We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
39
54
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
54
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is located buses shearings christmas housekeeping zoo balcony salzburg base outskirts spa
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We stayed in this hotel for five nights as part of a Shearings Christmas holiday. The hotel is located in Anif, a small town on the outskirts of Salzburg. All the rooms offer a mountain view and incorporate balconies. There is however a busy road not far from the hotel so in the summer traffic noise could be a problem. During our stay with temperatures at or below freezing we did not have the window open at night!

Our bedroom was a good size, incorporated a massive bed and all the usual amenities but in common with most hotels in the region no kettle. The bathroom was also a good size and again it was well appointed and above all clean. Given the large number in our party, the check in was fast and friendly. We found the hotel staff to be most courteous, friendly and helpful. The duty manager in particular went to great pains to ensure all the guests were comfortable and enjoying their stay.

Dinners were provided for our tour party in the main restaurant which was modern and airy. There was a choice of main course each evening and regular guests had the option of an à la carte menu. The 3 course meals were varied, good quality and well presented. The hotel laid on a special Christmas lunch and dinner for our party which added to the festive atmosphere. Breakfast was also served in the restaurant; there was a good selection of dishes from both the hot and cold buffets.

The hotel offers a large number of sports facilities and also includes a Wellness centre and spa. The small hotel bar is adjacent to the restaurant and we found drink prices to be very reasonable for the region. The main problem, as far as we and other members of our party were concerned, was the lack of a hotel lounge where we could comfortably sit and chat with fellow guests.

In my opinion this hotel would make a fantastic base for a summer activity holiday. The hotel’s location is ideally suited for walkers and its close proximity to Salzburg, which is easily accessible by local bus, also makes it a good choice for cultural excursions.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gwilym F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Hotel was used as a base for a Shearings Salzburg and Lakes Christmas tour.

The Hotel accommodation is excellent with spacious rooms and facilities. Housekeeping provided daily meaning that rooms were always clean.
The Hotel restaurant was superb, the choice and quality of the food available was excellent.
The bar and waiting staff were always helpful and polite, always willing to help.
The Hotel manager took the opportunity to ask if everything was OK personally.
Thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank W1462TFandyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

+)Must of the staffs were kind.(not all)
+)indoor play room for kids(2-3euro per 1hour)

Soso)Breakfast. 3 star level. But staffs were kind.

-)Access. If you go there by publictransport, just I can say "Never stay there!!" The bus stop is too far from the hotel. And just 2 or 3 buses an hour.

-)The pool. We really disappointed about that. I don't think that is 'pool'...I think it's just a kind of, dirty pond. They said about it with 'nature', but I don't think so. Lake or river is more clean.... it doesn't look be managed...

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank yoonjees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Can't believe how fortunate we were to have found this location. Liked it so much, we asked to stay another night. This is not simply a hotel, it is an entire group of connected buildings for entertainment and restaurant. The hotel is clean and quiet, as it is actually in the village on Anif. An easy seven mile drive drops you into the city of Salzburg. You are close to the zoo, and minutes away from the castle. Like all big cities, Salzburg can be hectic, yet this hotel is just far enough outside, you have paths to walk and free parking. We walked into Anif, had a wonderful holiday outing.
Perfect place to stay....

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 0170677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

My sister and I love a Christmas markets trip and Salzburg did not disappoint! The hotel is situated in Anif.... a short bus ride to the centre of Salzburg and very easy to navigate.

It's nice being out of the hustle and bustle of the city yet not too far to be too out of the way. Walking distance to the zoo, which I'd recommend for the price, it's a nice little zoo with many species of animals.

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable and rooms spacious. Came with a mini bat which was reasonably priced, not your usual extortionate mini bars! We ate in the hotel restaurant one night as it was raining and we couldn't be bothered to trek out again in the rain.... turned out to be one of the best decisions we made, it was a gorgeous Italian restaurant and we enjoyed every bite!

Would highly recommend the hotel for a stay to experience Salzburg and the surrounding areas.... purchase the Salzburg pass at reception, it's so worth every penny and we made excellent use of it during our weekend here.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CharandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews