We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the Results of a Passionate Baker and his family”

La Bottega del Pane Rizzo
Ranked #2 of 3 Bakeries in Castelvetrano
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 June 2018

I first visited this bakery in 2010. One of my traveling companions had done some good research and she knew that this bakery should be visited. We did and enjoyed the experience.
In May 2018, myself and seven other family members from the United States planned on visiting this area and Rizzo Bakery was on the list of things to do.
We visited the bakery showroom - tasted and bought items. Then Tommaso Rizzo took the group to his laboratory and explained about the wheat and the “starters” used to make the breads. The group then traveled a short distance to the Rizzo grinding mill. We saw the ancient grinding stones installed in the modern equipment. This mill ships flour world-wide. We had the opportunity to buy some flour and spaghetti.
While we were at the mill, Lorenzo, Tommaso’s son prepared a beautiful tasting of a variety of items from the bakery – tomato sandwiches on crusty bread, fig cookies, almond cookies, the famous black bread, cheeses, olives, pistachio brittle and other candies. Tommaso Rizzo spent time with us and told us about his passion – baking. If you enjoy experiencing food at its finest, prepared by people dedicated to preserving the traditions of Sicily, then plan to visit Tommaso and his family.
Rizzo Bakery is a member of Slow Food Presidia. "The Presidia sustain quality production at risk of extinction, protect unique regions and ecosystems, recover traditional processing methods, safeguard native breeds and local plant varieties" – from the Slow Food website
Castelvetrano Black Break is on the Slow Food Ark of Taste. “The Ark of Taste travels the world collecting small-scale quality productions that belong to the cultures, history and traditions of the entire planet: an extraordinary heritage of fruits, vegetables, animal breeds, cheeses, breads, sweets and cured meats…” from the Slow Food website

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elana25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2016

La Bodega del Pane is rated amongst the top 10 best place in Sicily for traditional Sicilian food / bakery, but it is actually also one of the top in the world, according to a bread museum in Belgium. A reputation well deserve. Several personalities and dignitaries have visited it over the pars several decades. Furthermore, the owner of this small family owned bakery is incredibly welcoming and proud of his work. It was started by his father 60 years ago... It is heartwarming to see artisans like him for whom their work is as a "life poem" that they live and breed, as opposed to a mere "job".
In terms of practical tip, I would recommend asking them to prepare sandwiches, and then eat them at the charming little municipal parc located on the same street, about 400 meters down South. For sandwiches, drinks and pastries, for 3 people, we paid a mere 11 euros or so...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michel1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

pane nero !!!
grissini al sesamo !!!
panini !!!
everything is well done and traditional.
nice staff !!!
we love it very much !!!

Thank ruth k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Delicious panini, unique ancient grains baked in a bread that is true, ancient Sourdough. Fascinating family story. Passion and hospitality in a small bakery that is one of the top 10 places in Sicily! Just go!!!

Thank Emma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Beautiful little Castelvetrano bakery. We were taken there to see the best dark bread on Sicily, on our way from Agrigento to Palermo, and we ended up really impressed! Also beautiful little domestic cookies packed in transparent bags, like little presents, something you should definatelt try out if you happen to be around. For us it was a beautiful expirience.

Thank ljubimci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommaso R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Bottega del Pane Rizzo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2015

Dear Mrs Marija,
thank you for your nice words about our historic bakery shop. From 1956 we try to do the best dark bread "Pane Nero di Castelvetrano" on Sicily, strictly with quality ingredients and natural yeast.
I am happy that you liked our homemade packs of biscuits :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bottega del Pane Rizzo also viewed

Castelvetrano, Province of Trapani
 
Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano
Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano
 
Castelvetrano, Province of Trapani
Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano
 

Been to La Bottega del Pane Rizzo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing