We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Awesome Hotel In Gopalpur”
Review of Swosti Palm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swosti Palm Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gopalpur On Sea
Bhubaneswar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Awesome Hotel In Gopalpur”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Only 16 kilometers from Berhampur, the hub of southern Orissa, the tiny bay side location called Gopalpur, enjoys the reputation of a beautiful beach retreat. plesant breeze from across the Bay in the solitude of quietness amidst palm, coconut and casuarinas trees makes Gopalpur an ideal summer holiday destination. Connected by excellent high way, NH5, it is 190 kilometers from Bhubaneswar. Swosti Palm Resort, located right on the shore is the only luxury resort hotel at Gopalpur to provide multi dimensional hospitality services with elaborate local sightseeing tour facilities provided by Swosti Travels starting from a thrilling cruise on Chilika-the largest brackish water lake of Asia to the dancing dolphins at Satapada, Hot Spring at Taptapani, trekking options at Mahendragiri hill and the temple tour of South Orissa.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pritam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    28
    36
    21
    13
See reviews for
37
26
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow UK
Level Contributor
367 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

if you have to stop in Gopalpur, this is as good as it gets. Fairly modern construction, within 5-10 minutes to the beach but either past rubbish dumps or through half the town. Food acceptable, frequent power cuts not so. Moth balls everywhere, including bathroom. Manager very friendly (only source of internet!) It HAS BEEN a beach resort, now trying to reinvent itself, but it will take a long time. Sea is dirty.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosolygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gopalpur On Sea hotels

Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I read the reviews in this site and zeroed down on this hotel. Inputs from my travel agent also influenced my decision that I am regretting now. The reasons are as follows:
1. The sea can nowhere be seen from the hotel even from rooms they call “sea facing”. Very bland and boring view from the hotel
2. Room furnishings etc is fairly average. Bathroom doesn’t have toilet paper but has a dilapidated toilet paper holder. When asked for it, management had no clue what or why I am asking for the same. Later informed that you are being provided with a mug, why are you asking for more.
3. Food is mediocre in nature and extremely over-priced for e.g. a tandoori chicken (full plate) costs INR310/ -, most Kababs comprising just about 5-6 small pieces cost anything from INR180 – 250. Can’t figure out the justification of such high prices … pricing can compete with the star hotels in metros but can no-way match their quality etc.
4. Some of the hotel staff are extremely discourteous and rude, will hardly knock the door and turn the knob to enter without waiting for permission. When told so, got annoyed and slammed the door before leaving.
5. No breakfast buffet and food service is extremely slow. The day we were leaving early, we almost got late due to delay in getting the breakfast even thought we had informed before-hand and was assured of an early service.
6. In spite of requesting to keep the bills ready on the morning for early check-out, found the staff scribbling with the calculation when we went to the front desk to clear the dues.
7. Most of the plug holders in the room didn’t work
8. Cable TV doesn't work most of time, remote was broken and TV condition was bad.
9. We were provided with a vintage Commander Jeep that is extremely uncomfortable to ride on for station pick-up and drop-off also. They had a few new vehicle in their repository but no sure why they were not provided. When enquired got no proper answer. Understand if it is to do with the type of room you book but management informed that is not the case. Apparently it’s their own sweet will.

Can add more but hope readers got the idea. I am not coming back here again.

  • Liked — None
  • Disliked — Quality of service, staff, pricing, amenities
  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SubhaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneshwar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Absolutely marvelously designed.. Well maintained interiors..
Food was good.. Service was a bit slow and the staff lacked promptness.. otherwise all good!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SameerPradhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swosti, General Manager at Swosti Palm Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We very sincerely thank you for your appreciative and very encouraging kind words of praise for our unique hotel product and services, your generous love and affection towards us is an indication of our performance and customer service is a source of inspiration to our team.

We are glad to note that you had found our hotel excellent in every respect and that you had left us with the very positive & good impression of our unique product quality and services.

You had very much liked and enjoyed our good quality & delicious food, services, etc for which Swosti Palm Resort has earned its reputation and has build its image all through the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Swosti Palm Resort in the near future.

Thanking you

Rajendra Kumar Puhan
Operation Manager
Swosti Palm Resort
om.hspl@mailswosti.org
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We read the review of this hotel in Lonely Planet, big mistake to believe it.
We had the best room overlooking the rubbish tip. The electric plugs were hanging off the walls, trickle of water from the gyser, broken toilet and seat impossible to sit on. Thin mattress, threadbare linen and towels, very grey in colour. Moth balls everywhere, very strong smell.
Very expensive for the facilities provided. Tiny patch of grass to sit on. At this price would expect a fridg., tea/coffee, safe deposit box available.
Food was very disappointing and served in a dark, gloomy restaurant by staff who hadn't a clue how to serve let alone what efficiency was and we have travelled extensively in India but this was the worst experience we have ever had.
We booked with Swasti travel agent in Bhubaneshwar, paid in advance but could not cope with completing our number of days. Since then we have been trying to get a refund for the days not used but no luck so avoid this scam company like the plague.
We cannot believe that the other reviewers actually stayed at this hotel.
They are supposed to be having renovations but don't hold your breath!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gopalpur On Sea
165.3 km away
Mayfair Palm Beach Resort
Mayfair Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Gopalpur On Sea
330 reviews
17.7 km away
Swosti Grand
Swosti Grand
#11 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
204 reviews
18.2 km away
Mango Hotels Prangan - Bhubaneshwar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Swosti Premium Hotel
Swosti Premium Hotel
#10 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
469 reviews
15.0 km away
Mayfair Lagoon
Mayfair Lagoon
#1 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
758 reviews
14.5 km away
La Franklin Hotel
La Franklin Hotel
#13 of 58 in Bhubaneswar
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swosti Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swosti Palm Resort

Property: Swosti Palm Resort
Address: Gopalpur-On-Sea, Gopalpur On Sea, India
Region: India > Odisha > Ganjam District > Gopalpur On Sea
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gopalpur On Sea
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,713 - ₹ 5,167
Hotel Class:2 star — Swosti Palm Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Swosti Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swosti Palm Hotel Gopalpur On Sea
Swosti Palm Resort Gopalpur On Sea, Odisha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing