We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
159
95
24
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
95
24
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town one night pomegranate trees every member of staff lovely hotel buffet breakfast large bathroom great shower pool area spanish style walk in shower olives hill
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I am still currently in the hotel.all I can hear is the high pitch squeeling and music on a TV....the walls are so thin I can hear the next door talking walking and breathing.i can even hear people using their wash basin.every time a door opens it rattles.the sound echoes from downstairs.i have been here three nights and had no sleep.a ruined trip.i raised it with reception and they stated that the parents should make sure the tele was low . I have to be up at 5.30am for my flight and it is now 10.30pm. Never again.friendly staff does not compensate for the lack of sound proofing. I dread to think what it is like in high season. Here comes another walk across the room.i am so frustrated I could scream. If you do stay....bring ear plugs!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
4  Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Plus points: Great hotel in traditional Spanish style, lovely big rooms with beams and rustic furniture, good spread at breakfast and the biggest plus point goes to the staff who are all really friendly and extremely helpful. They really go "the extra mile".

Minus point: We were expecting this to be closer to the old town than it was. It is walkable, but being Altea there is a rather steep incline to climb! That said, we spoke to a couple (older than us) who didn't find it a problem at all.

All in all a wonderful hotel and so much nicer than the same old faceless ones we get used to.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Infomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. We hoped for character and charm and found it, although finding the hotel was a little difficult and on first appearance not quite what we imagined but on arrival into the hotel we knew it was just the family run Spanish hotel we were hoping for. Our room was large and charming in every way, with two verandahs one with outdoor seating, plus a large and well appointed bathroom. We ate at the restaurant on our first night and were pleased with what we had then next morning the breakfast on the verandah overlooking the garden and pool area - typically Spanish breakfast with good variety - we lingered. Staff were all very accommodating and helpful - enjoyed "puss", an established fixture in reception. Five nights in Altea passed too quickly. We enjoyed walking to the Old Town in the evenings, recommend Oustau ((Michelin listed) great food and service at a not untoward price. Local market was well worth a visit and reception will advise you when and where - quite extensive and some good buys. Enjoyed the local beach and lunches at Restaurant Columbus on the seafront with lovely food and amazing décor. Very much enjoyed our time at the hotel and Altea old town and beach.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs overlooking pool
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NewZealandSascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We stayed here about a year ago and it was on the good side of OK - breakfast was rather disappointing and water temperature could be a bit variable. The breakfast, apart from the coffee, has improved substantially and we did not have a problem with the water temperature either. But the stale and boiled filter coffee at breakfast was a let down.

Lovely location a bit out of the superb old town but within walking distance - take a torch as the last part is down an unlit street.

Very good dinners as well.

I would describe as a peaceful rural location yet close to the old town - may be fifteen minutes walk max to the old town where there are lots of bars and eateries.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stayed has a couple for three nights in this beautiful hotel, it was once an old olive mill. The approach to the hotel was up a small road easy to miss the from the main road out of Altea, The rooms & bathrooms are on the large side and the beds very comfortable. All the public areas are beautifully decorated and everything was perfectly clean. The food in their restaurant was one of the best we had during our three day stay in Altea. The staff are all very friendly. Its a five min drive to the top of the old town which is very nice or down to the sea front also very nice.
We will stay again at this hotel next year, before traveling up to Moraira. Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews