We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
141
105
28
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
105
28
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach beach bar the cliff across the road cinque terre the bus front desk staff main building restaurants within walking distance clean rooms free parking breakfast buffet short walk delightful hotel gorgeous town lovely view balcony overlooking the sea
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

unfortunately our last experience with this hotel was pretty bad...after driving for more than 3 hours with 2 kids,looking forward to spend a good time on the beach, we finally arrived to the hotel with attractive pictures that we chose on your website. The receptionist informed us that our room is not in the vicinity of the hotel, it was actually on the other side of the street , in different building above a garage with a parking lot behind it. THe building is between the busy steet on the front and the parking lot in the back, completely separate of the hotel , not even directly across the street from it!! When we tried to explain to the receptionist that this situation was not appropriate to a family with 2 kids, crossing the busy road was not what we expected when we booked this hotel.The receptionist didn't want to hear anything , he was rude and blame us for not calling first to inquire the exacte location of the "family room ".we asked him nicely to put us in the THE Hotel , in the big inning he said the hotel was fully booked and thann said the rooms in that side of the street were MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE!!! We said in that case we would like to cancel because this is clearly a case of misrepresentation from their part. He laughed at us and said your payment was precessed and their is not such a thing as a refund in their policy! "Your only option is to take the room that I offered you and if you don't take it you still paye for it!!!"
We didn't accept his "blackmail ",we were tied, our kids were getting very frustrated and annoyed.We left and we stopped at the first hotel about 5 minutes away and we took a room we haven't even seen, because we couldn't wait anymore ( it was past6 pm). We had a very upsetting experience.Our initial plan was to stay a second night if we enjoyed our stay in "The nice Hotel " that we discovered. Because Of this whole nightmare ( the kids were pretty upset that we couldn't to get close the beach) we just woke up and drove back home .

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Yasmine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca S, Responsabile reception at Hotel Il Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear Madam, this is the first revenge review of season 2017.
You aren’t our guest, because you didn’t stay in our Hotel.
You made a “not refundable” reservation by booking.com: you have a discount and you pay immediately. We think you didn’t read nothing about our Hotel. You chose only the price €136,00 for 4 people with buffet breakfast and parking place included.
We think, you didn’t read nothing because:
1) you didn’t know that our Hotel has 2 different buildings, just opposite each others, you had to cross the street (30mt circa). This street finishes after 400mt. In booking.com this is wrote.
2) You wanted a room with sea view, but you booked a standard quadruple room without balcony and without sea view. This is wrote in the description.
3) We can’t offer you a quadruple room in the Main Building because in this building there aren’t family rooms. This is wrote in a lot of review in Tripadvisor, in Booking.com.
If you wanted to stay in main House you had to write in your reservation.
4) My colleague offered you 2 double rooms, but the price is different from the not refundable quadruple room price. You didn’t accept.
5) You didn’t give us the all your passaports, we are in Italy, not in France. Here it is obliged to give us identity cards of all, kids included. This is a Police department rule.
6) You didn’t visit the room, you have decided to leave. Our Hotel accommodate a lot of family with kids.
7) Booking.com cheked your reservation and all it was ok, you had no right to a refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We had an absolutely lovely 3 night visit to this hotel recently...(in reading anyone's negative reviews, you need to consider a person's previous traveling experience in Italy.) The Il Nido is a typical Italian 3 star hotel...it's not luxurious, although we found it very comfortable--and--if you respect the management, they will go out of their way to accommodate you! We found everyone to be very courteous and helpful, with ideas of where to go to purchase local wine and olive oil, (although they DO sell it at the hotel!), with suggestions on the best way to explore Cinque Terre, etc. The breakfast buffet was the absolute BEST that I've EVER had in Europe--and I've had too many to count in the last 40 years of living in Europe...the room was sparkling clean and the view over the Bay of Poets was exceptional from our top floor balcony and terrace in the Annex--Nido #2...(ask for rooms 35,36, or 37 in this building)...yes, there were many stairs to the private beach--but you know that before you get there! My husband and I are "mature" travelers--with knee issues!--but we found that we could handle it just fine! We are planning to return and check out the "main" building in the future, although I can't imagine it to be any better!...Location was great..the private beach is beautiful...I can't give you any more superlatives! (room rate was excellent as well--in the "off season")....Free private parking in a large gated lot was an extra plus, since parking is at a premium in this pedestrian closed village..the hotel parking eliminates the need to cruise for a parking spot! Three excellent restaurants are only a 5-10 minute walk away, and there are 7 more in the pedestrian area of the town itself. Tired of crowds of tourists everywhere? Go to Tellaro! (good for a weekend visit, but not much longer in the off season--visit wineries in nearby Sarzana--Ca Lunae is the BEST!)

Room Tip: Rooms 35,36, and 37--top floor--panoramic view--Annex!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The worst hotel I've ever seen in my life. The jacuzzi costs 10 euro per person(!).
The rooms are expensive and terrible.
There are two buildings that are far from each other so that you might fall in the far one and be far from the facilities that are really bad.
The room cost a fortune and we are really not happy.
The crew is nice but the hotel is so bad that I will definitely won't come again.
Make yourself a little favor and don't come to this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lyr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nidotellaro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Il Nido, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Our question is: are you completely crazy or the many reviewers who have written before you?
The problem is always the same you have booked without to read informations about our Hotel and about the place where you decided to stay for your short holiday.
We want to begin with your reservation, made with Expedia, you have asked a quadruple room like the picture and we sent you an e-mail for advise you that it is not possible, because this room it wasn't available. You said that you didn't receive it, but in the Expedia confirmation there was.
Our Prices are like a 3 stars hotel in this area. This area is more expensive respect to Bologna. You paid €135,00 for 4 people with buffet breakfast and private parking.
The Jacuzzi isn't included in the price like wrote in Expedia page, nobody said you included this service.
Please make ourself a little favor, never come back in our Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This hotel is perched on the side of a hill and basically cascades down to the sea below it. We were in the building across the road from the main building which was obviously recently renovated. After the complimentary breakfast, start your way down to the beach via a multi-level series of decks that are great for eating, sun tanning, relaxing or visiting before you end up in a little cove that is secluded and bathed in sun. They have a food deck where you can get yourself a cappuccino or beer as well as a simple bite to eat. Loved our stay

Room Tip: See if you can get one that affords a view of the sun as it sets!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

This small hotel located in a quiet village with it's simple but very clean rooms and with magnificent view, it's private beach, nice lobby, delicious breakfast (with the view!) and with the very friendly service...what else one could wish for??? I discovered the place by coincidence and will surely come back one day...

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Irena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews