We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you think is luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monaci delle Terre Nere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

If you want comfortable bed, tasty food and nicely appointed rooms with views of Etna and groves of olives, vines and citrus in a luxury farm this is a good choice.

But if you want good service, professional staff, comfortable and easy accommodation then look elsewhere

Our room was 200m from the main house and my wife resorted to walking in flat shoes before changing at the main house for dinner. You risk a twisted ankle returning in the dark

We had two dinners, both were excellent but the menu is very limited and does not change

Our starters took over 60 minutes and I think the mark of a good hotel is how they deal with problems

Ours was a shrug, we are busy....

The pool was tired and the lining was disintegrating and pool service was also slow

I'm a fan of the slow food movement but it doesn't mean slow service

Finally to top it all breakfast was accompanied by begging cats

This might be luxury if you are in your 30s want organic, wine and vine break but for a seasoned traveller in my 60s it just fell short in so many ways





Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Oldnotwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaci delle T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share the review of your recent experience at Monaci delle Terre Nere on Tripadvisor.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed our beautiful estate with panoramic views of Mount Etna and Mediterean sea, the rooms and sleeping quality. It was a pleasure to learn that you appreciated the food and organic products from our farm at the Restaurant.

We are very sorry that some aspects of your stay have not let you enjoy your experience fully.
Let us mention that Monaci delle Terre Nere is a Country Boutique Hotel. We are proud of our 25-hectars estate with the olive and citrus groves, vineyards and woods which are perfect for long nice walks, reconnecting with nature and returning peace to your mind and soul.

Our most beautiful Suites Dependence are scattered around the property, which allow our guests plenty of privacy, tranquillity and breathtaking views. However we love to make sure that our guests are comfortable. All of the rooms have a private parking nearby and may be accessed by cars, moreover Reception staff is always happy to pick-up guests with the golf car.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience at the Restaurant. We understand the importance of professional and well-paced service. Your comments are highly valuable to us on our strive to perfection. We are very sorry that the issue was not resolved even after you mentioned it to our staff. We will make sure that all of our Team understands the importance of guests’ feedback and that difficulties are resolved in the right way.

We would also like to notice that our menu offers a choice of 3 tasting menus as well as 4-5 options for starters, first courses, second courses and desserts. It is a pity you have probably missed our daily menu which offers new inspirations from our Chef and is changed every day.

As for the swimming pool, we have just refurnished it last year. Probably something went wrong for our supplier and the beautifully done surface has started losing lining. However the sanitary conditions of the pool are absolutely secure.

We would like to thank you for your comments once more. We will make sure the issues you mentioned will be resolved shortly and we sincerely hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Monaci and share our improvements, reached also thanks to your feedback.

Please let us know should you have a chance to come back to Sicily. We will be delighted to assign the most suitable accommodation based on your preferences and assure our best service and hospitality to you.

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

This is definitely one of the prettier places I've stayed in Italy: the grounds are on a high slope, and comprise orchards, vineyards, an infinity pool with a multi-layer surrounding oudoor lounging and bar area, and a breakfast area up a steep flight of steps that enjoys a beautiful view of the sea and the surrounding countryside. My experience at dinner was the same as noted in some reviews: while the selections all sounded fantastic, and used local and organic ingredients, I found the courses rather hit or miss. I had a risotto with yogurt, citrus and vanilla that was almost sweet enough to be a dessert, and my fish with sea greens was composed of ingredients that I thought didn't quite work together. I was in Room 2, which was just below the main path, and I heard voices walking outside at night, as well as the couple in the room just on the other side of the wall. The location high up in the hills off of winding roads might not make it a great choice for day trips, but it's certainly a nice place to relax and enjoy the beautiful countryside for a day or two.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mrsirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaci delle T, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Mr Sirin,

thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in Monaci delle Terre Nere on Tripadvisor.

We are happy that the beauty of our estate has conquered your heart as well. We are also enchanted by the spectacular views of our surroundings and worship the generous nature with its gifts on which our cuisine is based.

We are sorry that some of the taste combinations were not up to your expectations. We have had many positive feedback from other guests on the same dishes you mentioned, however we would like to underline that our menu is based on the seasonal products and thus varies very often depending on the freshest vegetables and fruit that our organic garden offers.

We highly appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our Chef that will certainly take it in consideration for his future dishes.

Thank you once more for your kind comments. We do hope that you will come back to our charming Country Boutique Hotel to relax in the peaceful revitilizing eco-bio resort.

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

What can I say about Monaci delle Terre Nere to do it justice? My wife and I absolutely adore this place - we have visited on several occasions and, without fail, we are blown away by the idyllic scenery, delicious food, fantastic wine and the amazing staff who always make you feel so welcome. Our love of Monaci resulted in us asking Ada and Guido if they would do us the honour of letting us hold our wedding in their beautiful grounds and it was truly the best decision we ever made!!
Whether you visit in the heat of summer where you can relax in absolute tranquility by the beautiful pool or you visit in winter and you can curl up with a glass of locally produced red wine and a good book next to a crackling fire, a stay at Monaci will leave you fully refreshed and never wanting to leave.
We have stayed in a range of the rooms provided and each has been perfect, beautifully decorated and exactly as the pictures on their website show. Some of the rooms are a short walk from the main house but the staff are more than happy to come pick you up in a golf buggy (quite the entrance to our wedding!!)
Regardless of when we have visited, the one constant has been the quality of the food and eating your meal on the beautiful terrace as the sun sets is always a highlight of the trip. However, I must say, the addition of Monaci's new head chef has taken the food to a whole new level. I can genuinely say that the food at our wedding surpassed all of our expectations and it truly is some of the best food we have ever tasted anwhere in the world. I would highly recommend the nebrodi pork and, if you can persuade the chef, the cannoli will be the best you have ever tasted!! The one downside of the food is that it's so good you won't want to venture far from the hotel!

Whenever we leave Monaci delle Terre Nere, our first thought is "when can we come back?" and I can guarantee it won't be long before we are back for another stay. A truly magical place that combines the tradition and beauty of the area with the serenity of a boutique retreat!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sambrookt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Mr Sambrook,

Thank you for choosing Monaci delle Terre Nere as your wedding location!

We were delighted to learn that our staff has managed to make your special occasion enjoyable and memorable. It was a pleasure having your party as our guests.

We are glad that you enjoyed our room facilities, atmosphere and our natural wine. We appreciate your kind words on our Restaurant. Our Team will be highly encouraged and motivated by your feedback.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back to Monaci!

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed at Monaci for a wedding weekend in June. We were stunned by the beautiful surroundings and very impressed by the food and helpful staff. The pool area was peaceful and served lovely food and drinks - special mention to Alberto for his cocktail making skills! We particularly loved the focus on organic produce and local wine and the interesting flavour combinations created by the chef. The rooms were decorated beautifully and had stunning views. This was certainly the best hotel we have every stayed in and we will definitely be returning in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChessArtini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear ChessArtini,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience at Monaci delle Terre Nere on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our rooms, surroundings and dinner at our Restaurant "Locanda Nerello". It was a pleasure reading your nice comments on our cuisine based on organic products and the service.

We are really glad that Alberto has managed to make your stay extra special. He will certainly be pleased to hear your feedback. We would like to let you know that we have a new Cocktail Class experience with Alberto and his Sicilian stories! Just one more reason to come back, right?

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Monaci in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

If you want a truly luxurious and memorable break away, THIS is the place to be.
We were honoured to be there as a guest for a family wedding & then stayed on for a few more nights. Our room was perfect - surrounded by beds of lavender & a view over the sea. It was so quiet at night that I had 5 amazing nights sleep. The staff were ALL wonderful. They spoke fluent English & couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
Eating each meal outside is a treat & the quality of the food (& delic. wines) at Manaci is first class - especially as so much is grown on site or nearby (did I mention how delic. the wines are & wine specialist was so knowledgeable!)
If I was to marry again, then I would seriously consider Monaci - it really was truly magical - it brings a huge smile to my face remembering such a special weekend.
I honestly wouldn't change a moment of my stay & hope that I will be treated to another few nights there in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lou27John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the warm feedback on your stay at Monaci delle Terre Nere.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our estate, room (and its sleepting quality) as well as our service. Your nice comments on our Restaurant mean a lot to us, as they show that we are moving in the right direction on our strive to perfection.

Thank you for your kind about our staff. Having your party here at Monaci was delightful for all of us.

We do hope to welcome you back to Monaci shortly. I will be glad to take care of your reservation personally, should you wish to contact me when you know the exact dates.

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zafferana Etnea
2 km away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
908 reviews
17.1 km away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
418 reviews
7.7 km away
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
#1 of 1 in Santa Tecla
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Etna Hotel
Etna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giarre
354 reviews
3.4 km away
Antico Borgo Petralia
Antico Borgo Petralia
#2 of 9 in Zafferana Etnea
153 reviews
2.9 km away
Fermata Spuligni
Fermata Spuligni
#11 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaci delle Terre Nere? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaci delle Terre Nere

Address: Via Monaci snc, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Zafferana Etnea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Zafferana Etnea
Price Range: ₹ 9,063 - ₹ 32,716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaci delle Terre Nere 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2007, by chance, I stumbled upon this place, fell in love with it and decided to devote my life to its resurrection.To bring this place, previously chosen by the monks of Saint Anna’s order for his special energy and extraordinary charm, back to life. It has become the second great project of my life. The estate Monaci delle Terre Nere is situated along the slopes of Mount Etna, the biggest volcano in Europe on the border of the Etna National Park at 500mt above sea level. My wish has been to preserve the historic identity and local traditions, more than a Boutique Hotel it is a home which I hope retains its intimacy. The house which dates from 1800 is listed as one of historical importance. It is now a place where traditional Sicilian Architecture is combined with contemporary art and living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Monaci delle Terre Nere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing