We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Njaya Lodge(Nkhata Bay)
US$ 60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makuzi Beach Lodge(Chintheche)
US$ 315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
180
13
0
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
13
0
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonlake malawiplunge poolevery mealbarefoot luxurylocal womenquad bike tourthank you very muchbird lifesound of the waveshope to return soonstunning locationfell in lovemain areaparadise on earthprivate islandwake boarding
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2016

The resort is on a beautiful bay on LIkoma island right in the lovely lake Malawi . The rooms are rustic making us of many recycle items ,but wonderful. The food is marvellous with dinner on the beach every night . The setting feels like a Greek Island but you are on a lake in Africa! The staff are friendly & service excellent . The lake is great to swim in very clear , a bit rocky so bring reef shoes. Try to look around the island, the Cathedral is amazing but it is the friendly people who make it such a lovely place. It is brilliant to rest up here between Safaris etc & you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Malawi was our first stop on this trip, we were in need of some R & R with glorious sunshine and a heavenly location. That is exactly what we got at Kaya Mawa!
We were warmly greeted by Michelle after our long haul trip, we arrived by light aircraft from Lilongwe at "Likoma Internatational " then jumped on to a speed boat and whisked around the bay to the resort. First impressions were great, a delicous cooling drink at the bar whilst Michelle briefed us about kaya Mawa.

We were then shown to our room, we were in Mbamba on top of the rocky prominence, It is a stunningly beautiful huge room (used to be the old dinning room) windows or partial open space on all sides so you can pretty much see 360' panoramic view. It also has a small and very secluded patio with plunge pool.

You can do as little or as much as you feel like - read, swim, walk, watch the wildlife, which there is an abundance of. Or be more active in the water with canoes/paddleboards etc.
We took an island boat trip which is a great way to see the island, with a couple of stops on land
1st at the workshop Katunda where the beautiful linen's and light fittings are made. The islander's have created ingenious décor out of recycled everyday items, it is inspirational!
2nd at the Islands unbelievably stunning Cathedral, over at the main town.

Not only is the resort delightful but the food was amazing, we thoroughly looked forward to our meals - light and very tasty ingredients, exquisitely presented.
We also had sun-downers in different locations around the resort most evenings and I sampled a relaxing massage whilst drifting off to the sounds of nature all around.

Many thanks to Michelle, Sarah and all the team for making our first few days of our trip memorable

Room Tip: All of the rooms are individual in size, views and décor, but all look delightful
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nette08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We returned back to UK today and can't believe that less than 48 hours ago we were in paradise!

The flight by light aircraft through from Mfuwe in Zambia was the start of our adventure and thanks to Ulendo Airlink who were so professional and their ground staff in Lilongwe were great.

Arriving at Kaya Mawa Michelle immediately made us welcome.

We stayed five nights and would have happily stayed longer.

The staff are amazing and we enjoyed getting to know them, learn a few words of Malawian and they managed to be attentive without losing any of their spontaneity.

Thoroughly enjoyed our massages in the spa as well - you will have to travel a long way to find an more idyllic location.

We do hope to return soon.

Zikomo kwambiri!

Room Tip: Each room is individually designed so check their website out to ensure you get what suits you best. Nkwhazi was our room and fabulous.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tenaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a competition with with National Geographic Traveller Magazine. And wow, what a stay it was! Cannot fault anything about this place. They pay enormous attention to detail in every aspect. Arrived by Cesna onto the small airstrip which was a great experience in itself and met by a lovely driver and iced water. Room directly on the beach was great, spacious and beautiful fabrics throughout. Meals are great , buffet and cooked choice at breakfast, 2 courses at lunch and 3 course meal in the evening. No choice but that didnt matter, everything that comes out of the kitchen is superb. We did the quad bike trip round the island which I would thoroughly recommend and took a trip to Katunda, the workshop that the resort have established to provide income to the local population. A great idea and very admirable. Staff are lovely, especially Sarah, Michelle and Martin, nothing was too much trouble. Would love to come again!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

We came here for 4 nights after our wedding to chill-out, then kick off the rest of our honeymoon - it was perfect.

The location and cottages are beautiful. They are rustic but hugely romantic, and you feel very connected with the surroundings.

The food is absolutely fantastic. The chef makes food that is very delicate but bursting with flavours and local ingredients. It was something we looked forward to every day!

The activities were great, we paddle boarded on the dead calm lake in the morning before breakfast, then did snorkelling / kayaking or sailing later in the day. With all the activity, we didn't feel quite as guilty when gorging on the three course dinners.

The manager Michelle is very personable and provides excellent service with her team but without being intrusive. She phoned ahead to our next hotel to let them know about a recurring back issue my wife has, so they could make sure they had medicines available if needed and also organised a boat transfer to the airstrip as it was gentler on the back than the dirt roads across the island. Very thoughtful!

In terms of Mosquitos etc, not really a problem. We just sprayed up and most were kept at bay.

If you want to destress in a beautiful peaceful location, whilst splashing In the water or lazing on the beach with a great book, I would highly recommend 3-4 nights here.



Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews