We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serene and comfortable place to stay away from...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stia, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Daydream2...
1 review
“Serene and comfortable place to stay away from hustle and bustle”
Reviewed 7 November 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Casa Scaletta is part of a hamlet that surrounds Castello di Porciano that overlooks a stunning valley of farms. It is a roomy and comfortable cottage that is made for relaxation and well-equipped for cooking. The owner and the property manager couldn't be more accommodating and helpful. It's a great spot for hiking and for exploring the countryside. The fabulously castle has a three-floor museum that is fascinating to explore.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zeldafs
San Jose, California
1 review
“Fairytale lodging in a pastoral Tuscan dreamscape”
Reviewed 22 August 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Not a day has passed since our stay Castello di Porciano when I haven't traveled back there in my mind to relive the tranquility and romance of that time. And I was there with 4 children so that I could find anything tranquil and romantic under those conditions says a lot.

The cottage was devastatingly charming, spacious and immaculately clean. Early risers, avid readers, catnappers and harried moms: you will especially enjoy the hideaway off the master bedroom with views of the Tuscan countryside and a door. The laundry was such a welcome amenity for our large family. The kitchen was well equipped and Fede had it stocked with thoughtful amenities to get us through until we could shop in town. And what a treat that was. Bakeries in hidden alleys, the most outrageously sweet fruit, meats and cheese to make you weep. The restaurants served some of our favorite meals of all time and the people are so kind and patient with even the most horrible Italian (mine).

Martha is welcoming and warm and provides fascinating historical perspective on the region, the town of Stia and the Castello. Fede is also very knowledgable about local history and is an excellent guide to the area. We wanted for simply nothing while we were there.

The grounds and the castle are the icing on this delicious cake. Flowers and trees burst with colors and catch every breeze. The views of the Tuscan countryside are every photo you've ever seen writ large. The castle tour is fascinating and transporting. And speaking of views, the one from the top of the castle will never, ever leave you. It will be your best souvenir.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2018
Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure meeting you, hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerewelsh
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
“Lovely setting and beautiful vistas.Casa Scaletta was perfect for the three of us.”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The cottage at Porciano,just outside of Stia, was a great place to stay to unwind after two weeks in Rome and Florence. Great place to take day trips from.In Arrezzo we visited Basilica San Francesco, to see the Piero della Francesca frescos in the Cappella Bacci. In the area of Porciano and Stia there are many very good reataurants. La Rana,Pizzeria da Vincenzo, Osteria Crananbar,Osteria Toscana Twist, and the Gelato store on the Piazza of Stia. A good place to just sit and have your gelato. Our host was very helpful with places to visit and a good guide to Restaurants. Stia has good shops for food; such as a butcher and a general store. Frances is a very good barber.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in July 2014

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mariella...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.