We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
356
31
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
31
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river hot tub horseback riding wood fire family style costa rica toucan cabin rice and beans rio celeste rustic cabin every meal exotic birds slow down smoked pork the kitchen staff howler monkeys gorgeous grounds
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent place to visit. We stayed for 4 days and enjoyed the place. Very good food and lovely lodge. Worth a stay of several days. The family owner is very nice and very opened to help
It is a magical place where nothing should change...
Antoine and his family

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

we stayed at Carolina lodge for 3 days and we were sad to leave. it is an amazing place in the middle of the jungle. there's is very good service and the houses are beautiful. event though it rained alot, because we went there in the rainy season, we still had a wonderfull time there. there is alot to do, from horseback riding through the jungle, to relaxing in the hot tub. we highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brecht3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We stayed at Carolina for two nights at the end of our vacation. We found ourselves wishing that we had more time, and that we had brought our kids to experience this wonderful farm. We stayed in the Toucan cabin which was right along the river. I found the rush of the water to be very relaxing, although my wife felt it was kind of a loud drone. Our cabin was indeed rustic, but very clean. We relaxed in the wood fired hot tub in the back of our cabin. Very nice! The food at the farm was amazing! Simple, all natural, and very tasty. We looked forward to our three meals per day. Our foodie kids would have loved this. No English was spoken on the farm, but somehow, we got by. It became a challenge to learn what it was that they were cooking because it all tasted so great! Alejandro was an excellent tour guide of our trip to Rio Celeste. He also took us horse back riding on the farm, and did an excellent job with two newbies. And all of the kitchen staff were really nice people! We would return here some day in the future. A wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Toucan is close to the water, and that can be loud for some or relaxing for others.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We couldn't have enjoyed our stay at La Carolina more. This place is truly excellent. My wife and I stayed in the cabin with the private hot tub and it was incredibly relaxing and peaceful. The three meals everyday were delicious and we enjoyed the different juices. All the staff and the owners were fantastic and super helpful. We would love to go back!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We had just left the Arenal Volcano area and found ourselves led, by our superlative guide Orlando Vargas, to La Carolina Lodge. To tell the truth, on the way up, I had my doubts that this was going to be "special." I was wrong. As you enter the property you are being drawn into the rural farming, Costa Rican experience. Rustic, remote, and enchanting. It is a communal experience of tourists, ranch hands, cooks, all genuine people making a sublime country experience for us. Sublime, simple, back to nature experience. Tucans, parrots, parakeets, horses, pigs, cows, sloths, butterflies and the elusive, and the mystical appearances of the Morpho butterfly. Absolute must stay. Candles after dark and 3 heavenly meals a day.

Room Tip: All cabins are rustic, charming and the river will lull you to sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JackBJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews