We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mayfair Palm Beach Resort(Gopalpur On Sea)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Resort Gopalpur(Gopalpur On Sea)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
21
37
40
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
37
40
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel requiresneeds renovationcomfortable stayminutes walking distancefamily stayrooms are bigdelicious foodlunch dinnersea beachhotel is locatedtatahospitalitywalkablerequirementslocksapproachcooperative
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

This is the best place to stay in Gopalpur. A min walk from the resort is the beautiful beach of Gopalpur. The rooms are excellant, I stayed in a suite. Food is great abd staff is courteous. It is 30 mins away from Brahmapur Railway station.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Aniiiiir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

If you wish to be on sea side, this hotel gives you a poor location. You may miss the sea breeze. Otherwise, in terms of neatness, service and quality this is the best hotel in Gopalpur. food quality is quite good and the best part is - you have options like continental cuisines, too.

Stayed: August 2015
1  Thank amritendu p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

The Swosti is a better-than-average hotel with very average service in a excellent location. The reception was quite friendly and prompt.

The room was, well, OK. Nothing fancy, and nothing you would remember very particularly. But then, you go to the beach for the beach and not for the Hotel. In that sense, the hotel is OK.

The attached restaurant is also OK (you have to either order in advance or wait about 30 minutes to be served). The view from the restaurant were horrible (it had no view and all the curtains were drawn).

Am I being picky or was it really average ? OK, let me describe why the average rating. The restaurant cannot be approached from within the Hotel by guest. Why > Because the vegetable are stored in the pathway by the kitchen. So one steps out of the Hotel and then steps back in - this is not expected of a good Hotel. Hence, the average rating.

The wifi password was common to all guests and was handed to me on a bit of paper - highly insecure. And very average.

That is also a shame because the Swosti Premium in Bhubaneswar which is a Group Hotel is so much better.

The Gopalpur beach in the evening was quite nice. But when, swept away by the romantic thought of seeing the fisher men off next morning, we decided to re-visit the beach in the morning there was this disgusting sight of neat piles of human excreta all along the beach. The sea would reach one of these and it would vanish , leaving a nice clean spot behind. Then you had to recall that this was the beach and this was the sea water in which you had splashed about yesterday with such enjoyment.

Suddenly I did not want to come back to splash around in the sea at Gopalpur again.

Are there no standards which the local administration has to maintain for a beach where so many visitors play and splash about in sea water that is clearly highly contaminated by human faecal matter ?

Highly unsafe beach, healthwise.

I was looking forward to the fresh sea food on the beach one usually gets at the sea front. Unfortunately, the sea food was there but it wasn't very fresh at all. The crabs and fish and prawns were obviously stocked from earlier that day - I tried a plate and come away convinced I should not have tried it. So, somewhat disappointed on that front too. More so because I grew up in Berhampur and I remembered a much cleaner beach (though it was less developed in my childhood about 40 years ago).

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor may have a sea view. Grond floor rooms do not have a sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubratKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

The furniture is very old and outdated.
The light and fixtures are all broken and not looked after.
The rooms service is not prompt.
The property was actually a guest house earlier now swosti group has taken over the property without even repairing the bare minimum.
The sea-beach is away from the hotel.
There is a big garbage dump besides the hotel

Room Tip: Ground floor room are better
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Geet860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

The resort looked ok from outside but once i entered the rooms it was a dingy old room. Floor tiles and electrical fixtures dating back to 1900s :D. I was reluctant to even charge my cell phone in the sockets. Damp walls as well. bathroom was sanitized and clean but even then it was dingy just like the room. Fixtures in the bathroom were also very very old, some did not work as well. You might not be very comfortable sitting on the toilet seat, the partition curtain was dirty. View from windows is that of a dumping ground and adjacent Mayfair resort. Bed linen was just ok, towels were decades old. Lawn was ok, did not try food over there but the spiced butter milk they served as welcome drink was good.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaNiAc_traveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews