We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”
Review of Hornsbury Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hornsbury Mill
Ranked #4 of 13 Chard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have to say the whole experience was excellent from the start to finish. The accomodation was quaint and delightful with an excellent restuarant to boot. The food was top draw and would go to the hotel just to dine there. It obviously lacks the large hotel chain feel but I found that a real treat as you actually have a chat with the staff and enjoyed the slower pace of life. The Room was clean and comfortable with all the required neccessaties, Flat TV, good shower en suite facillities, No internet though at the time. I would book here anytime I was in the area!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    30
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
59
61
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We arrived unexpectedly before check-in time and were immediately made welcome and shown a choice of rooms. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were all delightful and efficient
We had a good lunch snack and an excellent dinner and full English breakfast. After breakfast we had a good walk around the lake and the grounds
We heartily recommend it

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Spent a couple of days that included my brothers wedding. Nice hotel area in rural England. Definitely recommend if around the area!
Great for a weekend get away for couples!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Smith_2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We arrived at this hotel(it was a surprise to me) and it did not dissapoint.. We had dinnner in the restaurant the food was good but what made the whole experience was the staff. They were so good and efficient. It was a break away from the kids for us and just the way that the staff dealt with everything was superb. In the morning seeing the peacocks on the fire escape stairs was just an added bonus. Would i reccomend it to my friends yes, we hope to come here again very soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Honsbury Mill is a superb site, a pond, lovely gardens, beautiful old mill building. Close to town of Chard for shops. The rooms are old world, spacious and have all that you need. Its warm and heaters can be used for drying clothes as well. There is one downstairs room if you don't want to use stairs. There is a breakfast room and breakfast is lovely. the Staff are friendly and helpful. Good value.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk the stairs, ask for downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
2.8 km away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
636 reviews
2.7 km away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
327 reviews
4.5 km away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
18.7 km away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
351 reviews
2.7 km away
Ammonite Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornsbury Mill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornsbury Mill

Property: Hornsbury Mill
Address: Hornsbury Mill Hornsbury Hill, Chard TA20 3AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chard
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,985 - ₹ 9,121
Hotel Class:4 star — Hornsbury Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hornsbury Mill offers charming four star guest accommodation in a beautiful rural setting, just a short drive from the coast and a number of local tourist attractions. The converted 19th-century mill has a popular restaurant serving traditional English cuisine to both residents and non-residents. More formal dinners can be enjoyed beside the working water wheel, whilst our bar menu offers you the chance to dine by the lake accompanied by the curious resident wildfowl or sit in our cosy lounge. With ten guest bedrooms, private function rooms and a license for civil ceremonies in the romantic corn loft or lakeside gazebo Hornsbury Mill is a popular wedding venue year-round, as well as hosting intimate anniversary and birthday parties, special occasions, conferences and corporate events. Please note that our restaurant/bar close at 4pm on Sundays and Bank Holidays with no evening service provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hornsbury Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hornsbury Mill Chard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing