We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay, but the food was below par”
Review of Club Vista Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Vista Bahia
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay, but the food was below par”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Location: Very picturesque and out of the way, 10 minute walk to Portinatx beaches/village.

Hotel: A bit rough and ready but perfectly acceptable as long as you don't set your expectations too high. Untidy in places and some of the tiled walkways could do with more frequent cleaning. We did see staff sweeping up every day but at no point did the walkways look like they had been properly cleaned/mopped. Pools all clean and clear, no detritus etc. Many sun loungers a bit worn out and stretched. Not too much of a problem with litter, despite the behaviour of many guests in this regard. Flies quite bad around the sun loungers - if you're planning to spend any time by the pool and get annoyed by flies then I would definitely recommend taking decent repellent otherwise you'll go mad swatting them away. (NB: I don't think the flies are a consequence of any cleanliness issues, as the pool area was very clean in general with no overflowing bins etc.)

Room: Spacious, clean, comfortable, ceiling fan very quiet, good aircon (noisy but not annoyingly so - good for drowning out any night time disturbance from other guests, although this was never a serious problem while we were there). Bathroom a bit tatty, but clean. Shower good and powerful. We had almost no pressure in the basin tap which we reported but it was not fixed during our stay. Didn't see or hear any mozzies in the room but always woke up to a couple of fresh bites.

Staff: All very friendly and helpful.

Food (the bad): We're not moaners and happily eat any old rubbish, but the breakfast "bacon" and "sausages" we wouldn't feed to a stray dog. Not a word of a lie, they were like the "meat" you get in a tinned all-day breakfast, but way less edible. One sniff gave me the dry boak. The fruit juice from the dispensers needed to be watered down about 3x to make it palatable - straight from the dispenser it was like a cup of brightly coloured, off-flavour, concentrated sugar. Couldn't believe people were letting their kids guzzle the stuff. Limited options for veggies (which we're not thankfully). Not much choice and zero variety in the salads - lettuce, cucumber, tomato, beetroot and carrot every lunch and dinner. There were prepared salads set out beside the pickles, but these were invariably just some combination of the above plus rice/potatoes/mayo. The chips were soggy more often than not. Cold meats were available only at breakfast time. Paella almost completely tasteless. Some breakfast cereals (esp. corn flakes) frequently stale. Many of the main dishes were bland, which in the context of a family resort is understandable. There were plenty seasonings/condiments/pickles (including bottles of Tabasco) provided to give a bit of flavour/kick to the food for those who wanted it.

Food (the good): Fresh bread and real butter always available (pan bread and crusty rolls at breakfast, crusty rolls only at lunch/dinner), good selection of cold meats at breakfast, the yoghurt (freshly made I think) every morning was very nice, lots of fresh fruit (watermelon at lunch always lovely), pickles and olives very nice, fairly good selection of dressings, some surprisingly tasty main meals (usually of the simple roasted meat variety), fresh fish frequently on the menu and usually good quality.

In summary with the food, unless you have unreasonably high expectations, are a picky eater or are vegetarian then you'll be okay. The main problem for us was the lack of choice/variety for what is at the end of the day a fairly large hotel. We've been to smaller all-inclusive places, even off-season, where we've had much better food. Simple things like putting the cold meats out again at lunch time would go a long way towards fixing this. Also if you're an early riser and want to get up and away for the day or just out and about for a wander before it gets too hot, the breakfast start time of 8am is a bit limiting.

Oh, and watch out for that breakfast bacon turning up in the carbonara sauce at dinner time. Personally I've no problems with uneaten food being re-served/reused in sauces etc., but that carbonara was a nasty surprise!

The two drinks/one snack policy at the pool bar was still very much in operation during our visit (June/July 2012). Some staff follow the rule more doggedly than others, but usually if you speak nicely, remember your por favors and gracias, and have a "regular" order that doesn't go too far over the limit you're generally ok. I can only assume they've had problems with guests wasting food and drink around the pool in the past, however I can't help but think the two drinks/one snack rule is possibly the least logical solution they could have come up with. All cups except the morning tea/coffee cups are of the flimsy disposable variety, yuck, but it seems to be the norm these days. Big cups were only allowed for water or beer (San Miguel). Queuing wasn't a problem; the longest we had to wait to be served was a couple of minutes and the hotel seemed fairly well booked up when we were there so it's not like we lucked out and visited during a quiet spell. I suppose if you're really impatient you might have a problem with the service.

Three stars mainly because of the food. It's a subjective thing, but it is a huge part of any all-inclusive holiday. We're not choosy in the slightest but for us they didn't get it quite right. If the food was better I'd have no problem giving it four stars overall, as everything else was very good.

Room Tip: Room numbers beginning with a 2 are best for accessibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackworx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    214
    214
    137
    127
See reviews for
284
290
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I went with 2 other girls to this resort, we told our holiday company that we wanted to go to Ibiza but somewhere we could just relax, she got it bang on :-) we only had to complain about towels in our room once but everything else was okay, I saw someone wrote on here that the staff had no knowledge of English!! Had they not thought of learning a bit of spanish??? The staff in the bars clearly understood us and taught us other languages and were really friendly and helpful, the staff round about the resort were always happy and said hello/morning when we walked past them, the entertainment provided was all for children but we made our own entertainment by meeting new people and having a laugh, being 3 young girls I think people had thought we had fallen into the wrong resort but we had a fab relaxing time and we will defo go back but that's just our opinion :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelissaTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2012

do not waste your money on this hotel. the food and service were the worst we have ever experienced and the room was dirty. worse still, it was impossible to relax due to the constant noise from the terrible "animation" people who seem to think that guests need disturbing all day long with announcements, loud music and very poor quality entertainment. we went for a peaceful and relaxing holiday, we will never go back!!!

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catWSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portinatx hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Me my partner and 2 yr old son stayed here for a wk on 29/6/12 and we were pleasantly surprised having read the bad reviews I was expecting to rough it and make the best of it. Yes there is steps all over it is built on a cliff so what do you expect? We had a toddler and pushchair and we were fine just request a lower floor if possible. We had the most amazing view of the cove and our room was clean and fresh towels daily. Food was a bit hit and miss I found it fine and was quite satisfied but my partner is very fussy but if there was nothing he fancied there was always the snack bar and he liked everything on offer there. My son adored the entertainment staff and they went out of their way 2 chat 2 him. All in all you get what you pay for

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chrissy197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel needs a few big 'tweaks' then it would be so much better.
When we arrived at 4.30am we were invited to help ourselves to food and drinks before we went to our room... this was a lovely suprise.
To get to our room (916) we had to climb over 100 steep steps which towards the end of the week we felt very fit!! AMAZING VIEW at no extra cost.
We had an Ants nest in the bathroom, but once bought to the cleaners attention it was dealt with
Towels and sheets were not changed once during the week and the floor was swept once.
Food was not so good.... cold and tasteless and not a lot of choice, the chicken was always pink and uncooked so be careful!!
Every receptionist we came across were grumpy and did not want to be there.... think they need to be trained on how to smile and to be polite.
The entertainment team were the highlight of the holiday as they were always happy and full of energy but you could tell they were not given much scope to do decent shows at night.
Spend money and sort your staff out then the hotel would be a much nicer place, but from my experience I would not go back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbles880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.9 km away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
1.2 km away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
1.0 km away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sant Joan de Labritja
1,180 reviews
6.6 km away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
876 reviews
0.7 km away
La Ciguena
La Ciguena
#5 of 9 in Portinatx
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Vista Bahia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Vista Bahia

Property: Club Vista Bahia
Address: Carretera Portinatx s/n | Cala Xarraca, 07810 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Vista Bahia 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club vista Bahia is the ideal hotel to enjoy pleasant and relaxing holidays. We underline its location by the sea on the beautiful steep. This environment allows guests to enjoy the sounds of nature, impressive sunsent and pleasant walking. Located in the beach Cala Xarraca de Portinatx at 29 km from Ibiza city centre, the ideal place to enjoy the tranquility of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Vista Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Vista Bahia Hotel Portinatx
Hotel Vista Bahia
Vista Bahia Hotel
Club Vista Bahia Ibiza
Club Vista Bahia Portinatx, Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing