We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER EXCELLENT HOLIDAY IN CUBA...:))”
Review of Sol Cayo Guillermo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I am a little bit tardy with my review for this resort, however, since we have just booked another trip for April 2013 in the Cayo Coco area, my thoughts rolled back to our stay at the Sol Cayo Guillermo in October of 2012.

Again, after reading so many negative reviews, my wife and I rolled our eyes and had a chuckle. Not saying that some people may not have bad experiences, but most of the complaints on reviews are unfounded. At least in our regards, the Sol Cayo Guillermo was superb and went beyond our expectations. Friendly staff, clean resort, great food, great service and the beautiful beautiful beach.

We had requested a ground floor room and were told that they would try their best. And really, its all they can do...their best. To our pleasant surprise, we were taken to room 401 a side by side bungalow...and the view from our patio was super!! 30 sec walk to the beach..what a view...Again, the staff had gone above and beyond. The staff at the buffet....man oh man....so nice, always willing to make you smile and make your stay very pleasant. Marilin was one of our waitresses, and was top notch....ready with the OJ and the coffee as we walked in for breakfast in the morning..sure do miss her....

At the pool.....plenty of chairs, huts,....and you have to go and see Miguel..makes the best churros. What a nice guy....all round gentelman. Hope his mom's leg is doing better. As far as management...I forgot his name...but could be seen everywhere making sure things were operating smoothly.

The grounds.....really nothing to say ...but how can anyone say something negative about paradise...from our landing at Jardines del Rey Airport to our arrival at the Sol Cayo Guillermo...our stay was 100%.....only negative.....Having to come back home....:)) Would we recommend the Sol Cayo Guillermo.....YOU BET...and would go back in a flash.....ENJOY!!....

Room Tip: If you like the sound of the ocean at night when your relaxing on your patio, if you like the view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Antonio R, Director of Sales at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Customer

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it! we love enjoy having feedback from our clients, We hope to see you soon to Welcome you one more time,

Have a Lovely Day!

Best Regards / Nelido Casay / Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,707 of 4,067 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

Spent a well deserved week off with my wife 04/01/2013. Our room was on the first floor with a high ceiling (107) which was a short walk from the main complex, but a stones throw away from the beach.
Food was ok as was the alcohol, some of the evening entertainment was a bit random (funny).
Lots of people brought their own thermos flasks, I didn't, wish I had but it wasn't a problem just got a few extra drinks to keep us going.
Cleaners & gardeners did a good job keeping the place spick & span.
Weather was good, rained twice in the early hours of the morning so it didn't effect our holiday.
Sand flies didn't bother us either.
All in all it was a good winter break in the sun.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wifen2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little tired but this to me just added character! Our room was functional and clean. the maids work very hard as does everyone here. The shower was always hot and the water pressure was good. We used a jungle formula plug in from the moment we arrived and did not see 1 bug of any discription, neither did we get bit in the room.

Speaking of bugs we had a few sand fly bites and 3 mosquito bites to whole fortnight!! Yes they itch but if you go prepared with anti hestemine tablets and creams you will survive its a tini price to pay to visit paradise ;)

The beach is stunning and the pictures don't do it justice. Plenty of beds always available and there are little food and drink shacks along the beach side of the resort. The beach is cleaned every morning and the ranchon restaurant is a beautiful place for lunch.

The pool area is spacious with plenty of beds, and the staff will get extra ones out if you can't find any.

This is such a comfortable easy layed out resort that we had no reasons to try to glue our 10 year old to our hip.

The food is good here and anyone that says its repetitive is being honest BECAUSE they have everything EVERYDAY!!!
IT'S UP TO YOU TO CHOOSE YOUR COMBINATION!!
Use the buffet as your kitchen, don't complain there are no sandwiches in the buffet, every ingredient is there ready and prepared for you to plate up and make your own!! And the staff will do anything for you!

We used the cubatour guy in the lobby for the dolphin tour cost of 74peso for me and daughter, great experience and spent longer with the dolphins than those that paid double to do tricks with them!!

Also the horse riding was great, if you've ridden before its great. For those who haven't try to use correct posture or will suffer with saddle sores as many did.

All the staff are warm and welcoming but to top it off they were all brilliant with our 10 year old girl. The people really do make this place and all the visitors pick up on this and socialise well with each other too.

Yes they run out of minor items, straws, ketchup and mojito mint. But honestly SO WHAT who needs that anyways!
The service is 5* nothing is to much to ask and after specifying for instance "tea with cold milk please" it was offered that way EVERYTIME!!! I've been to many so called 5* and yes they were shiney and new but the service was no where near close to the amazing service you get here.

Would we go back?? generally the answer would be no as we have so much more of the world to see!!!
HOWEVER this is one place we can't wait to return to ;)


  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Beautifullycrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for all your nice comments and for recommending our hotel to other tripadvisor readers.

I am also glad to read that you had an enjoyable holiday and that you would definitely return to our hotel.

If that´s the case please do not hesitate to contact us in order to take personal care of your reservation and make sure you will receive all the ad values that as returning guest you are entitle to.

Sincerely,
Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Transat .on time and very professional.
Arrival at resort was a blow out..Eight couples First ones in front of us were not given their keys.
We were not given the room we requested,even though we had our email sent out two weeks prior.
Given no keys , no safe key ,no towel key and a door that was wooden and blasted by the wind and sand would not open to our room (1128)beware there are many bitng fllies out that end(lagoon) Friends we met were further away then us and she had to get a shot and special creme as the welled up on her skin.I am still waking up to new ones everyday.Another woman was totally covered,except for her face.
We were given another room ,right next to the entertainment,lots of noise most of the time but made the best of it.

Found the pool a little small compared to the other hotels on this stretch.
Beach is still as gorgeous and clean as ever.Make the effort to go to the shell beach to the left of the resort.
Hubbie did catch some fish off the end of the rocks close to the shell beach.
Donut guy is still there and very busy
We found the food to be fresh and delic.
Wierd on night before leaving one of our dinners.the waiter asked us if we would like to enjoy a lobster dinner for twenty dollars,agreed we go in the next eve.they are grilling beautiful lobster for free so of course we think he has made a mistake and really enjoyed our free lobster,just about to leave and he brings out this lobster dinner not near as good as ours and says we have to pay twenty..Why would he offer this on the same night it is free> Just a little heads up; needless to say we had one bite and then left .I heard one man speaking french to him in a loud voice and then a f bombs...I guess he must of been on the list:) We felt they need it so we left it anyways.(money)

Service was a ten.
Coffee also a ten
Drinks and beer a ten.
Buggy guy is still doing weddings.
Enjoyed a ride with him to the causway and did some fishing,miss the locals fishing there now)not allowed????
p.s. one waiter behind the beach restaurant gets a little upset if you don't leave tips,kinda of crusty...Love the chef just outside there.
Great weather most days lots of wind..Go Enjoy

Room Tip: Away from the lagoons.805 is right beside the entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned back from a 1 week stay. The complex is picturesque to say the least and provided a magical atmosphere for a wonderful holiday. There is so much to do while your there but at the same time you'd never feel guilty just sitting on the beach and staring at the mesmerizing turquoise shades of the sea.

The view from most areas of the complex was amazing. We found we'd been upgraded on arrival to a sea view room with king-size bed, our balcony over looked the white sandy beach which was sprinkled with palm trees and the crystal clear waters of the ocean. The grounds of the hotel are well maintained always clean, inc toilets and the communal areas.

The food was always varied in the main buffet restaurant which had your usual buffet and then 3 additional stations with chefs to prepare you fresh fish/meat while you waited. One night we waited whilst one of the chefs bbq'd us fresh lobster for no extra charge. For lunch i'd recommend the restaurant on the beach as it has the best views and there was often fresh meat on a BBQ alongside the restaurant if you wanted to stay on the beach.

The service was great, 99% of the staff would do anything to help you and the night time entertainment whilst a little cheesey was fun to watch (although I don't think my boyfriend agreed when I made him watch the Disney dancing medley). Then if you want to stay up later their night club opens around 11pm till 2am which is just a short walk away so can't be heard from the complex but is included in the all inclusive deal.

The only problem I encountered was the sand flies on the beach, I never usually get bit so didn't have and mosquito repellent, which wasn't great when the wind died as I got bitten loads but you could never see the flies.

I'd recommend the excursions through Thomas Cook, we went on the 'Caribbean Cruise' on the Catamaran and then the speedboats another day which were both fantastic. Both trips you can go snorkeling and that had to be a highlight for me as the variety and colour of all the different species of fish we saw was unreal! Cuban tours in the hotel also offer excursions and some are a bit cheaper so i'd look at both, they tend to be the same thing anyway!

If I had one issue with the hotel if would be that there are a lot of Canadians who appeared to have only one musical request everywhere they went, Celine Dion, not a fan myself haha!

Over all it was a fantastic hotel and I'd recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jade_Frederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Jade,
Thank you very much for your comments, we sincerely consider them very useful for our job. We have found a lot of opportunities for improvements. Every client´s comments is very important for us and that is why we thank you once again. It is nice to know that you had an overall lovely relaxing holiday. Hope to meet you here next time.
Sincerely,
Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Guillermo
1.3 km away
Iberostar Daiquiri
Iberostar Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,049 reviews
0.7 km away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,416 reviews
31.2 km away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo
#5 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
590 reviews
29.6 km away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,992 reviews
31.5 km away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Guillermo

Address: Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Guillermo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range: ₹ 6,527 - ₹ 17,364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Guillermo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star all inclusive resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo, Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons. 268 Rooms: 135 standard, 96 standard ocean view, 37 superior standard, 3 dining restaurants (buffet), 4 bars. An incredible natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Melia Hotels APAC and Booking.com so you can book your Sol Cayo Guillermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Sol Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Sol Hotel
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing