We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
Private access, plenty of parking in a quiet location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private access, plenty of parking in a quiet location
A warm welcome awaits with fresh flowers, milk  and cakes! Plenty of safe, off road parking and complete privacy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Private access, plenty of parking in a quiet location
A warm welcome awaits with fresh flowers, milk  and cakes!
Plenty of safe, off road parking and complete privacy
Stairs up to the lounge
Relax in comfort while you plan your next sightseeing trip
Plenty of spacious off road parking
Bluebells in Spring are simply stunning!
Summertime is especially pretty with hundreds of picnic spots to choose from
Autumn colours are breathtaking!
We are open all year round for cosy winter breaks too!
Longer sunny days provide some spectacular sunsets!
Spotlessly clean and comfortable, wake up to morning sunshine!
Plenty of space to prepare meals to share and dine in comfort
Iconic view from nearby Symonds Yat overlooking the river Wye
Dogs are made very welcome with the use of their own bed, bowls and plenty of biscuits!
Nearby Puzzlewood, film location for the new blockbuster Star Wars film 'The Force Awakens'
See what previous guests have had to say about their stay
Wild boar run free through the forest but tend to hide away during the daylight hours!
Fancy a spot of fishing?
How about a family canoe trip?
Seeking thrills and adventure? We have it all in the Forest of Dean!
If you go down to the woods to day . . . . !
Adrenalin junkies will not be disappointed!
Nearby Tintern Abbey steeped in history
Seek out the Sculpture Trail opposite Speech House nearby
Dean Heritage Centre complete with cafe
Maybe a relaxing boat trip is more your thing?
Sit a while and enjoy the birdsong!
Plenty of thrilling MTB trails and you can cycle into the forest form here
Feed the ducks at nearby Cannop Ponds
Plenty of cycle trails for the whole family whatever your fitness level!
Second bedroom for little (or big) ones!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cinderford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jervis76
Leeds, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a great stay at the Forest Coach House. Before and after booking Tracey responded to all of our emails and questions quickly and in a very friendly manner. On arrival there were freshly baked muffins and a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge as well as essentials such as milk, tea and coffee. There were other great little touches that made us feel at home, a sign outside the house welcoming us by name and a sign on the door to the single bedroom for our daughter.

There was lots of information on the local area and things to do in the house which was a great help. As well as the usual guest comments book Tracey also leaves a suggestions book for guests to comment on anything they think could be improved for the future; another great touch that shows how responsive she is to guests needs.

The house was clean, modern and well presented. Our daughter Mia also loved the owners two dogs and cat which she insisted we greeted every morning before we went out and every evening when we came back in. Although there isn't a great deal to see in Cinderford itself it's a great base for visiting the Forest of Dean, Wye Valley and beyond. We had a packed week and most of the attractions we visited were no more than a 30 minute drive away. Would recommend Puzzlewood, Dean Heritage Centre, Beechenhurst Lodge for a walk in the forest, Tintern Abbey and Slimbridge Wildfowl and Wetland Trust in particular; all of which our (almost) 3 year old loved.

Would definitely recommend the Forest Coach House for a friendly and welcoming stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I am always delighted to hear from happy quests who have enjoyed themselves exploring the local area and beyond. I enjoy making the Forest Coach House clean and comfortable and the reviews really do make all the hard work very worthwhile. I am very proud to live in such a fabulous part of England. I will agree the town is very tired and could do with a boost - much like many towns up and down the country but what we lack in posh shops and wine bars we certainly make up for in rich heritage and friendly loyal foresters! Not to mention acres of woodland walks which are particularly spectacular when the beech trees start to turn gold from about mid-September through to Christmas. The dogs get very excited and love visitors as much as I do so we all hope to see you back again some day when you would be made very welcome. Best wishes, Tracey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapyong53
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our home in the UK”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful week staying at the coach house in July. The accommodation was lovely providing everything we could possibly need. We felt we were friends of Tracey well before we arrived in Cinderford as she emailed us regularly helping us to plan our time in the UK. We arrived tired and hungry and Tracey not only provided caked, tea,coffee and wine but gave us a light meal to tied us over to the morning. The easy proximity of so many wonderful sights and the ease of the bus service was excellent. We found the whole community friendly and welcoming but none more so than Tracey and Alfie. We would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and the location
Liked least: Finding the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
It was a pleasure to finally meet you both and I am glad you had such a good time. Knowing that you would be so far from home, I wanted to make sure you had all the information to help you make the most of your time spent in the UK and you certainly managed to get around easily! The local buses provide an invaluable service for those wishing to leave the car behind for a relaxing journey saving you money on fuel & parking and giving you the chance to see the local area (and on top of the double deckers - a peep over the high hedges!) Best wishes to you both in Australia and thank you for choosing the Forest Coach House for your adventure in the UK, Tracey and family x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen r
hastings
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a lovely little house, perfect for two nights. All the extra touches made us feel really welcome. The dogs were a massive hit with my daughter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
It was lovely to meet you all and as you say a couple of nights is perfect at the Forest Coach House if, like yourselves you're passing through the area or for those simply wanting a quick break to recharge batteries. Our two dogs are very friendly and love meeting people so the admiration was most definitely mutual! Thank you for choosing the Forest Coach House and I hope to see you again if you're ever in the area. Best wishes, Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollysMum...
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just lovely...”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We arrived to fresh muffins, flowers, milk in the fridge and a toy, treats and a dog bed for our dog. My daughter was so chuffed to see her name on her bedroom door and also the basket full of books, games and a clock. Such lovely touches that made us feel right at home. The apartment has been done so well with all homely touches throughout and everything you could think of that you might need. Tracey is only next door if you should need anything (not that we did). The information book was invaluable and had lots of local information about good walks etc. You do need to use your car to get to most of the best walks, but it is only a 5 minute drive and there are plenty of car parks. I would recommend the Gruffalo Trail and Sculpture Trail (both start at Beechenhurst Lodge) where you can take dogs and let them off the lead around the trails. Dog friendly pubs that we found were The Woodlands, which serves lovely home cooked food and amazing home made puddings, and The Speech House which also serves lovely food. Tracey made us feel very welcome and we hope to return again soon. Thank you - Dave, Kate, Holly and Tinkerbell :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you all and I am so glad Tinkerbell had so much fun in the woods (and at the pub!) The Forest of Dean is a fabulous place to explore - especially when you have a dog (and kids love it too!) Thanks for your comments, hope to see you back again when you can be sure of a warm welcome. Best wishes, Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Forest Coach House for two nights over the weekend and could not have been more impressed with our stay. As soon as we arrived (weary and exhausted from travelling) Tracey was there to greet us, made us feel very welcome and showed us around her beautiful house. She had left us with milk and wine in the fridge, as well as muffins & fresh flowers to welcome us.



We couldn't have been happier with the accommodation, as we did a fair bit of cooking - every utensil we could have needed was provided. The location was great, within minutes to the forest and we even stopped at Bourton-on-the-Water when we left - less than an hour away.



All in all, thank you Tracey for an excellent stay - I would recommend to everyone & when next in the area will definitely return x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review and I'm so pleased you found everything you wanted in the kitchen. Bourton-on-the-Water is fabulous and an easy drive from the Forest of Dean. I'm always happy to share the Forest Coach House as a real home from home and a wonderful base for exploring! I do hope to see you again if ever you're in the area when you can be sure of a very warm welcome. Best wishes, Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing