We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
B&B Sicilia in Miniatura(Zafferana Etnea)(Great Value!)
US$ 57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Airone Wellness Hotel(Zafferana Etnea)
US$ 114
US$ 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Esperia Palace(Zafferana Etnea)
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Primavera Dell'Etna(Zafferana Etnea)
US$ 56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 58% below average rates

The price you found is 58% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cartoline dall'Etna B&B(Zafferana Etnea)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B A Casa di GiuGio(Zafferana Etnea)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 80
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Ginestra dell'Etna Bed and Breakfast(Zafferana Etnea)(Great Value!)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Etna GloB&B(Zafferana Etnea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antico Borgo Petralia(Zafferana Etnea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
284
75
45
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
75
45
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingfruit treesbreadmount etnaslow foodworking farminfinity poolbeautiful propertywine tastingboutique hotelhigh endyogurtend of the daybefore dinnerpastacatania airportorganic produce
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We don't normally spend this much on a room for a night, but Monaci is absolutely worth it. We wedged it between four nights in Rome and six more in Sicily. It's a great way to take a breathe during a vacation and really relax.
The resort is a beautifully restored farmhouse surrounded by 60 acres of farmland, where they grow olives, grapes, fruit and vegetables. There is also a small, but beautifully cared for herb garden.
You really can have a perfect day here. Breakfast is served overlooking the landscape and sea. Walking the grounds is a good workout and absolutely lovely. the restaurant serves immaculate meals and great wines.
We did a wine tasting and learned a few things about Sicilian wines. I also had a massage, which was very relaxing, if a little non traditional.
I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to truly relax. The details are perfect. Sitting by the (unheated) pool is a great way to relax and enjoy the view.
If you're visiting Sicily, try and include a few nights at this resort. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a room slightly away from the resort. The views are spectacular (both during the day and night).
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Greg154954,

Thank you for your recent stay and the review shared with us on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you appreciated our resort, organic garden and breakfast with a lovely view over landscape and the sea.

Thank you for your nice words on our Restaurant "Locanda Nerello" and wine tasting. We are glad that these experiences have made your stay extra special and memorable.

We sincerely hope that we will see you back to Monaci very soon!

Warm regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed spending 4 nights at Monaci delle Terre Nere.
The positive :
Good, friendly service, enthusiastic owners
Wonderful ambiance
Excellent suite, well appointed
Pleasant grounds, well lit at nights, good views of Etna
Good choice at breakfast

My reservations :
The food was on the whole disappointing, maybe we were unlucky.
The bread is very nice at dinner but not so fresh for breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ettemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience at Monaci delle Terre Nere on Tripadvisor.

We were glad to learn that you have enjoyed our estate, rooms and breakfast. Thank you for your nice comments on our staff and service. It will be my pleasure sharing them with the Team that will certainly be encouraged by your feedback.

We are sorry that the food in our Restaurant has not met your expectations. Our bread is hand-made in the hotel, in the wooden oven from organic ingredients and may be preserved only for a short time. We are sorry that we have received these comments only after your departure as we would have certainly take care of these details to assure the best experience for you.

Thank you once more for your feedback. It is very valuable to us as it helps us to improve our services.

We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Monaci in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel with another couple. The grounds are beautiful with many acres of fruit trees, flowers, olive trees and vineyards. The pool area is also lovely and a great place to relax and have a drink. The resultant was fantastic. I highly recommend the veal and the tartare appetizer. The wines were fantastic and reasonable priced. The rooms were nice - we stayed in the Dolce. Nice room. View was amazing. We loved this place but it would not be for everyone. The rooms do not have TV or phones and rooms are very spread out so you need to walk a lot. They do have golf carts that will drive you around but you can't call from your room and cell service was poor. We also did not have Internet most of the time we were there. The bar and bartender were also fantastic with interesting drinks and great ambiance.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tiffanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Tiffanie P,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your review regarding your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our green estate with the lovely pool area, the rooms and the views. We also appreciate your comments regarding our Restaurant and the Bar. We are very glad that our Barman has managed to make your stay memorable and special.

Our philosophy is based on contact with nature and "returning to the roots". That is why we do not have TV in the rooms. Our scattered rooms and suites offer plenty of privacy and a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere for our guests.

We understand that in the modern world it is very important to stay connected thought. That is why during your stay we have been working on improving our WiFi connection. We are sorry if these works have caused any inconveniences. We are also going to install telephones in all of the rooms which will certainly provide more comfortable stay for our future guests. We are very glad that you have appreciated our concept and your comments are certainly very helpful and valuable for us.

It was a pleasure having your party as our guests here at Monaci. We do hope to have a chance to see you back at our hotel in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This small hotel (21 Rooms) is a beautifully restored old farmhouse villa located on 60 secluded acres on the slopes of Mount Etna where they organically grow their own olives, fruits and vegetables. The rooms are beautifully appointed (ours came with working fireplace), clean and comfortable. Some rooms such as ours are in the main house (convenient) others are little out buildings sprinkled around the property (more private). The hotel is somewhat isolated but fortunately it has a world class chef for a relaxing dinner at the end of the day. An excellent base for exploring the peaks of Mount Etna or just sitting by their beautiful pool and enjoying the spectacular vistas down to the coast. The staff was friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: We had a great room Fresco 4 with balcony, fireplace and lawn chairs
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Paul B,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Monaci delle Terre Nere on Tripadvisor.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed our property, the organic farm and the rooms. We appreciate your positive comments on the Restaurant "Locanda Nerello" and our Chef.

We are also delighted that our staff has taken good care about you. It will be my pleasure to share your kind words with our Team that will certainly be encouraged by your feedback.

We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Monaci delle Terre Nere in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

This hotel is just beautiful. It's small, elegant and located in a gorgeous rural area. The breakfast is fabulous and included in the price. Otherwise the restaurant is pricey and too innovative for us. The service could not have been better. We would come back...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ellen123186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear Ellen,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Country Boutique Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed our location, breakfast and service. Please rest assured that I will gladly share your comments with our Staff that will be encouraged and motivated by your kind words.

We are proud to advise you that the ingredients used in our Restaurant are always the freshest biological products, most of them at KM 0. We also use fruit and vegetables from our organic farm which certainly have higher cost, but guarantee the best quality and taste.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Monaci in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews