We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura vida La Carolina Lodge, highly recommended ”
Review of La Carolina Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bijagua de Upala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Carolina Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Only to describe LA Carolina lodge in a few words: it's unbelievable and really awesome!!

The guys are soo friendly and it was the best place in Costa Rica! That is Pura vida.:-)
It is absolutely recommended and if you like you can go to the Rio Celeste or a beautiful horseriding.
Also you have a Yakuzi and the nature pool is awesome. :-)
You will absolutely enjoy it when you loves the nature and silence :-)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank feeby-fanbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent place to visit. We stayed for 4 days and enjoyed the place. Very good food and lovely lodge. Worth a stay of several days. The family owner is very nice and very opened to help
It is a magical place where nothing should change...
Antoine and his family

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

we stayed at Carolina lodge for 3 days and we were sad to leave. it is an amazing place in the middle of the jungle. there's is very good service and the houses are beautiful. event though it rained alot, because we went there in the rainy season, we still had a wonderfull time there. there is alot to do, from horseback riding through the jungle, to relaxing in the hot tub. we highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brecht3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We stayed at Carolina for two nights at the end of our vacation. We found ourselves wishing that we had more time, and that we had brought our kids to experience this wonderful farm. We stayed in the Toucan cabin which was right along the river. I found the rush of the water to be very relaxing, although my wife felt it was kind of a loud drone. Our cabin was indeed rustic, but very clean. We relaxed in the wood fired hot tub in the back of our cabin. Very nice! The food at the farm was amazing! Simple, all natural, and very tasty. We looked forward to our three meals per day. Our foodie kids would have loved this. No English was spoken on the farm, but somehow, we got by. It became a challenge to learn what it was that they were cooking because it all tasted so great! Alejandro was an excellent tour guide of our trip to Rio Celeste. He also took us horse back riding on the farm, and did an excellent job with two newbies. And all of the kitchen staff were really nice people! We would return here some day in the future. A wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Toucan is close to the water, and that can be loud for some or relaxing for others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

We couldn't have enjoyed our stay at La Carolina more. This place is truly excellent. My wife and I stayed in the cabin with the private hot tub and it was incredibly relaxing and peaceful. The three meals everyday were delicious and we enjoyed the different juices. All the staff and the owners were fantastic and super helpful. We would love to go back!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
5.2 km away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
714 reviews
6.8 km away
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
99 reviews
5 km away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
327 reviews
6.6 km away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
552 reviews
8 km away
Finca Verde Lodge
Finca Verde Lodge
#2 of 11 in Bijagua de Upala
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Carolina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Carolina Lodge

Address: San Miguel | Bijagua, Bijagua de Upala 21301, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range: ₹ 7,070 - ₹ 8,356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Carolina Hotel Province Of Guanacaste
Hotel La Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing