We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Manteigas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I have never felt more relaxed than after staying at this hotel. The location is perfect - miles away from anywhere, and (unusually for any hotel) genuinely surrounded by silence. The rooms are not huge, but are very comfortable, the food is good, the service is extremely friendly and helpful, the spa and pool are great and never crowded, and the garden is full of hammocks and sun beds to lie on. Be sure to do some exploring while you're there: there is a beautiful lake only 10-15 minutes walk - a swim in the fresh glacial water is the best way to cool off on a hot day. The glacial valley walk (approx 4 hours) is also worth doing; and go and visit the restaurants in Manteigas, which are good value. One word of warning: book a good hire car. Penhas Douradas is high up - you will need a decent saloon car or a 4x4, and you will definitely need a GPS system.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwjnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 114 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed two nights at this hotel and could easily have stayed a third if we had more flexibility in our travel plans. We should state upfront that we enjoy hiking and the outdoors and decided to visit this area of Portugal on our way to the Douro Valley specifically to have a nature experience. This area is more about hiking and relaxation than visiting monuments. We had a stunning though somewhat harrowing scenic drive to and from the hotel. We thought the hotel location was very beautiful though some reviewers have found it lacking. It is above the tree line and is set in a rocky alpine landscape. We enjoyed our hikes quite a bit as the landscape was different from what we have experienced before. We loved the hotel itself and would characterize it as a modern eco-lodge done in the Scandinavian style, which we really like. We were upgraded to a larger room in the cork building with no additional charge. The room was a reasonable size, the bed very comfortable, and many things cleverly designed to save space. We appreciated that they used many local materials in the building and decor. The pool and sauna was nice and a good place to relax as are the two lounges. We did not use the spa, but the prices looked quite reasonable for a resort. What really set this hotel apart for us was the excellent service and amenities. The staff was incredibly warm, friendly, and service-oriented. There were many wonderful little touches from the complimentary refreshments set out during the day, to the complimentary picnic they packed for our hikes, to the fresh juice at the pool. With so many hotels now charging for absolutely everything or tacking on a resort fee, it was nice not to feel "nickled and dimed" to death. The breakfast buffet was good. We ate dinner on two evenings and enjoyed the food. Some items were good and others very good. We were completely full at the end and we thought it was a good value overall. On the second evening my husband wasn't feeling very hungry and they were nice enough to simplify his menu and charge a little less. We primarily stay at four and five star hotels and this hotel for all of the reasons stated above is one of our favorites. We loved Portugal and hope to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atdrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We arrived at the hotel on a bleak afternoon in late September and initial impressions were not very good. The hotel is right at the top of a ridge in the Serra do Estrela in the middle of a landscape that my wife thought was lunar and I thought was Wagnerian. The hotel building and interiors are no concession contemporary and look very Scandinavian although designed by a Portuguese architect. Cosy it is not.

However - the next day was bright and beautiful and equipped with a small sustaining back pack provided by the owner's charming wife (sweet tea, small cakes and biscuits, water) we set out on one of the 6 walks that the hotel has carefully marked out. This was the 4 hour 'easy' yellow trail. For some stupid English reason we had said no to the organised walk that day led by the hotel owner but that too was the yellow trail so we met up and joined in. The walk was fabulous and the scenery was magnificent. The next day we did the longer 'moderate' red trail which was even better.

Late - post walk - small lunches back at the hotel were delicious and welcome.

The evening starts with a rather formal 'cocktail' followed by a no choice dinner and wine in the very stark dining room - a homage to thick, architectural, Swedish plywood. We did not get on too well with the food but we had just come from the Casa de Visconde in Pinhao which is a hard act to follow.

Breakfast was delicious - huge choice.

All in all a very good experience but made for us by the weather and the fabulous walks.

The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms have a private terrace - the larger rooms don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay_wilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

i found this place when traveling with a friend this August. After a bit of a tiring drive over the mountain road with plenty of curves, this place is an osasis of confort, relaxation and a true sight for sore eyes! With a low key nordic design, this hotel is absolutelly irrsistible, while keeping the rooms very funcional and homely.
The beds are extra confortable and the room balcony (I reccomend you get a room with a balcony) is the perfet place o lay and soak up some sun.
The restaurant is also a must, featuring new interpretations of traditional portuguese cuisine and a delicious assortment of desserts.
We have also tried the hotel spa, where the excellence was also found in every detail, from the fabulous massage ingredients (I had the candle massage), to the experienced hands of the masseuge and to the exclusive design of the resting areas, where one would like to stay for an eternity in a state of Zen...
Will definitivelly come back here again.

Room Tip: get a room with balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank estefanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Good service and very friendly staff.
Located far from city it is suitable for nature lovers and for trecking and other outdoors activities.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisbon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteigas
13.3 km away
Pousada Serra da Estrela
16.6 km away
H2otel
H2otel
#1 of 1 in Unhais da Serra
991 reviews
10.0 km away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Abrigo da Montanha Hotel Rural & Spa
16.7 km away
Purala Wool Valley Hotel & Spa
11.4 km away
Luna Serra da Estrela
Luna Serra da Estrela
#2 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Penhas Douradas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Penhas Douradas

Address: Penhas Douradas, Manteigas 6261-909, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Guarda District > Manteigas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Manteigas
Price Range: ₹ 11,257 - ₹ 13,339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa das Penhas Douradas 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa das Penhas Douradas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Das Penhas Douradas Hotel Manteigas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing