We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Grand Slam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Allen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Grand Slam
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Punta Allen
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Never having fly fished, I was a little apprehensive, but my fears were quickly dispelled with the warm hospitality of Greg, Lupita and Maria. While all of the guides were friendly and knowledgeable, I had the privilege of being guided by Francisco the entire week. He was very patient and I learned a lot..even caught some fish! Besides fishing, the incredible scenery of the mangroves and flats, the excursions to some of the Mayan ruins and Lupita’s great food made the trip most enjoyable. After fishing, it was so relaxing to sit out on the veranda with the cool breeze, drinking a margarita and enjoying an appetizer before dinner. I would highly recommend Club Grand Slam, particularly for anyone interested in learning to fly fish.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

A friend and I spent six days in early May this year enjoying the fishing and hospitality at CGS. I concur with other reviews here that the food and cordiality of this lodge are truly exceptional. Additionally, the guides are knowledgeable, patient and energetic. The highlights of the week include visiting several Mayan sites, watching manatees and superb birdwatching. We had opportunities to cast to bonefish, snook, permit, tarpon, barracuda, sharks and jacks. The scenery in the mangroves, as well as on the flats, is spectacular, and you never know what you might encounter for birds, turtles, archeological sites and, of course, fish. You will never go to bed hungry here (actually you will never have a chance to be hungry anytime) and the coffee in the morning is a treat to wake to with the birds and roosters. Tight lines!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteSD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, WA.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Two of us fished mid-May at the best lodge in Punta Allen. I've fished at another lodge two weeks prior, but Club Grand Slam had the better guides when it came to finding Tarpon. Lots of open water and many tarpon noted.. the last day we both hooked large tarpon, Fransisco said mine was about 70 lbs. It was soooo big the Jesus got a picture of himself holding it. Great fun with all the guides who speak English well enough. Great accommidations , AC, Food, host, boats... Greg even let us use his 10 wgt; ;; lucky for us when the big tarpons hit. The one hour plus boat ride was sometimes rough, but it gave us lots of untouched waters to fish for bones and tarpon. Bob Buchman

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

In 1972 I camped on the beaches of Quintana Roo and Cancun was only a planners dream. It was a wide open freedom back then and I had spent many a night remembering and wishing I could once again capture those days.

My friend Tom and I had discovered flyfishing for bonefish the prevoius year in Belize and luckily stumbled on the Club Grand Slam for our next adventure .We discovered a sleepy little fishing villlage, Punta Alllen, at the 'end of the road ' and a place where time stood still .

We found freedom and excitement fishing the beautiful blended blue waters of Ascension Bay, the pristine sandy flats and mangrove inlets that were untouched for thousands of years.We found colorful flocks of birds nesting or flying free.We found sea turtles and dolphin in the bay living free as God intended .We discovered a small piece of the world untouched by traffic,noise, high rise hotels and congestion.But best af all we found the friendliest and warmest couple Lupita and Greg that made our experience better than we had hoped and they were what made the Club Grand Slam and the Punta Allen experience so special.

Their staff was professional,the food exceptional and oh yeh,the fishing was darn good also. I redicovered that time I experienced 50 years ago.A return is a must !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 298johnz298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was a return trip--last year made us certain to return. Changes we found had mostly to do with the upgraded accommodations: larger rooms (now 4 in total) and a second floor eating area. Lupita's food was again to die for, with the best molle of my life by far. Only problem: none of it was resistable and I gained a few pounds.

The fishing was terrific even though the weather conditions were not. We caught lots of bonefish, had shots at permit, lost a HUGE snook at the boat and had a fantastic time catching "baby" tarpon in remote backcountry. Our knowledgeable and personable guides steadily put us on fish and were totally into it all day.

Club Grand Slam continues to top my list, and it's a bargain to boot.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gREGORIO32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Allen
37.4 km away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 87 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
36.3 km away
Hotel MangleX
Hotel MangleX
#60 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
36.6 km away
Rosa del Viento
Rosa del Viento
#18 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 km away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#16 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
6.4 km away
Sol Caribe
Sol Caribe
#1 of 13 in Punta Allen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 km away
GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Grand Slam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Grand Slam

Property: Club Grand Slam
Address: Club Grand Slam Bayside Drive 1 | Sian Kahn Biosphere, Punta Allen 77768, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Punta Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Punta Allen
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,730 - ₹ 23,839
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punta Allen’s top ranked lodging and dining for anglers and adventurers. Catering to travelers who want modern accommodations and outstanding dining while still experiencing the beauty of the Sian Ka’an Biosphere. Rooms include all the creature comforts, including A/C and lots of personal attention. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Grand Slam Hotel Punta Allen
Hotel Grand Slam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing