We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise”
Review of Kaya Mawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kaya Mawa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Likoma Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2016

great location on a beautiful authentic Island full with baobabtrees and villages.
Sunsets, great food, a general relaxed feeling, no timings, just go with the flow.
Only a pity , sometimes many mosquitos and lake flies, but thats living by a lake.

Room Tip: All rooms are totally different, difficult to recommend one
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Kaya Mawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2016

The resort is on a beautiful bay on LIkoma island right in the lovely lake Malawi . The rooms are rustic making us of many recycle items ,but wonderful. The food is marvellous with dinner on the beach every night . The setting feels like a Greek Island but you are on a lake in Africa! The staff are friendly & service excellent . The lake is great to swim in very clear , a bit rocky so bring reef shoes. Try to look around the island, the Cathedral is amazing but it is the friendly people who make it such a lovely place. It is brilliant to rest up here between Safaris etc & you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Malawi was our first stop on this trip, we were in need of some R & R with glorious sunshine and a heavenly location. That is exactly what we got at Kaya Mawa!
We were warmly greeted by Michelle after our long haul trip, we arrived by light aircraft from Lilongwe at "Likoma Internatational " then jumped on to a speed boat and whisked around the bay to the resort. First impressions were great, a delicous cooling drink at the bar whilst Michelle briefed us about kaya Mawa.

We were then shown to our room, we were in Mbamba on top of the rocky prominence, It is a stunningly beautiful huge room (used to be the old dinning room) windows or partial open space on all sides so you can pretty much see 360' panoramic view. It also has a small and very secluded patio with plunge pool.

You can do as little or as much as you feel like - read, swim, walk, watch the wildlife, which there is an abundance of. Or be more active in the water with canoes/paddleboards etc.
We took an island boat trip which is a great way to see the island, with a couple of stops on land
1st at the workshop Katunda where the beautiful linen's and light fittings are made. The islander's have created ingenious décor out of recycled everyday items, it is inspirational!
2nd at the Islands unbelievably stunning Cathedral, over at the main town.

Not only is the resort delightful but the food was amazing, we thoroughly looked forward to our meals - light and very tasty ingredients, exquisitely presented.
We also had sun-downers in different locations around the resort most evenings and I sampled a relaxing massage whilst drifting off to the sounds of nature all around.

Many thanks to Michelle, Sarah and all the team for making our first few days of our trip memorable

Room Tip: All of the rooms are individual in size, views and décor, but all look delightful
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nette08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We returned back to UK today and can't believe that less than 48 hours ago we were in paradise!

The flight by light aircraft through from Mfuwe in Zambia was the start of our adventure and thanks to Ulendo Airlink who were so professional and their ground staff in Lilongwe were great.

Arriving at Kaya Mawa Michelle immediately made us welcome.

We stayed five nights and would have happily stayed longer.

The staff are amazing and we enjoyed getting to know them, learn a few words of Malawian and they managed to be attentive without losing any of their spontaneity.

Thoroughly enjoyed our massages in the spa as well - you will have to travel a long way to find an more idyllic location.

We do hope to return soon.

Zikomo kwambiri!

Room Tip: Each room is individually designed so check their website out to ensure you get what suits you best...
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tenaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a competition with with National Geographic Traveller Magazine. And wow, what a stay it was! Cannot fault anything about this place. They pay enormous attention to detail in every aspect. Arrived by Cesna onto the small airstrip which was a great experience in itself and met by a lovely driver and iced water. Room directly on the beach was great, spacious and beautiful fabrics throughout. Meals are great , buffet and cooked choice at breakfast, 2 courses at lunch and 3 course meal in the evening. No choice but that didnt matter, everything that comes out of the kitchen is superb. We did the quad bike trip round the island which I would thoroughly recommend and took a trip to Katunda, the workshop that the resort have established to provide income to the local population. A great idea and very admirable. Staff are lovely, especially Sarah, Michelle and Martin, nothing was too much trouble. Would love to come again!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Likoma Island
0.0 km away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.0 km away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
95 reviews
0.0 km away
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#10 of 12 in Lilongwe
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
227.1 km away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 48 in Lilongwe
126 reviews
0.0 km away
Skinny Hippos Lodge
Skinny Hippos Lodge
#8 of 28 in Mangochi
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya Mawa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya Mawa

Address: P.O. Box 79, Likoma Island, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Northern Region > Likoma Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Likoma Island
Price Range: ₹ 34,236 - ₹ 44,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaya Mawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaya Mawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya Mawa Likoma Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing