We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“10/10 Perfect Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and Patio
Swimming pool and Moroccan style patio Driving up to Mas St. Joseph with mountains in background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Pool and Patio
Swimming pool and Moroccan style patio
Driving up to Mas St. Joseph with mountains in background
View of Mt Canigou walking from Mas St. Joseph to Ille-sur-Tet
Front of house
Table d'hote
Moroccan corner
Moroccan corner
Moroccan corner
Kumquat
Front patio from bedroom
Patron saint...
Patio and front of house
Garden
Olive tree
View from Parking area
Breakfast
Shower room & WC
Studio Catalan showing entrance to shower room and steps to mezzanine
Wide screen TV, DVD player, Library
Mezzanine level sleeping area
Kitchenette
Super King Size bed (or can be made up as two singles)
Studio Catalan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ille-sur-Tet, Pyrenees-Orientales, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jonny C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“10/10 Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed 11 September 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I would 100% recommend Mas St. Joseph to anyone considering a holiday to the South of France.

We were a little nervous upon arriving because we thought in peak summer holidays it seemed to good value for money… Well, I can tell you it lived up to all expectations and it was absolutely perfect for what we wanted. It is down a lovely little peach orchard track set against the Pyrenees Mountains (you’re not going to get a better setting) Each morning we had a fresh continental breakfast out the front and it was really beautiful. Adrian and Kate were excellent hosts being very attentive but also giving us lots of space to enjoy time around the pool and house. They also both provided excellent ideas for us to go too so we had some fab days out which we wouldn’t have otherwise know about.

Basically, 10/10 for everything and I promise you will be very glad you booked this holiday over your other options and we will defiantly return in a couple of years.

Thank you Adrian & Kate x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2018
Thanks so much Jonny! It was a real pleasure hosting you and your family. You were the prefect guests! We really look forward to seeing you back here again. XX
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardch...
1 review
“Stunning tranquil location in a beautifully restored property with service that surpasses any five star hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Beautiful restored property with the look and feel of old France but with all the modern conveniences of now. The location is tranquil and stunning with views over the hills and farms that surround the area. There are Many fabulous walks that can start from the location. There is a relaxing pool area and a fabulous small courtyard where weather permitting you can sit eat and admire the views and tranquility of the area. All the meals I had were excellent original, tasty and full of local flavour both Kate and Adrian prepare a superb meal. Even the continental breakfast is much more than you would normally expect. A trully excellent property and a level of service that would surpass any five star hotel nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvarley20...
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Varley Family”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We flew to Barcelona for a short stay, then hired a car and drove for 2 and bit hours to Ille Sur Tet and had a fantastic 2 week stay with Kate and Adrian, who were the perfect hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. Mas St. Joseph has a wonderful, peaceful atmosphere and the place itself is deceptively large - our rooms were very spacious and tastefully furnished in keeping with the history of the property. We stayed in 'The Abbot's Room' and were fascinated by the ancient door (complete with sliding hatch at the bottom) and appreciated the gorgeous views over the peach and nectarine orchards, the view frames by swathes of flowers. Our teenage daughters shared an equally lovely twin room over looking the pool and patio area, and even had the 'Canigou' room as a living area. This has a fantastic view over the mountains, however they seemed to be more appreciative of the free wifi! Breakfasts were absolutely lovely, with locally grown fresh fruit, bread and pastries from the village bakery. Kate is an excellent cook and her home-made peach and rosemary jam is amazing! We enjoyed a super meal cooked by Kate and Adrian one evening, and there is no shortage of good local restaurants, often with a view to die for. (Note: If you don't eat meat or fish you might struggle with the hearty menus in the area! ) Outside, the pool / patio area has just the right amount of sun and shade, and a handy fridge stocked with cooling drinks.The pool itself is clean and very refreshing at the end of a hot day exploring the many villages, castles and chateaux of the area. Mas St. Joseph is the perfect location for exploring 'Cathar Country' and each hilltop in the area seems to have a mediaeval village, church or fort! Outdoor enthusiasts will also enjoy the activities available nearby on the idyllic River Tet, horse riding at Montalba ( lovely horses and amazing countryside), and a visit to Les Orgues is a must. Adrian and Kate are are mine of local knowledge and gave us lots of ideas for visits or trips, and kindly loaned us some maps! Sadly, we never summoned up enough energy to take advantage of the bicycles, however there are plently of gentle walks through the orchards. There really is no shortage of things to do or places to go. Carcassonne (touristy, yes, but still an amazing place) is about 2 hours away via the scenice route through the mountains although there is also a faster link on the motorways and dual carriageways. The coast is around 30-40 minutes away. I would hope to return to the area, and next time will definitily take a trip on the 'Yellow Train' from Villefranche to travel further up the Tet Valley.
As an added bonus, we had the company of Monty and Juno, the most adorable puppies we have ever met!
All in all, this is a brilliant place for either a short or long stay, and if we could award it 6 stars we would! Just a word of advice - make sure you get directions from Kate or Adrian before you leave as none of the locals knew where it was and Google maps will just direct you to the village!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasetc...
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing