We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant Kieppi: pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kieppi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kieppi
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
london
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Restaurant Kieppi: pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I ate here twice whilst staying in Saariselka. We found the food pretty good, the environment quite nice (though big, and hence not so cosy) and service fast and reasonably friendly. Both times I had steak and peppercorn sauce. The first was excellent; the 2nd was merely ok. It comes with potato wedges , but they’re happy to do it with fries. We shared a slice of chocolate cake for dessert; it was a small portion for sharing, but it was very good.

I’d recommend this place for a pleasant meal.

Has open wifi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenighthawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    25
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alken, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Rooms are very basic. Small beds and not so comfortable. Sauna was very pleasant. The breakfast could much better, also to basic; some meat, some cheese, some cold boiled eggs.....
The reception staff was very kind and very helpfull, wireless network didn't work in the beginning after a while it was Ok in the lobby, doesn't work in the rooms!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucclaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We came here on a four-night Santa Winter Wonderland visit with First Choice - and it was absolutely magical. Hotel Kieppi was very pretty - not one of those horrible concrete blocks but a series of log cabins amidst tall trees and high snow. Beautiful. You can hire sledges from reception, and the staff are very helpful when it comes to organising extra activities - I took my five-year old cross-country skiing and they pointed us to the best place to get skis and which tracks to try first.
The rooms were basic but comfortable, warm and very clean. The hotel staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and absolutely lovely with children. We had half-board, which I don't normally like as it's always more exciting to try different places for food. However, Lapland is rather pricey so this is a good option. Food was varied and I thought very good. There were people moaning about it - but I'm not quite sure why. Okay - so it wasn't a roast with two veg and potatoes. But who wants that when on holiday? It was traditional Scandinavian food - and there was plenty of it.
The main hotel building features a very comfortable lounge area with a roaring fire in the evenings and a well-stocked bar. There's also a children's play area with a computer corner with free internet access. Obviously, there's also a sauna, and they also have drying rooms and special storage lockers for skis and polar suits. Saariselka has a 1.6 km toboggan run which is only about ten minutes' walk from the hotel - brilliant fun, especially as parts of it are floodlit.
I can't fault this hotel at all. Yes, the Lapland holidays are very expensive when booked as packages, and, at those prices, you might expect more comfort. But it's a once-in-a-lifetime trip and should be embraced for everything it has to offer. We'd love to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I am, by all accounts, somewhat cantankerous and prone to erring on the glum side however I was blown away by our Lapland holiday. We went with First Choice who ensured that everything was just right; the small touches (The pilot handing over control of the plane to the elf tractor beam, elves who not only had an engaging tale about their own name but could tell the kids the 'back story' of other elves) had many parents smiling.
Hotel Kieppi was clean, warm and very welcoming, our apartment was perfect for our needs. The food was great in my opinion and the staff could not have been more helpful.
The town of Saariselka was lovely and the people were friendly and welcoming. Yes the trips are expensive but this is a once in a lifetime experience and the local economy is reliant upon the tourist income. The chance to hear from a Lappish reindeer herder about his life was not to be missed.
The only downside was a number of people moaning at every opportunity who were intent on writing a strong letter of complaint - to them I would say - try some food that's different from your staple diet, embrace the experiences of living a very short time amongst the Sami people and be thankful for a wonderful experience.
Final note - do this trip before its too late.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

WE stayed here on the Santa's Magic and it did what it said on the tin. The food and the rooms were basic but very clean. The dinning/lounge area was warm and friendly with a play area for the children while the adults sat by the open fire. This was a great stay and I couldn't say a bad thing about it. One great experience that we didn't pay for was the Northern Lights, we left the hotel about 9pm and walked off into the forest until there was no light and the sky was stunning. A great experience!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LymmLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saariselka hotels
0.4 km away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 km away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
10.0 km away
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
0.0 km away
Saariselka Inn
Saariselka Inn
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kieppi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kieppi

Property: Hotel Kieppi
Address: Raitopolku 1, Saariselka 99830, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saariselka
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,865
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kieppi 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Kieppi Hotel Saariselka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing