til 4am and no air-conditioning....a break but not a rest!!!
Our Travel Agent was most helpful and found us a week self-catering ..Cyprus...Protaras...Rising Star Apartments....GOOD CHOICE!!!! We read Trip- Advisor for varied but essentially really good reports....it was brilliant!!!!
Thomas Cook flight was not good each way....arrived feeling like a "sardine on one leg"!...45min transfer was fine....they drive on the left and have English road signs! On arrival reception/check-in was quick and welcoming.....We had read on many reports "must have even number rooms for view etc"....we were room421...."Oh bugger" I thought....but did not complain.....it was a perfect room for us ....4th floor...balcony where I could watch the setting Sun at 6.30pm and a side view of the sea...."even number" rooms lost the Sun at 2.30!!!!.....how sad!!!!
The apartment was perfect....modern, well equipped and very clean....situated on the beach it had location, location etc.... we had a choice of daily walk along the coast to Pernera or along the beach walk to Fig Tree Bay...traffic-free beautiful decking/concrete walk-way....seriously impressive!!
The beach was very clean and there were plenty of available sun-beds/umbrellas...admittedly we were near end of holiday season.
We stayed on a self-catering basis......no problem....the hotel/apartments had a very good supermarket 100 yds away.
Eating out we were spoilt for choice...on the "strip"....next to the apartments there were every themed restaurant you could think of!!!!....Macdonalds/ Pizza hut/ Greek/ Italian/ Indian/ Chinese....all within walking distance!!! We ate out on the balcony of "Promises" twice....fab food and fab service....go there you will not be disappointed!!
For entertainment try "Eden Square" Japanese/Mexican/ Greek restaurants but fabulous live entertainment.....9-12 each night....cocktails only 3 euros.....make sure you know your way home!!!! We saw "Ebony and Ivory" 3 times.....fantastic duo that made "X-Factor" seem really 3rd class!!!
Back home now ....really miss it...cannot wait to return next year!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Even numbers have pool/sea view.....but you lose Sun mid-afternoon!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.4 km away
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
#17 of 65 in Protaras
468 reviews
1.3 km away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#33 of 65 in Protaras
270 reviews
0.9 km away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#48 of 65 in Protaras
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#36 of 65 in Protaras
1,269 reviews
0.4 km away
Mandali Hotel
Mandali Hotel
#43 of 65 in Protaras
82 reviews
1.3 km away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel

Property: SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel
Address: 6 Feidipidou Street, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Protaras
#19 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star is situated directly at the sandy Flamingo Beach of Protaras, which invites the whole family for a swim. Most of the facilities are shared between the two sister hotels SunConnect Rising Star & Golden Star. The whole complex disposes of 215 family-friendly rooms with one or two bedrooms. All facilities can be used by guests of both properties (Rising Star and Golden Star). The large sundeck with sun loungers and parasols and 3 pools invite you to relax. The Hotel's reception is available 24/7 and provides currency exchange. The hotel has 2 lifts. Throughout the hotel you enjoy free Wifi. Parking is available. Pool towels can be rented against a charge and deposit. In our Sunny Skies Restaurant a rich variety of foods is served buffet-style for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Yianna Marie a la Carte restaurant, which is located between the two buildings Rising Star and Golden Star, offers international and cypriotic dishes, fresh fish and shell fish between 11:00 and 22:30. You have the possibility to choose between half board (breakfast and dinner) and holiday inclusive which includes breakfast, lunch, dinner (buffets) and selected drinks. The ConnectBar at the Rising Star is opened between 10:00 and 21:00. Here you can enjoy delicious drinks while recharging your mobile devices and getting in contact with other guests. Moreover, you can also enjoy a drink at our Lobby Bar at the Rising Star Hotel. There's a supermarket for basic necessities at the Golden Star Complex. If you would like to stay active during your stay with us, you can enjoy a game of football, table tennis or beach volleyball with your family or other guests. Your ConnectScout organizes numerous sports activities for the entire family, for example water polo. Besides the hotel has a tennis court and tennis rackets can be rented against a charge. There's also a fitness center for you to keep fit during your holiday (against a charge). For guests seeking relaxation and wellness, our Venus Massage Center has lots of different treatments to offer, which will for sure leave you relaxed and revitalized. Treat yourself with a back massage or enjoy a Thai Massage (against a fee). Alternatively you can relax in the sauna or steam bath (against a fee) or use the indoor swimming pool. Our kids club invites children under 7 for diverse and fun activities like different pool games or creative time. Play games, read books, watch movies and meet new friends! There's also a playground which will for sure be enjoyed by your kids! For kids from 8 years on there are also a lot of water activities like water polo, a pool race or swimming competitions. Or what about a game of football, volleyball or basketball? There's also table tennis, billiard and air hockey - so it's for sure not going to be boring!For teenagers, the ConnectTeenLounge invites to hang out with new friends or play video games. There's a mini disco on several days a week. There are life shows with music every day. The hotel offers family-friendly apartments with one or two bedrooms for up to 4 guests. Those are equipped with air conditioning in the bedroom, TV, kitchenette with cooking rings, microwave or mini oven, fridge, kettle and toaster, a bathroom with bath/shower and WC and a furnished balcony or terrace. Apartments in the Rising Star have a side sea view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rising Star Beach Hotel
Rising Star Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing