We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
973 results
Traveller rating
308
417
182
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
417
182
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sporting pig continental breakfast dover beach budget hotel the gap a pool view room air con playing field nice pool area beach towels every other day the hotel is clean tea coffee an update reception staff bliss cafe bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
703 - 708 of 973 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2014

We landed here as part of a cheap package including an upgrade to one of the better rooms upstairs. A certain tattiness added to the charm and it's close to the beautiful Dover Beach. I don't know where the life and action at St Lawrence was supposed to be. There's just a few expensive restaurants and the odd bar.

Breakfast was 'continental' (sort of) and could be upgraded to full English which wasn't too good. Toast may or my not appear.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DickTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, not by choice so much, as it came in a very inexpensive Vacation Package from Air Canada. We couldn't pass up the amazing price, so decided to head to Barbados for a week.
We really didn't know what to expect and had our fingers crossed all the way from the airport to the hotel.
Well, let me start by saying, this is no luxury hotel, by any means. It is vary basic and is not right on the beach, but is a 20 second walk to Dover Beach, one of the prettiest beaches on Barbados.
The check-in staff (Pierre) was lovely and very friendly. We were on the 2nd floor (Room 230) of this 3-storey hotel and there are no elevators, so expect to climb some stairs.
The room was clean and big by most standards. Again, very basic. Yes, the curtains and bedspreads were outdated, but clean, so we were okay with that.
The rooms had a nice balcony with a table and 2 chairs and overlooked Dover Field, in which we could watch soccer and cricket practices. Not everyone's cup of tea, but we didn't mind at all.
Okay, here's the fun part! We had twin beds!! Haha, yes, twin beds! Not even a double. Ok, we thought, let's see if there is a king suite available and we'll pay the $30 Barbados ($15 US) extra per night. The lovely Pierre told us there were none available for 5 days, so we originally thought we would spend our last 2 nights in a king bed, at least. Well, two twin beds pushed together ended up being just fine...we didn't bother moving.
Keep in mind, our expectations were low, given the amazing price of this package ($600 for 7 nights including airfare from Toronto...it just does not get any cheaper than that!).
Oh yes, they make your room up every day, but only change the sheets every 3 days. You also use your bath towels for 2 days and beach towels are available at the front desk every 2 days as well. I think that is perfectly acceptable and it worked out well for us.
All in all, we had an amazing 7 days in Paradise enjoying the beaches, the people, the music, the restaurants, the snorkeling, the surf and the sun. We were in our room less than we were out of it and I would take the opportunity again if given the chance.
Oh yes, the location in terms of restaurants is fabulous! A short 5 minute walk gives you a choice of dozens of great places to eat and drink. If you go, try The Harlequin for dinner, Hal's for fun karaoke til the wee hours and Bliss for the best Americano and breakfast on the island!
Also a 15 minute bus ride to Bridgetown if you want to shop and a 20 minute taxi ride to the airport...you can't beat the location!
Have fun at Time Out and remember, it's all in the attitude! Have fun!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank cyclingnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014

The hotel is in a great location close to a fabulous beach and local amenities. We stayed on a B & B basis allowing us the opportunity to sample the restaurants and bars in the locality, which gives a good impression of the country and people rather than a sanitised view from an all inclusive stay. The hotel facilities were in the main good, with a nice quiet pool area. The hotel is showing its age and is probably due a refurbishment as it is looking a bit tired, but nonetheless clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate.
The hotel reception, housekeeping and maintenance staff were very helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough for you and made us feel welcome and appreciated. Unfortunately this can't be said for the bar and restaurant staff and the food, they were surly, curt, everything seemed a burden even simple requests, tables were left uncleared, spill ages left where they were with staff kicking and stepping over anything on the floor rather than clearing it up. The breakfast was a disgrace - one soggy croissant or muffin, maybe some half cooked toast, strawberry jam and an apple or banana. In fairness you could buy a cooked breakfast which looked anaemic and stale - this was not a cheap option.
Did we enjoy our stay? Yes but better on a room only basis unless less something dramatic happens in the catering section.
Overall excellent value for money with the aforementioned provisos.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room, the others facing the roads can be noisy
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank neil1342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2014

This place was great for our night before the cruise. It is halfway from airport to cruise terminal. It was clean , good air conditioning , great staff. The bar was great for Friday night with Happy Hour from 5 to 9 pm. You could get your choice of 3 beers, 3 bar drinks for $10 Barbados (that is $5 USD) and across the street from Dover Beach where there is a great restaurant on the beach called Johnny Cools with good Jerked pork and chicken at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: if staying on the weekend and you wish to go to bed early don't stay in rooms with view of soccer field and the place loud music till 11 pm
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Marty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Stayed here for a week in December 2014. Hotel staff very friendly but breakfast a bit hit and miss on some days. Order toast when first entering breakfast room, for it to arrive in time with the rest of your breakfast. Our fridge broke and a new one was delivered to our room promptly.

The pool is lovely to swim in but more parasols to use whilst on a sun bed would be useful.

The aircon works very well in room 308.

The Sporting Pig, attached to the hotel, which is where meals are taken holds a quiz on Tuesday evenings, this appeared to be supported by locals also.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms overlook the pool, even numbered ones the road.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Nan2272252117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews