We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 184
US$ 163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 167
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
I Tetti sul Mare(Tellaro)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sirene(Tellaro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gambero Nero(Tellaro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Creuza De Ma(Tellaro)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Internet
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Il Delfino(Tellaro)
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Reviews (279)
    Filter reviews
    280 results
    Traveller rating
    134
    100
    25
    14
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    134
    100
    25
    14
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsprivate beachbeach barthe cliffacross the roadcinque terrethe busclean roomsfree parkingshort walkdelightful hotelfront desk staffgorgeous townbalcony overlooking the seafresh orange juicespectacular viewscomplimentary breakfastannex
    Filter
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 280 reviews
    Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

    We decided to book this hotel as part of our family trip to Italy and spent 6 wonderful days there. We had read mixed reviews on trip advisor but read between the lines...If you are looking for 5 star accommodation, cold but professional service, lifts to your room , all mod cons then book somewhere else. If you are looking for a warm, professional service, comfortable, clean rooms that open and close with an actual key, AMAZING views and a beach all to yourself (that you are willing to take many steps to reach) and located in the most beautiful village of Tellaro, then you need to book Il Nido.

    We stayed in a family room in the Annexe of the hotel which has been described as a garage located far from the main hotel overlooking a busy road by previous reviewers. Indeed the building is not fancy but it is far from a garage! Our room was quite basic but clean and bright, comfy beds and had a balcony overlooking the sea. Yes, there was a road that is not busy and is so narrow that cars have trouble passing each other...certainly not a large busy road. It was nice to sit and watch passers by in the evening. It was about a 10 second walk to the main hotel.

    The staff was lovely, a special thanks to the lovely Massimo at the pool bar who prepared our Mojito aperitivo so beautifully and kept our children happy with ice pops, to Barbara the housekeeper who was so helpful and lovely and to the lifeguard who kept an eye on our girls as they kayaked in the hotel's kayak and jumped off rocks.

    As for Tellaro, a beautiful fishing village with absolutely wonderful food, spectacular views and lovely hill walks....
    We can't wait to go back

    Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    1  Thank barbsberman
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Francesca S, Responsabile reception at Hotel Il Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

    Dear Madam,
    thank you very much!!! You hit the mark!!! This is our Hotel!!!
    Thank you very much for this real review!!
    We hope to see you and your family again!!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 June 2017

    My strategy when traveling is to read the reviews before booking to see what people liked and what they did not. Many reviewers don't like anything and after reading a lot of reviews it is possible to spot them right away. I noticed that almost everyone that was unhappy with Il Nido, were expecting a room in the seaside portion but booked a less expensive room in the annex. I simply avoided this mistake. My next strategy is to be as nice and respectful to the employees right off the bat. This works everywhere but in Italy it is golden. These are nice people that like other nice people but they can be very difficult if people aren't nice to them. I learned this because I married an Italian 55 years ago and she teaches me this every day.
    Back to our visit, we had a fantastic experience here last September and would love to return. Tellaro is the most beautiful little town I have ever seen and even though it rained during our stay, we loved every minute. When we arrived, we did not know were to park so we pulled to the side at the annex and my wife stayed with the car while I ran down the steps to the office. When you drive from Bologna to Tellaro you area little disoriented and anxious to settle in. Not knowing how to open the gate kind of gets you off on the wrong foot but the person at the desk was very pleasant and helpful. We try to travel light but you gain stuff after 3 1/2 weeks in Italy so dragging our bags down the winding steps was no picnic. At last we were all signed in and shown to our room. The hallway was a little dark and the room was small BUT when throwing up the shutters and walking out on the little balcony, we were in heaven.
    The best thing about this hotel is the friendly staff, the view, the breakfast, the beach, the location, the short walk to 3 excellent restaurants and the beach bar other than that I didn't like it.
    We probably walked every street and watched wedding festivities at the church almost every time we went out. We took the bus to Lerici and spent one day in a boat visiting the towns of Cinque Terre. Whenever we went down to the little beach the weather was a little rough but we are a little old for strenuous water sports and just waded in the surf a little, had a snack and a drink and enjoyed the view. We started our trip in Rome, went to Ripatransone, Bologna, Tellaro and Siena before going back to Rome. All of these places are different and great to visit but our 4 nights in Tellaro was the highlight of our trip and the Hotel Il Nido was a great place to stay.

    Room Tip: If you are expecting a balcony overlooking the ocean, reserve in advance and pay a little more.
    • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Rodney S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

    unfortunately our last experience with this hotel was pretty bad...after driving for more than 3 hours with 2 kids,looking forward to spend a good time on the beach, we finally arrived to the hotel with attractive pictures that we chose on your website. The receptionist informed us that our room is not in the vicinity of the hotel, it was actually on the other side of the street , in different building above a garage with a parking lot behind it. THe building is between the busy steet on the front and the parking lot in the back, completely separate of the hotel , not even directly across the street from it!! When we tried to explain to the receptionist that this situation was not appropriate to a family with 2 kids, crossing the busy road was not what we expected when we booked this hotel.The receptionist didn't want to hear anything , he was rude and blame us for not calling first to inquire the exacte location of the "family room ".we asked him nicely to put us in the THE Hotel , in the big inning he said the hotel was fully booked and thann said the rooms in that side of the street were MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE!!! We said in that case we would like to cancel because this is clearly a case of misrepresentation from their part. He laughed at us and said your payment was precessed and their is not such a thing as a refund in their policy! "Your only option is to take the room that I offered you and if you don't take it you still paye for it!!!"
    We didn't accept his "blackmail ",we were tied, our kids were getting very frustrated and annoyed.We left and we stopped at the first hotel about 5 minutes away and we took a room we haven't even seen, because we couldn't wait anymore ( it was past6 pm). We had a very upsetting experience.Our initial plan was to stay a second night if we enjoyed our stay in "The nice Hotel " that we discovered. Because Of this whole nightmare ( the kids were pretty upset that we couldn't to get close the beach) we just woke up and drove back home .

    Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    3  Thank Yasmine N
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Francesca S, Responsabile reception at Hotel Il Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

    Dear Madam, this is the first revenge review of season 2017.
    You aren’t our guest, because you didn’t stay in our Hotel.
    You made a “not refundable” reservation by booking.com: you have a discount and you pay immediately. We think you didn’t read nothing about our Hotel. You chose only the price €136,00 for 4 people with buffet breakfast and parking place included.
    We think, you didn’t read nothing because:
    1) you didn’t know that our Hotel has 2 different buildings, just opposite each others, you had to cross the street (30mt circa). This street finishes after 400mt. In booking.com this is wrote.
    2) You wanted a room with sea view, but you booked a standard quadruple room without balcony and without sea view. This is wrote in the description.
    3) We can’t offer you a quadruple room in the Main Building because in this building there aren’t family rooms. This is wrote in a lot of review in Tripadvisor, in Booking.com.
    If you wanted to stay in main House you had to write in your reservation.
    4) My colleague offered you 2 double rooms, but the price is different from the not refundable quadruple room price. You didn’t accept.
    5) You didn’t give us the all your passaports, we are in Italy, not in France. Here it is obliged to give us identity cards of all, kids included. This is a Police department rule.
    6) You didn’t visit the room, you have decided to leave. Our Hotel accommodate a lot of family with kids.
    7) Booking.com cheked your reservation and all it was ok, you had no right to a refund.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 October 2016

    We had an absolutely lovely 3 night visit to this hotel recently...(in reading anyone's negative reviews, you need to consider a person's previous traveling experience in Italy.) The Il Nido is a typical Italian 3 star hotel...it's not luxurious, although we found it very comfortable--and--if you respect the management, they will go out of their way to accommodate you! We found everyone to be very courteous and helpful, with ideas of where to go to purchase local wine and olive oil, (although they DO sell it at the hotel!), with suggestions on the best way to explore Cinque Terre, etc. The breakfast buffet was the absolute BEST that I've EVER had in Europe--and I've had too many to count in the last 40 years of living in Europe...the room was sparkling clean and the view over the Bay of Poets was exceptional from our top floor balcony and terrace in the Annex--Nido #2...(ask for rooms 35,36, or 37 in this building)...yes, there were many stairs to the private beach--but you know that before you get there! My husband and I are "mature" travelers--with knee issues!--but we found that we could handle it just fine! We are planning to return and check out the "main" building in the future, although I can't imagine it to be any better!...Location was great..the private beach is beautiful...I can't give you any more superlatives! (room rate was excellent as well--in the "off season")....Free private parking in a large gated lot was an extra plus, since parking is at a premium in this pedestrian closed village..the hotel parking eliminates the need to cruise for a parking spot! Three excellent restaurants are only a 5-10 minute walk away, and there are 7 more in the pedestrian area of the town itself. Tired of crowds of tourists everywhere? Go to Tellaro! (good for a weekend visit, but not much longer in the off season--visit wineries in nearby Sarzana--Ca Lunae is the BEST!)

    Room Tip: Rooms 35,36, and 37--top floor--panoramic view--Annex!
    • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Nancy171717
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 October 2016

    The worst hotel I've ever seen in my life. The jacuzzi costs 10 euro per person(!).
    The rooms are expensive and terrible.
    There are two buildings that are far from each other so that you might fall in the far one and be far from the facilities that are really bad.
    The room cost a fortune and we are really not happy.
    The crew is nice but the hotel is so bad that I will definitely won't come again.
    Make yourself a little favor and don't come to this hotel!

    • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    3  Thank Lyr S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    nidotellaro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Il Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

    Our question is: are you completely crazy or the many reviewers who have written before you?
    The problem is always the same you have booked without to read informations about our Hotel and about the place where you decided to stay for your short holiday.
    We want to begin with your reservation, made with Expedia, you have asked a quadruple room like the picture and we sent you an e-mail for advise you that it is not possible, because this room it wasn't available. You said that you didn't receive it, but in the Expedia confirmation there was.
    Our Prices are like a 3 stars hotel in this area. This area is more expensive respect to Bologna. You paid €135,00 for 4 people with buffet breakfast and private parking.
    The Jacuzzi isn't included in the price like wrote in Expedia page, nobody said you included this service.
    Please make ourself a little favor, never come back in our Hotel

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews