We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
271
34
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
34
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thakur baljeet singh his son other guests leopard sightings old world charm evening safari home stay great hospitality home away from home lovely experience royal families heritage property each guest their natural habitat before dinner an excellent host beautiful place
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

The property is a rare blend of traditional decor and modern day amenities. The host is a generous warm hearted person who has a lot of affection about the wilderness and fauna of the area. He and his son welcome the guests with a lot of warmth and will take care of small details.

The safaris were simply amazing. Mr. Singh and his staff, despite the fact that they are inhabitants of the place, set out on safaris with the same zeal every single day. The staff particularly Narain, and Behru will leave no stone unturned to ensure you get a good sighting of the leopard.

Most importantly, I am a wildlife lover, and visited several national parks.... But the experience of going for a NIGHT safari especially in the monsoon season was unbelievable.

All in all a must visit place.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank shauryavardhansingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

It was really a never before experience. We started off early from udaipur in the morning and confused to go to bera pali or mount abu. I insisted on going to Bear as i have seen documentaries on national geographic but u you never be sure without having seen it. We reached bear at 2pm and was asked to wait until dusk as leopard is sighted arount that time. Till that time we clicked nice pictures of beautifully built Castle Bera and also played our childhood game of . served nice tea and biscuits and started off bit early as we wanted to wrap the things early. Through the expert guidance of Our driver SH. Narayan we set off to Mandir and paid our obesiance to gods. Then we visited Jawai dam and sighted Crocodiles. Thereafter Narayan took us to a beathtaking Mountain climbing by Gypsy. I was really an awsom experience at the top of world. and then the final moments came and we saw leopard just in front of us. We clicked some nice pics and stalked the big cat for atleast an hour. The most elusive cat in world was right in front of us. Really an awsom experience. Willl visit again in the Month of October 18 with my friends.....
Thanks Narayan for making it a life time experience. U are gem of a person.
Thanks Castle Bera.......\
Sandeep Solanki

Room Tip: All the rooms are good....
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SandeepS4358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

On our recent visit to Udaipur over the last weekend we were in two minds due to paucity of time whether to make a quick dash to Bera to see some of the famous leopards. Better sense prevailed and off we went after making a few calls to confirm whether we would be having an access to a safari vehicle. Bera is about 2.5 hours away with a good highway access.
There are 2 safaris one which starts early morning and the other starts around 5 pm. We reached around 4:30 and were warmly greeted by the staff and the owner Mr Baljeetsinghji. Post a quick cup of delicious tea we were off onto one of my favourite vehicles the 'Gypsy'. Our doubts regarding the weather and the monsoon rains interrupting our field trip were soon laid to rest as the weather was perfect for an outdoor safari. The ride was super smooth and the driver knowledgeable and an expert spotter. First pitstop was the beautiful Jawai dam, a photographers delight. It offered splendid all round view and we spotted a couple of large crocodiles lazying around on the rocks. We also got a close up on some of the beautiful migratory birds who were kind enough to pose for the shutter bugs amongst us. The kids were loving it. Post this began the search of the leopards. As per the last census Bera and the region surrounding it has about 90+ leopards which would ideally be about 1 leopard per 1.5 km. the sightings are easy and one is assured of spotting. However leopards being shy animals and the fact that i on my various trips to different national parks (Ranthambore, Corbett etc)have never spotted a tiger etc in the wild I had my fingers crossed. As they say perseverance is key, after a series of false alarms one which involved all of us crouched onto a hill in anticipation of spotting one to come out of his cave for over an hour we spotted one beautiful specimen well into the darkness post 8 pm. Our guide did not let go and ensured through his spotlight we caught the first hint of his gleaming eyes. There he/ she was across a hill a distance of nearly half a km. We too had gone over a (60deg angle) onto a huge rock hill literally a small mountain to ensure we did not miss out. He gave us an excellent view for 15 mins via our long range binaculars we came back satisfied souls. The drive in the gypsy was outstanding and the expert handling of the off roader left us equally impressed. He created roads and paths where there were none. Bera is one place I will visit over and over again irrespective of the season & for the warm hospitality on offer it felt like home away from home. Do visit for real adventure, leopard spotting, off roading experience and the warm ambience of Castle Bera.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank AbhayC115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Rainy days should be spent at home with a cup of tea and a good books & this exactly provided by owner Baljeet Singh ( winku ) . Castle Bera was having homely feel tasty food , & cooperative staff . Great entrance with wooden big door help us to feel we are in touch with something royal , elegant , incredible past ..which is well maintained by them .It was an adventure exploring wild life around bera , i was amazed by scenic beauty of both habitat as well castle bera architecture ...love those earthy feel yet so elegant & rich in heritage .The richness of the rain made me feel safe and protected; I have always considered the rain to be healing—The only noise now was the rain, & horn of train , we waited long fr a glimpse of leopard in rain some disappointment as i was not getting good shots but , the last two days bless with green background with some good composition shots . Got to know about some stories from Castle bera owner which help me to understand better the heritage & about the personality of descendants for generations.” Inherited Culture , property , wildlife enthusiast I experienced staying in castle bera , its expensive for those who want to come again & again , like me for wildlife photography , but a best stay with experienced staff .

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GazalaK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Monsoons really bring this region to life!I did not know that Rajasthan was capable of having such lush green meadows!!
This was our second trip to Castle Bera. It’s very comfortable drive from jodhpur. Had a lovely lunch, and rested up a bit. Not the kids though!! They were busy discovering all the little gardens on the property.
In the evening we left for Leopard spotting in the open jeep. The first spot we went to we waited fr just a bit and were directed to turn the binoculars just beside a cave in the little hill. We saw a cub and his mother!!! It’s difficult to describe the joy of seeing these magnificent animals in their natural environment .
Also a special mention to the hospitable n helpful staff at the property. The naturalist accompanying us realised that our daughter was too young to be able to focus the binoculars properly , so he got his camera out n showed her the leopard cub. She wa overjoyed to say the least!!
We had a great evening spend by the Jawai Dam.
The vast water body reflecting the moon and some great drinks n snacks. Perfect ending to a perfect day.
It’s a beautiful gem of a property and an amazing experience I would heartily recommend to anyone visiting this region of the world. Especially for kids, to expose them to different kind of experience away from the concrete jungle. Reconnect with nature and a natural pace of life.
And to top it up just the perfect weather!! The lush greenery!! The cool moist breeze. Ready to go back!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank meenakshi9983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews