We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many options to choose from - hence they get away with poor service”
Review of Swosti Palm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swosti Palm Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gopalpur On Sea
Reviewed 4 September 2016

My first impression was that of having entered a hospital! We had booked the suite - it did have large rooms. However, there is nothing to do at Gopalpur except for the beach. And the resort did not have any indoor games except for a billiards table in poor condition and with broken furniture around it. There is no TT table nor a carom board. It is not a beach facing hotel - the beach is 5 minutes walk.

The staff at the counter have no information on Gopalpur or nearby places. They were acting as if it was a punishment posting for them. The housekeeping was also bad - we had to walk down to collect anything we wanted.

There is a lighthouse 5 minutes away but the staff had no information on it's timing. But they assured us that we can go up and have a view. When we went to the lighthouse, we were informed that it was closed for visitors 3 years back.

Since there are no other options for food, the hotel had raised the prices. However, the dinner was good. They had pathetic options for breakfast. Suggest you go early before the food gets over. The fruit juice was over by 8:45 am. And the table cloth had food stains from how many days.....

Room Tip: Opt for suite since these are decent sized
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Chandramohanamritkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swosti, General Manager at Swosti Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Dear Sir,

Warm greetings from Swosti Premium Ltd.

We thank you immensely for your recent stay with us at Swosti Premium and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We are delighted to go through your feedback, which is to be taken care of by the management and helps us for improvement in facilities, services to exceed your expectation and which ultimately helpful for other travelers who are looking for Swosti Premium.

we are sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay which did not meet your expectation(s) & assuring to provide best service for all time.

Thanking you once gain and looking forward to get a chance to serve better in your next visit.

Thanks and Regards
Priyanath Behera
Vice President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

This is the best place to stay in Gopalpur. A min walk from the resort is the beautiful beach of Gopalpur. The rooms are excellant, I stayed in a suite. Food is great abd staff is courteous. It is 30 mins away from Brahmapur Railway station.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Aniiiiir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

If you wish to be on sea side, this hotel gives you a poor location. You may miss the sea breeze. Otherwise, in terms of neatness, service and quality this is the best hotel in Gopalpur. food quality is quite good and the best part is - you have options like continental cuisines, too.

Stayed: August 2015
1  Thank amritendu p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

The Swosti is a better-than-average hotel with very average service in a excellent location. The reception was quite friendly and prompt.

The room was, well, OK. Nothing fancy, and nothing you would remember very particularly. But then, you go to the beach for the beach and not for the Hotel. In that sense, the hotel is OK.

The attached restaurant is also OK (you have to either order in advance or wait about 30 minutes to be served). The view from the restaurant were horrible (it had no view and all the curtains were drawn).

Am I being picky or was it really average ? OK, let me describe why the average rating. The restaurant cannot be approached from within the Hotel by guest. Why > Because the vegetable are stored in the pathway by the kitchen. So one steps out of the Hotel and then steps back in - this is not expected of a good Hotel. Hence, the average rating.

The wifi password was common to all guests and was handed to me on a bit of paper - highly insecure. And very average.

That is also a shame because the Swosti Premium in Bhubaneswar which is a Group Hotel is so much better.

The Gopalpur beach in the evening was quite nice. But when, swept away by the romantic thought of seeing the fisher men off next morning, we decided to re-visit the beach in the morning there was this disgusting sight of neat piles of human excreta all along the beach. The sea would reach one of these and it would vanish , leaving a nice clean spot behind. Then you had to recall that this was the beach and this was the sea water in which you had splashed about yesterday with such enjoyment.

Suddenly I did not want to come back to splash around in the sea at Gopalpur again.

Are there no standards which the local administration has to maintain for a beach where so many visitors play and splash about in sea water that is clearly highly contaminated by human faecal matter ?

Highly unsafe beach, healthwise.

I was looking forward to the fresh sea food on the beach one usually gets at the sea front. Unfortunately, the sea food was there but it wasn't very fresh at all. The crabs and fish and prawns were obviously stocked from earlier that day - I tried a plate and come away convinced I should not have tried it. So, somewhat disappointed on that front too. More so because I grew up in Berhampur and I remembered a much cleaner beach (though it was less developed in my childhood about 40 years ago).

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor may have a sea view. Grond floor rooms do not have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubratKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

The furniture is very old and outdated.
The light and fixtures are all broken and not looked after.
The rooms service is not prompt.
The property was actually a guest house earlier now swosti group has taken over the property without even repairing the bare minimum.
The sea-beach is away from the hotel.
There is a big garbage dump besides the hotel

Room Tip: Ground floor room are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Geet860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gopalpur On Sea
165.3 km away
Mayfair Palm Beach Resort
Mayfair Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Gopalpur On Sea
353 reviews
3.5 km away
Grand Residency
Grand Residency
#2 of 10 in Cuttack
44 reviews
14.6 km away
Swosti Premium Hotel
Swosti Premium Hotel
#11 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
Ginger Bhubaneshwar
#3 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
920 reviews
17.7 km away
Swosti Grand
Swosti Grand
#7 of 61 in Bhubaneswar
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swosti Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swosti Palm Resort

Address: Gopalpur-On-Sea, Gopalpur On Sea, India
Region: India > Odisha > Ganjam District > Gopalpur On Sea
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gopalpur On Sea
Price Range: ₹ 2,789 - ₹ 7,654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swosti Palm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Swosti Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swosti Palm Hotel Gopalpur On Sea
Swosti Palm Resort Gopalpur On Sea, Odisha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing