We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect In Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monaci delle Terre Nere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 May 2017

This is an unusual and remarkable property nestled in the foothills on the Eastern side of Sicily, where you are surrounded by fig and olive trees and grapes for the local wine. There is a calm that descends upon you the moment you arrive, with incredible views of both the sea and Mt Etna. The accommodations are luxurious but not ostentatious, each having its own "charm" and decor, with every comfort one could want (except TV). Yet what makes it especially noteworthy are the people. The delightful staff was truly committed to making our stay memorable. We were "made" to feel welcome from the moment we arrived and were escorted to a lovely spot with an expansive view to enjoy a welcome beverage -- served by Alberto, a charming young man who really knew the local wines -- and then Nuwan gave us a tour of the grounds and showed us to our room, explaining everything we needed to know, and insisting we reach out to him if we needed anything at all. Each morning we were greeted by Rosella, and her glowing smile, at the sumptuous outdoor breakfast buffet, the perfect way to start the day! There is a lot do in the area, but we also just enjoyed being where we were, relaxing by the pool or on the chaise lounge on our terrace... until dinner, a major highlight! Dinner was much more than just a meal; it was an experience. The meals were simply amazing -- created by the very talented chef Blesi, a young man we think will become one of the great chefs of Sicily one day. The menu was not overwhelming, but each was distinctive, with subtle flavors and creative combinations. And if in doubt, you could always rely on the recommendations of Sebastian, the gracious and knowledgeable maitre d', who also enjoyed sharing his knowledge of the area and its history. In short, it seems that everyone on the staff really loved being there and loved what they were doing, and it showed! Even the housekeeping staff greeted us warmly and always asked if there was anything else we might need. By the time we left, we felt like "family" ... we couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay here ... and we're already looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: We stayed in suite #19 and loved it. It is spacious, has amazing views, and offers privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMatlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Mrs Matlins,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience at Monaci delle Terre Nere on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and "part of the family"! We were glad to learn that you have enjoyed our estate, accommodation and above all our staff. Thank you for your kind comments on the dinning experience, bar service, reception and breakfast staff. I will be delighted to share your review with the our staff that will certainly be encouraged and motivated by your feedback.

Our whole Team is really looking forward to welcoming you back to Monaci!

Warm regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

We don't normally spend this much on a room for a night, but Monaci is absolutely worth it. We wedged it between four nights in Rome and six more in Sicily. It's a great way to take a breathe during a vacation and really relax.
The resort is a beautifully restored farmhouse surrounded by 60 acres of farmland, where they grow olives, grapes, fruit and vegetables. There is also a small, but beautifully cared for herb garden.
You really can have a perfect day here. Breakfast is served overlooking the landscape and sea. Walking the grounds is a good workout and absolutely lovely. the restaurant serves immaculate meals and great wines.
We did a wine tasting and learned a few things about Sicilian wines. I also had a massage, which was very relaxing, if a little non traditional.
I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to truly relax. The details are perfect. Sitting by the (unheated) pool is a great way to relax and enjoy the view.
If you're visiting Sicily, try and include a few nights at this resort. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a room slightly away from the resort. The views are spectacular (both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Greg154954,

Thank you for your recent stay and the review shared with us on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you appreciated our resort, organic garden and breakfast with a lovely view over landscape and the sea.

Thank you for your nice words on our Restaurant "Locanda Nerello" and wine tasting. We are glad that these experiences have made your stay extra special and memorable.

We sincerely hope that we will see you back to Monaci very soon!

Warm regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed spending 4 nights at Monaci delle Terre Nere.
The positive :
Good, friendly service, enthusiastic owners
Wonderful ambiance
Excellent suite, well appointed
Pleasant grounds, well lit at nights, good views of Etna
Good choice at breakfast

My reservations :
The food was on the whole disappointing, maybe we were unlucky.
The bread is very nice at dinner but not so fresh for breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ettemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience at Monaci delle Terre Nere on Tripadvisor.

We were glad to learn that you have enjoyed our estate, rooms and breakfast. Thank you for your nice comments on our staff and service. It will be my pleasure sharing them with the Team that will certainly be encouraged by your feedback.

We are sorry that the food in our Restaurant has not met your expectations. Our bread is hand-made in the hotel, in the wooden oven from organic ingredients and may be preserved only for a short time. We are sorry that we have received these comments only after your departure as we would have certainly take care of these details to assure the best experience for you.

Thank you once more for your feedback. It is very valuable to us as it helps us to improve our services.

We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Monaci in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel with another couple. The grounds are beautiful with many acres of fruit trees, flowers, olive trees and vineyards. The pool area is also lovely and a great place to relax and have a drink. The resultant was fantastic. I highly recommend the veal and the tartare appetizer. The wines were fantastic and reasonable priced. The rooms were nice - we stayed in the Dolce. Nice room. View was amazing. We loved this place but it would not be for everyone. The rooms do not have TV or phones and rooms are very spread out so you need to walk a lot. They do have golf carts that will drive you around but you can't call from your room and cell service was poor. We also did not have Internet most of the time we were there. The bar and bartender were also fantastic with interesting drinks and great ambiance.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tiffanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Tiffanie P,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your review regarding your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed our green estate with the lovely pool area, the rooms and the views. We also appreciate your comments regarding our Restaurant and the Bar. We are very glad that our Barman has managed to make your stay memorable and special.

Our philosophy is based on contact with nature and "returning to the roots". That is why we do not have TV in the rooms. Our scattered rooms and suites offer plenty of privacy and a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere for our guests.

We understand that in the modern world it is very important to stay connected thought. That is why during your stay we have been working on improving our WiFi connection. We are sorry if these works have caused any inconveniences. We are also going to install telephones in all of the rooms which will certainly provide more comfortable stay for our future guests. We are very glad that you have appreciated our concept and your comments are certainly very helpful and valuable for us.

It was a pleasure having your party as our guests here at Monaci. We do hope to have a chance to see you back at our hotel in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This small hotel (21 Rooms) is a beautifully restored old farmhouse villa located on 60 secluded acres on the slopes of Mount Etna where they organically grow their own olives, fruits and vegetables. The rooms are beautifully appointed (ours came with working fireplace), clean and comfortable. Some rooms such as ours are in the main house (convenient) others are little out buildings sprinkled around the property (more private). The hotel is somewhat isolated but fortunately it has a world class chef for a relaxing dinner at the end of the day. An excellent base for exploring the peaks of Mount Etna or just sitting by their beautiful pool and enjoying the spectacular vistas down to the coast. The staff was friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: We had a great room Fresco 4 with balcony, fireplace and lawn chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaciterrenere, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monaci delle Terre Nere, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Paul B,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Monaci delle Terre Nere on Tripadvisor.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed our property, the organic farm and the rooms. We appreciate your positive comments on the Restaurant "Locanda Nerello" and our Chef.

We are also delighted that our staff has taken good care about you. It will be my pleasure to share your kind words with our Team that will certainly be encouraged by your feedback.

We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Monaci delle Terre Nere in the nearest future.

Warmest regards,


Katerina Kazenkina
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zafferana Etnea
2 km away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
908 reviews
17.1 km away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
418 reviews
7.7 km away
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
Hotel Santa Tecla Palace
#1 of 1 in Santa Tecla
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Etna Hotel
Etna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giarre
354 reviews
3.4 km away
Antico Borgo Petralia
Antico Borgo Petralia
#2 of 9 in Zafferana Etnea
153 reviews
2.9 km away
Fermata Spuligni
Fermata Spuligni
#11 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaci delle Terre Nere? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaci delle Terre Nere

Address: Via Monaci snc, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Zafferana Etnea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Zafferana Etnea
Price Range: ₹ 9,167 - ₹ 33,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaci delle Terre Nere 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2007, by chance, I stumbled upon this place, fell in love with it and decided to devote my life to its resurrection.To bring this place, previously chosen by the monks of Saint Anna’s order for his special energy and extraordinary charm, back to life. It has become the second great project of my life. The estate Monaci delle Terre Nere is situated along the slopes of Mount Etna, the biggest volcano in Europe on the border of the Etna National Park at 500mt above sea level. My wish has been to preserve the historic identity and local traditions, more than a Boutique Hotel it is a home which I hope retains its intimacy. The house which dates from 1800 is listed as one of historical importance. It is now a place where traditional Sicilian Architecture is combined with contemporary art and living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Monaci delle Terre Nere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing