We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sol Caribe(Punta Allen)(Great Value!)
US$ 173
US$ 168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Ascension Bay Bed and Breakfast(Punta Allen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 113
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Mukan Resort(Punta Allen)
US$ 461
US$ 423
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xo Ki'in(Punta Allen)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
63
7
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
7
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday tripsnapperperchgrand slamboat rideascension bayyellow dogcaught bonefishhis assistantbeautiful areaside noteplaya del carmenrodsfelipejacksbarracudacasting
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Fishing was terrific, guides the best ever, and the catch beyond Thierry's expectations! Guides Wilberthe and Bennie are an expert team, who know how much to help and when to hold back. We talked a lot about the changing peninsula and environment. For a non-fisherwoman (see hammock), this was the best reading vacation of my life. Tranquility, absence of commercial distractions, and secluded beach. Sergio made sure our food and beverage needs were met without ceremony and yet so elegantly. Rooms and palapa were well furnished but not overdone in USA chain hotel style. What a relief to not have a TV to fall back on, and to know that wifi and electricity can sputter out for spells. A delicious, invigorating, and satisfying escape. (Shhh!)

Room Tip: No distractions like TV or pool. Just iguanas, surf, and solitude!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishingAscensionBay, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pesca Maya Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hi Amy,

Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to have you and your husband at Pesca Maya.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We did a day trip for spin rod fishing. Our guide was Eli and assistant Juan. Van ride provided from our hotel to Tulum then boat ride to resort (was told road is rough and takes about 2 hours). Boat ride was beautiful. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs & ham with pancakes, OJ & coffee. It was good! Then out to the water. We traveled some distance but ride was good & Eli put us on some great fish. We caught bonefish, snappers, jacks & a permit! Juan was great help and went the extra mile trying to land the fish. We had a blast & the day went too fast! Would love to do it again! (Side note: Talked to the guys that did the fly fishing & they had a great day as well!)

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank BigBassLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishingAscensionBay, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Pesca Maya Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your day, that is our best motivation.

Come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

I chose Pesca Maya for my Wife's 50th Birthday. Wanted something special and we weren't disappointed. Staff are amazing and our Guide Luis had us on Fish everyday. She caught a Giant Barracuda and I landed my biggest Permit yet. Beautiful area surrounding the Lodge. The waters just minutes from The Lodge are full of Fish. If you want a real chance at a Grand Slam look no further!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Really good guides at a great place. Poncho was able to put us on Bonefish in the flats with huge schools of fish. My casting improved vastly over a two-day period with poncho as a coach. The service by Pesca Maya were top-notch and I highly recommend them.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Luis was a fantastic guide. He was very patient with my wife and I. He did everything he could too put us on fish. Had an awesome time would recommend Luis and the hole Pesca Maya crew and would book Luis again once I make it back down.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews