We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Residence Loren
Nearby Hotels
US$ 229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 159
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tilia(Uster)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Motel Fehraltorf(Fehraltorf)
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boldern(Mannedorf)
US$ 210
US$ 165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 144
US$ 140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel & Cafe Rubus(Effretikon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
10
21
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
21
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinehotel is locatedkitchenbedroombedsbalconyentrance
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We couldn't find a hotel in Zurich but foubd this one just outside, in Uster. The host, Kanchana was extremely friendly and the room was great- actually an apartment on the top floor with everything and more!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I had to make a very last minute reservation to stay in Zurich, however nothing seemed available for under $300USD/night. Fortunately, I was able to find this hotel, albeit a little far from Zurich, but the train service to Uster is great and the distance via freeway was marginal and generally traffic-free.

Me and my friend spent most of our day on the train coming up from Rome. Pretty much exhausted, we had a painless check-in and were greeted by the most genuinely friendly hotel staff I've ever met. The owner and his assistant spoke great English and treated me and my friend to two welcomes beers each and had some nice conversation with us on the very homely patio. It was nearing 10PM and with most of the stores closed and our cigarettes running low, they each donated us what was left of their packs. I don't even have friends that would do that. We were also given a bunch of tips for things to do and see. Rapperswil being one of them, did not disappoint and it's a quick and scenic drive from Uster.

The hotel itself is pretty new and very clean. Comfy beds, nice TV, but most importantly, fast and free Internet access. The house staff were great and extremely polite. They even neatly put away our shoes--nice touch. Breakfast was good and for being a little homesick, eggs and bacon made a great start for the day. We were also given free bike rentals, which made exploring the down (and avoiding a DUI) a huge plus. Uster's a quiet and safe neighborhood and I was pleasantly surprised with how the locals were.

Finally, the night before we left, the same gentlemen comped us a going away beer and wished us a safe trip. If I find myself back in this part of Switzerland, I'll definitely drop by Uster and say hello, if not stay a night.

Room Tip: The trains can get pretty loud at night, so close your patio doors and leave the bathroom window open. Easy fix.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pretendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The staff were helpful - when the room was too warm at night I asked for a portable fan which they loaned to me for free. Plus they have free bikes one can borrow, very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brian52926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews