We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
13
49
72
69
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
49
72
69
55
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We stayed here for two nights in July 2015 and payed 45€ per night as an average.

The hotel has a large parking area which was good for us since we had just arrived by the ferry to Bastia. Staff was friendly upon arrival and we were given a double room facing the mountains.

Room was an average double room in terms of size and the air conditioning was working well. The wi-fi, on the other hand, was not. We did not get a signal in our room.

Beds, bathroom and the rest of the room was like the average hotel room. Nothing fancy, nothing broken. It is not a trendy hotel, its a bit worn out, but everything is clean and fresh.

The hotel has a pool but we never used it because it was right outside of the hotel where a lot of people were passing and sitting down for a drink or food (both during the day and the evening).

We used this hotel as a starting point for driving around Cap Corse, and it suited us well. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a cheap stay in Saint Florent.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iafiawik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

A quiet and pleasant terrace, nicely prepared food and welcoming restaurant staff are the only redeeming features of this sad, decaying place. Money is saved everywhere apart from the guest's bills. Air conditioning either not working or freezing, suspicious carpets, unfriendly desk staff, one does not even feel welcome

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Phileas_Fogg_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not that cheap. 88 euro for a mountain view room is not cheap for my budget. Breakfast is not included. Breakfast is ok. You can get unlimited eggs, just ask the lady. I dont like leaving a bad review cause the staff was very friendly to us. This hotel needs renovation. Dirty sheets, black hairs everywhere (cleaners?) And no wifi in the room. That is very much like going back to 2002. Hotel looks like it has not been renovated since late 70s.

However try to find a hotel in saint florent for 88 euros. Impossible.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank gerardamsterdamnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family for a one night stop over before moving on to Ajaccio. Lucky our stay lasted just one night as the place is such in a poor state of maintenance and level of service so poor.

The room had a TV (fixed to the wall at an abnormal high level), minimal lighting and a rather patched up bathroom with the lighting switch protruding in the door frame.

Only positive points - good Air-conditioning and parking facilities.

The place is in need of major refurbishment - but it seems that the owners only interest is to patch up the place and get it running in time for summer !

St Florent is such a pretty place but if you do plan to stay at this location and at a decent hotel - ensure that you book well in advance. Certainly avoid Madame Mere !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saydon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

If you’ve ever wondered what the primordial soup from which the first life on Earth crawled billions of years ago then look no further than the pool at the Madame Mere Hotel, St Florent. This pool is not only a health hazard for the town of St Florent but probably the whole of Corsica as well. But seriously though folks, there is no excuse for a pool so thick with green algae that you can’t see the bottom, no excuse also for broken and missing tiles around the edge of the pool.
Inside too, things are not much better, my room smelt damp and musty and bathroom wasn’t particularly clean – I don’t mind older hotels being a bit tired and frayed at the edges but there is no excuse for any hotel not being properly aired and cleaned.
The food for my evening meal in the restaurant was edible but I suspect had made its way to the table via the freezer and the microwave. The rude and unhelpful staff wouldn’t sell me a glass of red wine; it was a choice of buy a bottle from them or do without. At breakfast there was milk but no cereal and the croissants were probably overcooked bakery rejects that had been fresh sometime earlier that week.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mirkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews