We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with a sting in the tail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Before we get to the sting in the tale. The hotel is typically Spanish with good facilities including, ample parking,WiFi, swimming pool with great sun terrace and shaded area furnished with beds and shades. There is a lovely covered terrace area to eat alfresco with an outside bar.
The hotel is well decorated in a typically Spanish style, it's very welcoming from the moment you enter. The rooms are well proportioned with a large bathroom, with a shower over the bath, I understand they do have rooms with walk in shower facilities.
Rooms have TV, telephone, fridge,safe and hairdryer.
The rooms have views of the local countryside the best side to be is poolside.
The hotel has restuarant that serves a buffet breakfast which is ok and pretty standard.
The hotel can be found up a single track road which enters straight into a parking area with shade.
The hotel is only some 500 metres from the old town but the road is very very steep when leaving the hotel and would be dangerous for anybody unsure on their feet.
STING IN THE TAIL
The hotel is the noisiest I have stayed in, the walls are paper thin and the slightest noise resonates throughout the hotel. You will not sleep if you are a light sleeper.
The tv from the adjoining room can be listened to with ease so can the water being put in the sink along with the snores of your neighbour. This is a deal breaker for me and we would not return for that reason alone.
To end on a positive note the staff are exceptional polite and very welcoming it's just a shame about the noise insulation.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank James1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I am still currently in the hotel.all I can hear is the high pitch squeeling and music on a TV....the walls are so thin I can hear the next door talking walking and breathing.i can even hear people using their wash basin.every time a door opens it rattles.the sound echoes from downstairs.i have been here three nights and had no sleep.a ruined trip.i raised it with reception and they stated that the parents should make sure the tele was low . I have to be up at 5.30am for my flight and it is now 10.30pm. Never again.friendly staff does not compensate for the lack of sound proofing. I dread to think what it is like in high season. Here comes another walk across the room.i am so frustrated I could scream. If you do stay....bring ear plugs!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Plus points: Great hotel in traditional Spanish style, lovely big rooms with beams and rustic furniture, good spread at breakfast and the biggest plus point goes to the staff who are all really friendly and extremely helpful. They really go "the extra mile".

Minus point: We were expecting this to be closer to the old town than it was. It is walkable, but being Altea there is a rather steep incline to climb! That said, we spoke to a couple (older than us) who didn't find it a problem at all.

All in all a wonderful hotel and so much nicer than the same old faceless ones we get used to.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Infomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. We hoped for character and charm and found it, although finding the hotel was a little difficult and on first appearance not quite what we imagined but on arrival into the hotel we knew it was just the family run Spanish hotel we were hoping for. Our room was large and charming in every way, with two verandahs one with outdoor seating, plus a large and well appointed bathroom. We ate at the restaurant on our first night and were pleased with what we had then next morning the breakfast on the verandah overlooking the garden and pool area - typically Spanish breakfast with good variety - we lingered. Staff were all very accommodating and helpful - enjoyed "puss", an established fixture in reception. Five nights in Altea passed too quickly. We enjoyed walking to the Old Town in the evenings, recommend Oustau ((Michelin listed) great food and service at a not untoward price. Local market was well worth a visit and reception will advise you when and where - quite extensive and some good buys. Enjoyed the local beach and lunches at Restaurant Columbus on the seafront with lovely food and amazing décor. Very much enjoyed our time at the hotel and Altea old town and beach.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NewZealandSascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We stayed here about a year ago and it was on the good side of OK - breakfast was rather disappointing and water temperature could be a bit variable. The breakfast, apart from the coffee, has improved substantially and we did not have a problem with the water temperature either. But the stale and boiled filter coffee at breakfast was a let down.

Lovely location a bit out of the superb old town but within walking distance - take a torch as the last part is down an unlit street.

Very good dinners as well.

I would describe as a peaceful rural location yet close to the old town - may be fifteen minutes walk max to the old town where there are lots of bars and eateries.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
3.8 km away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
1.1 km away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
492 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel La Serena
Hotel La Serena
#4 of 8 in Altea
38 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel-Restaurante San Miguel
2.7 km away
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Hotel Kaktus Albir
#4 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tossal d'Altea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tossal d'Altea

Address: Pla de Castell 96, 03590 Altea, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range: ₹ 6,296 - ₹ 7,207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tossal d'Altea 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the town of Altea, just 300 metres away from the Palau Altea Centre d'Arts, or Altea Concert Hall, and a stone’s throw from the Old Quarter, the Hotel Tossal d’Altea was built on the site of a traditional olive oil mill which for over 300 years was used to produce olive oil. The hotel, whose design is reminiscent of Altean tradition while incorporating modern amenities and luxuries, caters mainly for guests seeking relaxation and wellbeing in a warm and welcoming environment in the heart of nature. The structure and decorative style of the hotel, whose rural design is typical of Altean country houses, blend in harmoniously with its restful setting, and it has sweeping views of the countryside, mountains and sea. What sets the hotel apart and endows it with its own personality is its core philosophy to provide attentive and personal services and a quality product for the highest guest satisfaction. Inside the hotel there is a restaurant which has two air-conditioned dining rooms which are open to the general public, where guests can enjoy Mediterranean cuisine as well as typical regional dishes. The "Menjador Almàssera" has a cylindrical stone mill and some presses in the centre, and a fireplace, while the "Saló Altea" is a more intimate area that is set apart from the main dining room. There is also a coffee lounge for guests wishing to have a coffee, which also serves the open air terrace. Hotel and outside guests may use all the restaurant facilities. The hotel has 15 rooms on the first floor and 7 rooms on the second floor. The spacious double rooms (which can also be used as single rooms) have balconies with panoramic views, mini-bar, television, telephone, internet, a safe, air-conditioning, heating, exquisite bathrooms etc. We can also highly recommend our charming Double room with canopy bed, and the uniquely elegant Special Suite which has a private sauna and hydromassage bath in an adjoining room. Whatever your tastes and interests are, we guarantee that your stay will be as pleasant and restful as possible. The hotel’s outdoor grounds include two large outdoor car parks right next to the hotel which have security surveillance, landscaped areas for enjoyable strolls, and an extensive terrace where you can sunbathe and enjoy the gentle breeze. There is also a swimming pool and gym for those who wish to use them. There is no extra charge for using these facilities, which have all been designed to provide easy access for disabled people. You are our number one priority. Visit us and relax in a restful and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tossal d'Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing